We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must share”
Review of The Cock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cock Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Travelling back from the south we wanted a nice traditional pub that did bed and breakfast rather than a large impersonal hotel, we were not disappointed. The friendliness of the staff was wonderful.We were made to feel welcome as soon as we walked through the door. We had drinks and a meal, followed by a very comfortable nights sleep, Breakfast the next morning was good and plentiful, again with exceptional friendly service. I can definately reccomend this as a very pleasant and reasonably priced pub/hotel/ and restaurant, and will certainly look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 182 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Booked for one night as nice and close to stanstead, very friendly, comfortable, the pub food was a basic pub menu very nice and a good breakfast.Its nice to go back in time to a nice traditional english pub and b and b.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We booked The Cock Inn at the last minute and it was a very good decision, though we wished we could have stayed more than one night! It's set in the charming village of Sheering and is a typical old country inn with a more modern, though sympathetically designed, hotel building attached.

We were greeted with great friendliness and professionalism by the young man behind the bar, and this attitude continued from all staff throughout our short stay. I'm guessing that the majority of staff are family. Our room was straightforward and contained all one could need - it was nothing fancy but was clean and tidy. The bar area was full of character and we ate our evening meal there. The specials board was very tempting and our meals really were excellent. After a peaceful night's sleep (even though we were in a room facing the road) we had a plentiful breakfast, good enough to rival a much larger establishment, especially the full English, to send us on our way.

I would definitely recommend The Cock Inn; the 'bed and breakfast' was really good value for money, which meant that we could indulge ourselves with dinner and wine!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A lovely old pub with comfortable rooms. Free wifi and on site parking. We only stayed a couple of nights but could have stayed longer. A great base for exploring the area! Breakfast in the morning was nice and staff were very helpful.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a last minute night away on 21st September, rooms very clean and comfy, the pub food was hearty English fare, warning the portions are large, and a great breakfast in the morning, the owner and all the staff are so helpful & friendly, felt like good old England.
We will be returning, found a little gem not to far away.
Nice one Cock, up The Hammers, Gary & Sharon

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garymwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for one night, had fantastic meal, clean, basic, no frills room, but had everything you needed. Free wifi, excellent breakfast. Room and bathroom plenty big enough. Couldn't ask for more for price.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel rooms were a little basic but the cost reflected this, where the hotel scored was the friendliness of the staff and the pub / inn was very good with reasonably priced meals and drinks. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill6323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheering
1 mi away
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,756 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton London Stansted Airport
1.3 mi away
Hunters Meet Hotel
Hunters Meet Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,118 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,148 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cock Inn

Address: The Cock The Street | Herts, Sheering CM22 7LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Sheering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheering
Price Range: $83 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cock Hotel Sheering
The Cock Inn Sheering, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing