We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect wedding day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Tortworth Court
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We have just got home from my sons wedding at Tortworth we were there for the whole week end, It was fantastic everything was first class, Accomodation, food service.. My son and new daughter in law had the most wonderfull wdding all totally taken care of my the marvellous staff at Tortworth. the whole venue was wonderfull wether having a quiet drink or dancing the night away, as we did, Tortworth looked after everyone. Craige one of the hotels managers was brilliant he seemed to be everywhere keeping tabs on everything and if anything was needed he organised it straight away. Lastly Barbara the Toast Master, she was tremendous, she looked after us all but made the day for our bride truly memorable. I advise anyone who wants to have a special time wether large or small to go to Tortworth Court

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lydesvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,590)
There are newer reviews for De Vere Tortworth Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,426 - 2,432 of 2,590 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2010

Mum and I decided to treat ourselves to a spa break. (Having heard favorable reviews from my sister about the Cotswold hotel, we thought we'd try another Four Pillars.) The hotel is beautiful and the setting gorgeous. Spa packages are fairly competitive but I think the overnight stay including breakfast was more value for money. Can't fault the cleanliness of the rooms. Reception were very friendly and helpful. Drinks in the lounge bar very expensive - you tend to find this with plush hotels.
Downside: It was our first visit to the spa. We were given very little direction on where to find things, how much you need for the changing room lockers, where to find towels, etc. We sort of stumbled through it all ourselves by asking other guests. Langrys Spa was very nice though and the staff gave us both a lovely pamper. However, I have visited a Marriott Hotel in Chepstow for a spa and I would say that they pampered me more.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priscilla04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

OCCASION
Wifes (Shh) 40th, consisting of a three night stay in a connesieur room.
LOCATION
Perfect spot, few minutes from junc 14 (M5), gives great access to likes of Bristol, Bath and numerous other tourist spots.
HOTEL
Driving up to the front of the hotel is quite an experience, long winding driveway , through extensive well manicured grounds, really sets the scene for your visit. The hotel looks quite breathtaking, typically Victorian, heaviley influenced by Indian architecture. Excellet parking facilities, helpful staff at reception. Wife chuffed with room, large, clean, with superb bed. Health/Gym facilities, good, pool is very small and shallow, hard work. Rear gardens impressive, no colour in them at all, perhaps catering for choosy brides.
CATERING
On a two night weekend package, which we extended to three. This provided us with evening meal and breakfast The first meal in the Moretons was quite frankly, very poor, with an appalling menu, with mains courses such as Toulouse sausages and shin of beef. Perhaps catering for the large SAGA party. The following evenings menu was much better, however the food was again very disappointing . Pulled the boat out on our last night, paying the extra cost for eating in the "Orangery". Superb setting, however chaos reigned in kitchen, 45 minutes to get starter and 1 hr 45 for main. Five waiters and four chefs, working with a new menu. How they earned 2 rosettes, god only knows. Food is the hotels achilles heal , whilst you can't expect fine dining for what you pay, I do expect a reasonable standard . Catering team need to get their act together. Breakfast was a different kettle of fish, good quality, plenty of it. Bar prices are scary, take your cheque book, averaging £9.50-£10.00 for two decent drinks.
STAFF
Mainly Eastern European, hard working, attentive, but overworked. To improve service, the management need to employ more staff, until they do, the hotels four star rating is merely aspirational.
CONCLUSION
We really enjoyed our stay, however the experience was tainted by poor/average catering and on occasions, poor service. This is due to poor management.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vernon1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

This hotel is one of the finest establishments I have stayed at. The service - impeccable, example: pots of milk for coffee in your room all placed neatly with the opening tabs all pointing in the same direction! It is quiet with only the distant hum of the motorway, if the windows are left open (the hum helped me sleep). Papers missing in the morning? tell reception and the late delivered paper was collected from outside our room and brought to us at reception with sincere apologies. One of the many advatages: brag to your friends that (if you are in the annexe at the back of the hotel) "the hotel is so big that we had to drive round the front for breakfast!" This is an absolute pleasure as the arboretum is a wonderful drive on a sunny morning. Great hotel for Wells, Glastonbury, Stonehenge and South Wales. Breakfast was absolutely first class.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkTortworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

The packages are great value for money. We particularly liked the orangery Restaurant.
We also like the fact the hotel is child/family friendly without disturbing the peaceful atmosphere for those like us, who like quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggsBristol_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

A stunning hotel. A delightful rural location in a former castle/stately home with restored Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. The grounds were breathtaking, the rooms good quality but a bit hit and miss perhaps. The bathroom was good but not in the latest style and the room was a seriously long walk from reception, a good 6 minutes along a winding corridor! It was actually quicker to go outside and walk around the building. The public rooms were simply beautiful, especially the library where we had drinks, and the lovely bar. Drinks a bit pricey. Staff lovely and helpful. Clean and smart public areas and rooms. I would love to come back and make even more use of the facilities and grounds. Incidentally the grounds next to the hotel are tended by the inmates of the open prison next door but it is an open prison, with most prisoners there only at weekends. They often win prizes at the Chelsea Flower Show and the area open to the public. The leisure centre and pool was not bad and I was able to get a decent swim most times, but a bit "family orientated" at other times. Nice little gym. Probably best to come here only if you have a car as a taxi from Bristol Parkway was £35. On the whole, a delight to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyWildman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

a fantastic setting chosen from net for my mother's 70th birthday weekend celebration.My mother was delighted at first sight and her suite in main house was comfy, if dark. i assumed the other 4 rooms we booked, some weeks ahead, would be close to each other. not so, which indicated a lack of attention to detail.
the staff at reception were friendly, but the manager of the orangery threw a highly unprofessional hissy fit when my mother said she thought the tiramasu tasteless (in response to his enquiry!). otherwise food good but service slow in the bar and sunday breakfast was mad and understaffed. the main flaw was the warren of corridors to the room in the "new" part-poor signage and design and i saw at least 3 or 4 older people very lost & distressed. i got lost at least 3 times and my sister was in tears of frustration when she spent 20 minutes trying to get out of the building. a good architect/designer is called for.
however, we had an excellent time due to good company and it did not spoil the weekend. the hotel needs to decide who it's core business is, i think. it seems to try and be a wedding venue, a romantic getaway, a girls' weekend destination and a family friendly place. it should do better to focus and employ more staff.
the pets' cemetrey was intriguing. the history of this fabulous setting makes up for a lot.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elwifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
1.1 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
8.1 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
687 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
13.0 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Tortworth Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Court

Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly De Vere Tortworth Estate)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Price Range: $90 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Court 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Court offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
De Vere Tortworth Court Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing