We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, helpful staff and excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Tortworth Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
herefordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, helpful staff and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights, we had a standard room in the new part of the hotel. It was well furnished and spotlessly clean.

We were on DBB basis and the meals were excellent and the dinner menu had loads of choice. Breakfast was excellent, huge choice of cooked breakfast, cereals, fruit etc.

Staff were very helpful and polite.

Only problem we had were large groups there for weddings

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank snoopbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    797
    424
    158
    120
See reviews for
330
1,170
30
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

We stopped here for one night on Saturday 18th July 2009. Lovely setting with prompt check in and room was an executive so quite large and spacious. Tv very outdated and not much sat channels but ok. Complimentary bottles of wine were a plus though it was not made clear they were complimentary so with hotel prices we were a bit dubious in drinking them.

Lots of wedding parties going on but did not interfere with us too much.

Only meal we had was breakfast which was ok. Service was good though seemed to be a lot of waiters & waitresses just hanging around but maybe waiting for the rush period.

Gym and pool seemed average but ground are lovely to walk around.

Good motorway access and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamworthTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

Stayed over overnight as we needed to be in Bath early the next day. Very impressive property which has clearly had a lot of money spent on it. The facilities are what makes it a 4 star, not the level of service or overall ambience. We had a connosieur room which was very comfortable. However, the TV was very old fashioned, the bed was only a double when the room could easy have taken a king and the bathroom was small and cheaply decorated. There were pop up adverts all over the property for various theme weekends, wedding alternatives etc. Even in the restaurant, the menu card were similar to those you would find in a chain pub - very tacky bearing in mind it professes to be a four star venue. Breakfast, as per previous reviews, was a shambles

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda7164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

Overall, a really nice hotel in a perfect setting, with mostly very friendly and helpful staff. It does get very busy with large groups - tour groups, wedding parties etc - but they generally don't impact on the enjoyment of others. The rooms are ok, but beginning to look and feel a bit dated, especially the bathrooms. A bit of a makeover would help.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Spinnaker47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

Just quickly, fantastic hotel, spent weekend here, Orangery Restaurant perfect, food wonderful, Hotel staff great, friendly and very attentive if you require it. Spa facilities a bonus, Upgrade to a conissuer room for large room with fantastic views(not that more expensive really but worth it) Cant wait to come back. Hotel is so beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyWarwickshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

As others have said, it's an impressive building and the grounds are lovely, but I found the rooms tired. I arrived on a warm evening to a room that was stiflingly hot. Thank goodness a safety catch was broken on one of the windows, allowing me to open it wide, as there is no air-conditioning, which is surprising in a hotel costing £100 a might for a single. Lino on the bathroom floor, an old bath, a no-power-shower and a lumpy mattress all added to the disappointment. We had been warned that the restuarant was over-priced for what it offered, so ate out. You can tell a lot about a kitchen by the care taken of breakfasts and this one ncluded shockingly-stale croissants and a hot buffet that although generous, was uninspired: limp back-bacon and pale, canteen-style scrambled eggs. I always know I'm in the right place when the bacon is crisp streaky and the scrambled eggs are rich and velvety. I was put off enough to stick to cereal and toast. Internet access was expensive, not fast, and did not extend to the the breakfast room. Friendly and efficient reception staff, but If I had to stay in the area again, I'd opt for nearby Calcot Manor - a litle more expensive, but lovely rooms and very good food.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddie1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

Location of hotel is fabulous but quite a distance from train station so if you're not driving get ready to pay about £65 to and from hotel i.e. £32 or more each way.

Food very lovely and we enjoyed both nights and staff were courteous. Breakfast was excellent. Not enough towels though but I believe if we had requested for more it would have been given. We just did not bother. Only one bottle of water for 2 people but we asked for one more and only one packet of biscuits for 2 people which was a bit too mean but then again we requested for another packet and it was given.

No T-mobile network coverage throughout our stay therefore wasn't able to use our phones at all so if you thinking of using your mobile while there just forget it. Not enough satellite channels for a four star hotel so if you're thinking of watching football on sky sport just dont bother ha ha ha.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WOMANOFEXCELLENCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
23.5 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
10.2 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
12.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Tortworth Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Estate

Property: De Vere Tortworth Estate
Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Estate offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
De Vere Tortworth Estate Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing