We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Tortworth Court
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend Break”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Arrived Friday 3.30 ish. Knew we would not be able to get in to the room before 4pm. But we were told room was ready so off we trotted. We only wanted a basic room as we did not plan to be in very much. But it had all we needed, hair dryer, iron (just in case) tea/coffee/biscuits and some toiletries in the bathroom. Very comfy bed and lovely pillows.
Food excellent, we are veggies, there were a good couple of options for us at dinner in Mortons restaurant. Some places we have been to offer 1 option,not the case here. I heard somebody ask for something different that was not on the menu, it was no trouble at all. We had a 3 course meal each and the food was just so so good. Not mean on portions either.
The wine list was brilliant, they keep a good cellar.
Breakfast was so good, the choice was endless, I felt a bit guilty just having cereal and a croissant. You help yourself to the buffet breakfast, they cook the veggie sausages, poached/boiled eggs to order. I recall seeing kippers on the breakfast menu too.
Lunch was in the lounge bar, I has the nacho's with all the works and was so full, excellent value for money. We had a morning coffee in the Atrium and the lovely lady behind the counter in there was so helpful and friendly. The staff wherever you go are friendly and helpful.
The grounds are just beautiful, we picked a very hot weekend to go, so were grateful of the cool shade of the most magnificent trees. There is tree trail to follow.
There is a pool and Spa treatment centre which we have used in the past, didn't this time sadly, but I overheard people saying what a fabulous Spa centre.
We have stayed many times before, the last time we stayed, 2 years ago we were disappointed by the quality of the food and the run down appearance of parts of the hotel. Well they have done a very good job of turning it around.
Can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: Staff will advise on the best room for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annabell_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We are very pleased that on a return visit, after a wait of two years, that you enjoyed every aspect of Tortworth Court. Thank you for your comments on our bedrooms, which all have tea/coffee making facilities, irons and ironing boards as well as toiletries in the bathroom. Food excellent, wine: very good cellars, breakfast: excellent choice, thank you for these observations. We are extremely happy that you cannot wait to return to Tortworth Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    822
    432
    166
    128
See reviews for
343
1,210
32
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My daughter's wedding was held here on 30th June 2013 and it was perfect. We had several meetings with the wedding co-ordinator prior to the big day, and all our requirements were met and carried out in a professional manner. I had complete confidence in the staff. The hotel and grounds made a beautiful backdrop for wedding photos. The wedding breakfast was delicious and the staff were very attentive. Our Toast Master, Barbara, was superb. She made the day run smoothly by making sure that everyone was in the right place at the right time. And the men fell in love with her. Well done 'Babs'. Well done Tortworth for making our day so special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baker802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Our wedding co-ordinators spend as much time with our future bride and grooms as possible to ensure that their big day is one that they will always remember and will give them many happy memories. Thank you for your comments that Tortworth Court made a beautiful backdrop for the wedding photos and that the wedding breakfast was delicious, our staff very attentive and that Barbara assisted in making the day run smoothly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay courtesy of Travel Zoo. The hotel is in a peaceful location despite its proximity to the M5! The rooms are spacious, spotless and very comfortable. We had sparkling wine and chocolates on arrival and dinner as part of the package. The menu choice was excellent and in particular their choice of food for coeliacs was impressive.
The staff were all polite and friendly throughout the hotel.
There are plenty of places to visit in the area and we are looking forward to a return visit to explore more of the area. We were so busy that we didn't have time to use the spa!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for this review of Tortworth Court and we look forward to welcoming you back to our excellent hotel and hope that on your return visit you can find time to make use of our leisure and spa facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just returned from this beautiful hotel, set in beautiful grounds. The staff were polite and helpful. The room was nothing to write home about - similar to a premier inn. Others however, got rooms in the old house itself and were by all accounts beautiful.

Unfortunately the food let this hotel down. It appears that it's aimed at a more senior clientele than ourselves. I was the youngest person in the dining room on the first evening by far (I'm 41). The food was on occasions dull and tasteless, but on other occasions beautifully cooked. For example I had the salmon which was lovely, served with red pesto linguini and vegetables - both were tasteless and bland. The plate was swimming in water. I think they cater to blander tastes, whereas I like food that is spicy and full of taste. The breakfasts were good, but not cooked to order so it meant the bacon was hard an inedible, the rest of the breakfast however was very good.

Would the food put me off visiting again? No, probably not, but I wouldn't have as high expectations as I had before I arrived, in relation to the food. I would also consider paying to upgrade the room if it was a special occasion. We fortunately had lovely weather and enjoyed sitting out on the terrace with a coffee or glass of wine - it was beautiful, and I didn't want to leave. Don't let this review put you off going, but don't be afraid to complain about the food. I was far too shy to do that at the time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
At Tortworth Court Hotel we cater for a variety of age groups and do not feel we are aimed at the senior clientele and are disappointed if on this occasion this reviewer felt that we did not deliver the quality of food that they would normally expect from a Four Pillars Hotel. We do offer our guests a buffet style breakfast, which allows our guests to have a choice for breakfast to suit their own tastes. Thank you or this review of Tortworth Court which you found to be a beautiful hotel set in beautiful grounds which you did not want to leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

A group of us attended a murder mystery weekend on 17 may 2013, as part of a 50th celebration for 3 of us in the party.
It was an extremely well priced long weekend, 2 nights accommodation and 2 evening meals with breakfast. and entertainment. This was our third stay and yet again the hotel was excellent and met all our expectations. The public areas appear to have been re furnished since our last stay. Everything is of a high standard. The restoration of the house and the rooms are of a very high quality. They have retained the splendour of the building internally and eternally. clever mix of old and new, which works very well. Our bed room was beautiful and the bed was enormous and was fit for a king.
The food and choice was brilliant and so was the service. The gardens are lovely, which u can go and explore.
My only criticism is that the spa area is not 5* as the rest of the hotel is..the steam room and sauna are tiny and placed very strangely, and are in need of refurbishing. However the gymnasium was nice and well equipped. The bedrooms are very hard to find and you constantly meet people in the corridor who are looking for their rooms. Also we had a party of 23 people and we must have spent in excess of £5000, i asked for a complimentary bottle of wine for 3 of us a month before we stayed and was refused.
I would and will stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauralou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your headline ‘hotel fit for a king’; Tortworth Court has been visited in the past by Queen Mary and Queen Elizabeth but sadly no king, yet. Over the past 18 months we have refurbished many public areas within the hotel, as this reviewer has noticed, including the reception, Moretons restaurant and both bars. We are currently refurbishing many of our 190 bedrooms and have further plans for our leisure area and would hope that this reviewer will see a vast difference on a return visit. We are very pleased that you and your party enjoyed the murder mystery weekend and found again that Tortworth Court was excellent and exceeded your expectations. We would like to thank you for this review and look forward to welcoming you back to Tortworth Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

First time staying here in a few years, nice room, nice location, friendly staff, just really disappointed by the quality of the £18.00 ribeye steak, tasteless full of gristle, the rocket and Parmesan salad had about three pieces of rocket in the rest was bulked out with mixed leaves and watercress, and the Parmesan was cheddar. In short stay here if you aren't bothered about the quality of the food on room service.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dishmonkeysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
It is always a great disappointment for us to receive word that we have failed to fully meet the expectations of our guests and to deliver the usually high standards of service on which we pride ourselves. However without such feedback it would be impossible for us to improve our standards. We are always pleased to see our guests return to Tortworth Court but disappointed that this review was not happy with the quality of their room service meal. Our duty manager is always available to deal with any issue that may arise during a guests stay and we are sorry that reviewer was not aware of this fact which would have allowed us to replace the food items for them. Thank you for this review and are pleased that you found your room nice, that we are located in a nice area and our staff to be friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed first week of July 13' as Travelzoo break on DBB basis. Hotel itself was really nice and had nice spacious room. We had nice weather but not hot nights which was ok for us as we were on the ground floor. I wouldn't have wanted to opened the windows at night but this was the only thing we would change. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast and thought the set choice at dinner was more than adequate and the food itself was really nice. We have just done a cheaper break and you could notice the difference in the step up to this hotel. Not a cheap break which we did for 2 nights but lovely treat. Lots of things to do nearby and if you go soon you must do the 'gromit' tour in Bristol looking for the dogs. Beware that Bristol car parks are £12 for more than 4 hours. We found car pk (West End Car Pk near to the museum) which was £5 for up to 4 hrs as I thought £12 was a rip off.

Room Tip: Choose first floor room for summer to open windows at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gino079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for this review and we are pleased you enjoyed your break at Tortworth Court. All are rooms have fans in the cupboard, along with iron and ironing board, so if you are the ground floor and do not want to open the windows you can still feel cool during your stay. Thank you for your comments on our buffet breakfast and evening dinner. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tortworth Court again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
1.1 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
23.5 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
406 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
942 reviews
12.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Tortworth Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Court

Property: De Vere Tortworth Court
Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly De Vere Tortworth Estate)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Court 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Court offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
De Vere Tortworth Court Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing