We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend with friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Tortworth Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
De Vere Tortworth Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
solihull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“weekend with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend at Tortworth Court we all had a brill time,, our rooms were in the main house, ,our bedroom was lovely some nice touches as well bath robes ,wine snacks ,hot drinks ..
the main reception was dressed for Christmas it was just gorgeous , couldn't fault the service all our meals were very good ,,breakfast lots of choice, the roast beef dinner on sunday was excellent ,would love to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroletraceySolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We do hope that this reviewer will change the ‘would love to return’ into a will return to Tortworth Court. Thank you very much for this review and we are very pleased that you had a brill time and could not fault the standards of service delivered by all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    782
    419
    157
    116
See reviews for
318
1,142
30
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business during September for a conference. I found the overall service very good in the breakfast room, lunch and dinner.

The rooms were excellent, not too fussy, but comfortable, clean and pleasant.

The food was actually of very good standard overall and the restaurant appeared very oldie worldy and presented lots of imagination. Smashing grounds, ample parking and I would not grumble if I have to stay there again through business.

Room Tip: My room was a fair walk from the main reception and dining room. If you have a problem with this, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Europa101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you very much for this review of Tortworth Court as a conference venue and we are very pleased that you found the service, breakfast, lunch and dinner all to be of a high standard. The restaurant was the original library in the Victorian manor house and we are located within 30 acres of woodland and formal gardens. We do hope that you will return not only to attend another conference but also as a leisure guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Met my very dear friend for a girlie catch up and chose Tortworth Hall as it is about half way (geographically) for us both. Had a very enjoyable pampering session all afternoon and emerged buffed and massaged to perfection and sporting very glamourous finger and toe nails. Charlotte has magic hands. Thankyou. Enjoyed being well looked after by the staff and had an excellent dinner. They were happy to cater for my particular dietry requirements. It was all especially attractive decorated for Christmas.

The hotel is very beautiful and smacks of gracious living in a Downton Abbey sort of way. Our bedrooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. If I have any criticism it is the buffet breakfast. We were quite late on parade and the fried eggs were looking suitable candidates to replace the soles of my shoes.The scrambled egg was also past its best. It would be better if they only put out a few and kept keeping them fresh. It was not a problem as I ordered an omelette which was very enjoyable. We are already planning our next visit in the spring. Thanks for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new wings are modern and very comfortable. I have not seen any bedrooms in the old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussycherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
It is very pleasing for us to read that you enjoyed the facilities available in our Peels Spa (and Spa Lunch) and the hotels location, which was ideal as a meeting point for you and your friend and we will share the feedback presented here directly with Charlotte one of our fully trained therapist in Peels Spa. We are very pleased that you enjoyed you stay and are already planning your next visit to Tortworth Court. Thank you very much for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 30th November for a girly pamper night with my friends. We were allowed to check in early which was a bonus. We found all the staff welcoming, friendly and accommodating at all times. Our rooms were spotless and comfortable. We had beauty treatments and I can recommend the scalp massage, it was very relaxing. We also used the heated pool and jacuzzi, it was clean and warm. The changing rooms also good. We had a meal in the evening as part of our package and the food was of a good standard, service was great. Breakfast was also fine and plentiful but the room itself was cold therefore my cooked breakfast became cold before I'd finished it, otherwise can't fault it. We had a wonderful time and can't wait to book again!! Thanks for a great stay. See you soon!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teddylee061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We would like to thank you for this review of Tortworth Court, our spa and leisure facilities. We are very pleased you enjoyed the girly pamper night and thank you for your kind words for our trained therapists, your treatments, bedrooms and the food served to you during your stay. Guaranteed check in is from 4pm but we will always try and allocate guests if possible before this time. ‘Wonderful time and cannot wait to book again’, ‘thank you for a great stay’, this is a wonderful review for Tortworth Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Having high expectations for this hotel and spa we booked to stay for a one night relaxing break. Unfortunatley we were very let down!
We arrived before check in so decided to chill out in the spa. It was filthy (especially the changing rooms) and stank of chlorine! Grose! We wanted to use the jacuzzi but a group of woman sat in there for over 45mins so we left.
We then decided to get some lunch but after walking around the bars they were all full. We waited half an hour and a bar used for a wedding (i think) became available. I ordered a ploughmans and 'rustic chips' but it came without any chutney which was stated on the menu and the chips were nothing more than cheap frozen ones! The bar menu isnt exactly cheap!
Our room was ok, but small and the bed was the most uncomfiest thing i have ever slept on! My partner went to use a towel after his shower which was covered in brown stains!!!
I decided to email the manager after we left to tell him/her of our upset after saving up to stay here. But the response i got was full of throw away apologies and no offer of any compensation even after i stated we had saved up and were really looking forward to coming. Very poor and i will not be returning!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Elsjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are disappointed by this review but as the reviewer has stated we have been in contact with them then directly and have apologised if they felt we allowed our high standards to slip during their recent stay. Our duty manager is always available for any guest to talk too about any accepts of their stay and had this reviewer made our duty manager aware of any issues they had we feel sure that they would have been resolve to the guest’s satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here in November for a family wedding. This proved an amazing setting for such, providing stunning scenery, gorgeous architecture and attentive staff.
Throughout the 2 days our family soaked in the opulence of his hotel and its grounds, we struck lucky with crisp autumn/winter weather which made the orangery an immense experience for the wedding venue.
Can't recommend enough :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanyboi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We would like to thank our guest for taking the time to provide us with a review online and we are pleased that they enjoyed their stay at Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel. We are a very popular locations for weddings and private parties and the Orangery, glass building erected in 1899, is the ideal venue for weddings, wedding breakfasts and evening entertainment. Thank you very much for your kind words for our attentive staff and look forward to welcoming you back to Tortworth Court soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

For a friend's birthday, the hotel could not have been more helpful. Room was delightful - clean and quiet despite its proximity to the M5. Also as we went to our room the noise from a wedding disco we thought might disturb us - absolutely not! A restful night's stay. The food during a Christmas Carvery was delicious - beef and chicken cooked to (our) perfection, moist and tasty. Plates could have been hotter. The magicians circulating were a great touch and brought fun to the younger (and older) guests. We went for a walk around the arboretum and whilst given a map ended up going up a 'No entry" road despite the fact the trees we saw there were labelled well - could some more signs be put up perhaps - we are experienced walkers and map readers!?
One down side - the invoice when it came was wrong and had to be checked at reception. It was dealt with rather brusquely with absolutely no apology whatsoever - a shame as all the other staff were helpful, friendly and went out of there way to help.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
With 190 bedrooms Tortworth Court does cover a large area of ground and this does allows us to allocate rooms away from any noisy functions taking place within the hotel, which allows our guests as this reviewer has report, to have a restful night’s sleep. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed the food served at our Christmas Carvery and the magicians. Tortworth Court is located with 30 acres of woodland and formal gardens, our reception team will gladly supply any guest or visitor with a map but the rest of the woodland is not within our boundaries. We do apologise for the slight mix-up with this reviewers invoice but pleased that this did not distract from their stay. Thank you very much for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
23.5 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
12.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
8.1 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Tortworth Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Estate

Property: De Vere Tortworth Estate
Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Estate offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
De Vere Tortworth Estate Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing