We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tried hotel needing some major TLC”
Review of Thurrock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thurrock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Aveley B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The location of the hotel is fantastic for the lakeside shopping area. The hotel lobby and food were ok, it's the rooms that let them down. Wallpaper coming off the walls, strong smell of BO, no heating on, bathrooms with mould on the tiles, really really creaky floorboards and paper thin walls (I heard way more then I needed to) its a shame but to compete with the premier inn that's over the road they really need to invest in updating that place.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollyjopat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 375 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

Ok hotel. Needs some work. Staff work hard
rooms big. Wifi very good. Excellant breakfast on sunday. Nice menu. Would stay again. Good selection of bottle beers.Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travisred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at the hotel and saw new staff being trained on the bar , the young manager was training them and he obviousily knew what he was doing , it's nice to see somebody giving young people a chance and training them instead of leaving them to get on with it . Staff were helpful with our requests. I had an enjoyable stay at this hotel and will definately be visiting again and would gladly recommended to anybody looking for a hotel in Thurrock

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amberp12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

It was with some trepidation we made out way to The Thurrolk Hotel after reading the awful reviews on TA. We were attending a party at the hotel so this had seemed the easiest option. We arrived just before check in time & were shown up to our rooms immediately. We had 2 twin rooms next to each other as requested. The rooms were HUGE! The twin beds were actually a double & a queen in each room & there was still masses of room. The bathroom was clean & the shower was powerful with plenty of hot water. All bedding & towels were clean. In the cold light of the next morning there were a few stains on the carpet but nothing too off putting. Breakfast the next day was lovely & the staff were friendly & helpful. Would definitely come back again - especially as Lakeside is only a few minutes away - & my Dorset buddies are hooked!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you want a good story to tell try staying here (but probably not long enough to get 13 episodes.). I dont think it has anything else to recommend it. If it is still in business this time next year I will be surprised.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanefromSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I attended a birthday function here on November 17th and was very pleasantly surprised. Whilst some of the decor was somewhat dated, our room was not only very clean, but large with room for a sofa, two arm chairs, coffee table, and large bathroom. Staff in reception and the bars were very welcoming and helpful with directions and recommendations for Sunday lunch the following day. My only two grumbles would be that with three functions taking place on the same day, there should have been more that one person serving both behind the bar and food. I must add though that this was only during the afternoon. No such problems at the function in the evening. My only other gripe would be that despite proudly advertising 24 hour room service, when calling down to place an order at 2am I was told that with 3 functions they were 'too busy'. However, after insisting they honour their advertising, my sandwich and chips duely arrived within half an hour. Location straight off the motorway is ideal for anyone attending the football (the hotel literally looks into the grounds) or to Lakeside for shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the football ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I attended a wedding on the 17th November had a room booked so I could have a drink the room was worse than bad windows were badly fitted and noisy very creaky floors throughout the whole hotel you could hear other guests walking past my room as someone else mentioned there were cobwebs around the hotel there was a musky mouldy smell in the entrance to garden suite cleaners need to be replaced and have a deep clean, Hand dryers in toilets were useless could have blown faster myself food was just about Edible Meat was cold Looked nice but not the best by far soup served in cold bowls making the soup just warm,evening buffet was very basic but steak kebabs were nice though all served by young kids
on retiring to my bed all i could hear was disco music from another function very loud went on untill 01.10 all i wanted to do was sleep after a long day, MC / DJ was very Friendly Played all our requests just a shame there was not enough guests there to enjoy the evening. (not hotel fault)
Now for breakfast bread was left out in a basket uncovered had to make your own toast scrambled eggs soggy bacon burnt had to ask for orange juice as it run out coffee just warm had to help yourself from the flasks should have been served, staff should have kept on it instead of talking no bin to put rubbish in or around restaurant Ive stayed at a lot of hotels in the country and this rates as one of the worst ive stayed.
bill

Room Tip: stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aveley
0.8 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#1 of 2 in Grays Thurrock
656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Thurrock M25
Travelodge Thurrock M25
#3 of 3 in West Thurrock
138 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
#1 of 1 in North Stifford
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
433 reviews
15.5 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
378 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurrock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurrock Hotel

Address: Ship Lane, Aveley, Thurrock RM19 1YN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Thurrock > Aveley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aveley
Price Range: $56 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thurrock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thurrock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing