We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of The Cock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cock Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for a week when working in and around the area. Smooth check inn. Nice enough room with good free wi fi signal. Friendly staff, nice food, ample car parking. Very close to Stanstead airport, but no airport noise which was a bonus. I would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 182 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We chose the Cock Inn because it looked like an ideal place to start our holiday. It is an old coaching inn with character, very friendly owners and locals! We arrived and were greeted by John (the son) who was also serving in the bar. We had a few questions and nothing was too much trouble in spite of the fact he was busy! The room was spacious, clean and the linen was crisp, clean and very white! In the morning the breakfast was everything you would expect from a much more expensive establishment with a selection of everything inclusive of a full English! We met Bill, the proprietor and his daughter in law who was still serving breakfast in spite of being 8.5 months expectant! We opted to take the transfers from the hotel to the airport and, again, the courteous, punctual service was absolutely perfect. This pub/inn has it all and if you like the low ceilings, the beams, a lovely garden and hospitality at it's best, you can't go wrong staying at the Cock Inn in Sheering. Oh, and I forgot to add that the restaurant meals are not to be missed - all freshly cooked by Bill's wife and served with old fashioned homeliness you just cannot get from a chain hotel! We will most certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and they even have family rooms for those who don't mind sharing!! Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtraveler56n52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you want to access either Harlow or Stansted. You get very friendly welcome and service, good rooms, free Wifi and good food.

The bar's not bad either as long as you like sport (I do) as they show Sky Sports in the evenings. If you don't then the rooms all now have multichannel freeview television

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve_1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My partner and I booked a room at the Cock Inn for a night away, to give us a well earned break. We were looking for an oldy worldy type inn, with great food and beer and we were not disappointed - the Cock Inn delivered!! The Cock Inn is a beautiful, old world pub situated in the village of Sheering.

When we arrived, we were met with a warm welcome and check in was made easy. The rooms themselves, which are in a recent extension to the pub, are very roomy with the usual items you would find (tea-making facilities (with biscuits), Free-view TV, very comfortable bed, large built in wardrobe, additional bedding, fan). More importantly, the room was very clean and quiet. The shower was awesome!!

After checking in, we went downstairs to the pub part and had food. My partner had chicken wrapped in bacon, with BBQ sauce and cheese whereas I had the home-made steak & ale pie which was simply amazing - top quality food, if a tad slighlty expensive (not by much in all fairness). The ale on draft was good, Tribute, and the bar service was exemplary. Could not be made to feel any more welcome. Cracking night followed in the bar!!

In the morning, breakfast was between 0900-1000 which was a refreshing change from places that seem to think people actually want to get up early on the weekend!! Breakfast itself was a choice of cereals, fruit, yogurt, and of course the full English - which was beautiful!! the service was as good as the dinner service the previous evening.

Finally, check out was refreshingly straight forward and easy, with our only gripe to the staff being that they should check TripAdvisor to actually see how good the reviews are about their hotel!!

Absolutely wonderful stay, and as we only live 30 minutes away in Upminster, we'll definitely be going back!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmoo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this Inn prior to our flight from Stansted, the family made us feel very welcome and we had an excellent evening meal reasonably priced. The room was basic but had everything one would need for just a one night stopover. I would recommend this Inn to anyone and the package price including the accommodation, transfers to the airport and car parking could not have been better. On the whole very good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARBARA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I Stayed here on buisiness after booking at the last minuite it was purely a fluke that i found it as everwhere else was full up that had the facilities i wanted parking food and wifi.
well i was not dissapointed infact it far exceeded any expectations .Nice clean room lovely hot powerfull shower and WIFI that works..The pub restaurant has a well stocked bar and a superb choice of food from pub grub to Steaks,Sea Bass,Curry, Bolognaise.such a wide variety of meat or fish dishes not only a good choice but it tasted great also.
Breakfast was equally as good fruit juices,fruit,serials,yoghurts,a choice of continental or cooked for main.
I opted for the cooked perfectly cooked poaced egg sausage,bacon,beans,lovely plum tomatoes and fresh mushrooms just whats needed to start a day.
And all for an excellent price.
I will definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Warm and friendly owners and staff make you feel welcome from the moment you walk in the door. The ambience of the Inn with its open fires and cosy decor make you feel a part of country life.
The residential wing although modern blended nicely with the Inn. Our room was spotlessly clean and had ample tea/coffee provision.Two nights peaceful and undisturbed sleep indicated that its position in relation to the bars and restaurant had been well thought out.
The restaurant provided an extensive menu and our choice did not disappoint,neither did our final bill for the stay.
Worth a mention are the locals who were willing and ready for a chat if you so wanted.
The Inn is situated close enough to rail service if planning a trip into London and this would seem a better option than staying ' In Town' and paying London rates.
We are sure to visit again.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheering
1 mi away
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,756 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton London Stansted Airport
1.3 mi away
Hunters Meet Hotel
Hunters Meet Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,126 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,148 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cock Inn

Address: The Cock The Street | Herts, Sheering CM22 7LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Sheering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheering
Price Range: $84 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cock Hotel Sheering
The Cock Inn Sheering, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing