We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Tortworth Court
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We found this hotel on the web and took advantage of a wonderful Sunday package that included cream tea, supper and breakfast.
This hotel is gorgeous. Our room was clean spacious and comfortable. Hot tub and a swim after tea in the Atrium...what could be better?
Our dinner in the restaurant was very good, well presented. if I have any complaint it was that the waitress was unable to answer any questions about the different choices on the menu. She did not know what was served with the duck, and did not offer to find out. I ordered it anyway and it was delicious.
The desk staff were courteous and helpful. i wanted to get a photograph of the organerie from a higher position and when I explained this a kind young lady, Charlotte, took me upstairs and opened a room so that I could get the photo I wanted. Now that is good service!

Room Tip: We were in the main building, newer section on the ground floor. lovely and quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelln-twosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We are very pleased that this reviewer had a ‘lovely stay’ after taking advantage of our Sunday package, found Tortworth Court to be a gorgeous hotel and enjoyed their swim and hot tub after enjoying tea in the Atrium. The Atrium is one of our two bars and has a high glassed ceiling and is a wonderful area to enjoy a cream, afternoon tea or light snack. We do apologise that our member of staff was unable to help with the menu choice and this issue has now been rectified. The Orangery is a stunning glass building which is used for weddings, private parties and conferences and we are very glad that Charlotte, one of our reception team members was able to assist this guest with their photographs. Thank you very much for this review and we look forward to welcoming this guest back to Tortworth Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    841
    441
    173
    132
See reviews for
358
1,236
32
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cowes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have worked in the leisure industry for over 30 years. For 9 months of the year I spend most of my time staying in hotels in Britain and Europe. I looked forward to staying as a private guest at the Tortworth Court Hotel with my partner and a group of a dozen guests from various parts of England. The hotel did not live up to its own publicity. I am typing this review in room 7 this evening and looking forward to leaving tomorrow morning, with no intention of returning to this hotel or any Four Pillars Hotel. Although the hotel looks fine and is in a good situation close to a motorway, I cannot think of anything else positive to write. Along with many similar hotels,it is a hotel that charges five star prices for one star service. The main problem was that the restaurant was busy and there were not enough staff to cope with the situation. We waited while all at our table were served the main course. The staff then disappeared. On starting the meal, myself and my partner realized that the meal was warm rather than hot. We both looked around for a member of staff but none were to be found. Out of politeness to our guests we continued with our meals while waiting for a member of staff to return to ask if the meals were okay. None returned. At the end of the meal when the plates were collected, I complained that the meal was cold. The restaurant manager showed no concern, so I asked to see the duty manager. That proved to be a waste of time. She never apologized but basically said hard luck. When I complained that no staff had returned to ask anyone at our table if the meal was fine, I was told in no uncertain terms that this was not the hotel policy. Once the meals were placed on the table, if there was a problem, then the customer would have to find someone to complain to. The duty manager said that she had checked the CCTV in the restaurant and at some stage a member of staff had walked behind me in the restaurant and that I should have complained about my meal to her. I was totally unaware that a member of staff had entered the restaurant or had indeed passed behind my chair. I do not spend all my time looking over my shoulder to see who is behind me. I had paid in advance for the meals and asked for a refund which was refused. I therefore decided not to have any more meals at the hotel. I am appalled at the attitude of the duty manager. It was not a very good PR exercise. Perhaps it would be a good idea to send the hotel managers on a public relations course so that they can deal with complaints from members of the paying public, rather than treating them in such a shoddy manner. Don't waste your time complaining to the hotel management or ask them to deal with any problems that may arise. Obviously the customer is always wrong!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walkerpobjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are disappointed by this review and are extremely sorry that after finishing all of his meal this reviewer asked our duty manager to replace the food or deduced the cost from his bill. All our staff are very attentive to guests and will ask all tables if everything is okay with their food and this did happen to the table this guest was sat on, when they replenished the wine. If this guest had indicated to our restaurant manager or a member of his staff that he had a problem with his food we would have gladly changed the meal for him. Our duty managers are available 24 hours a day and will gladly assist guests with any issue or problem that may arise during their stay and do not believe that the guest is always wrong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Yet aain a wonderful overnight stay at tortworth for my birthday . Booked through booking.com so didnt get the free massage , but quite honestly would have struggled to fit one in . Had a quick tea and snack in the atrium bar , very tasty ! Then back swimming and jacuzzi until half eight , quick shower then into brunels for a relaxing drink befor bed . What a wonderful comfy bed that was . Stayed in main house last time , but this time were in the extension ,both extremely well equipped ! In fact i preferred the extension rooms , much bigger and situated loser to peels x will be back in six weeks !

Room Tip: All equally gorgeous x
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen_milligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
A belated Happy Birthday from the management and staff at Tortworth Court and we are very pleased you decided to spend your special occasion with us. We hope on a return visit, in six weeks’ time, you get to enjoy a massage in our Peels Spa. Thank you very much for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in mid-February. We have been before but this was our first visit for a couple of years The hotel is easy to find and in a good location close to the M5. It is in lovely grounds and the main building is very attractive. We stayed in a standard room which was clean and well equipped but it was quite a walk to the main building along a maze of corridors. Members of staff were efficient and polite. There was a good choice of food at breakfast. However, the breakfast is buffet style and we found that the "hot" food was not always very warm. We used the spa facilities which are well maintained but the pool is quite small and was busy. We've always been more than satisfied with Tortworth and we will visit again. We would recommend for both business and leisure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cringebythecurtains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for this review and we are pleased that you enjoyed returning to Tortworth Court and still found our hotel and grounds to be very attractive. Tortworth Court is set within 30 acres of formal gardens and woodlands, with 190 bedrooms the hotel does cover a large area of ground and we have numerous car parking spaces around the hotel, which allows for easy access to bedrooms. We are disappointed that this reviewer found the breakfast was not always very warm as this is closely monitored by our chef and waiting staff. We are pleased that this guest had the time to enjoy our leisure facilities, were more than satisfied with their stay and will be recommending Tortworth Court for both business and leisure users.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just come back from a one night stay with my other half to celebrate her birthday. Hotel wasn't too far off the motorway and is visually impressive on driving up the drive. reception booking in was quick and efficient and we were given a room in the main hotel, which was small, but tastefully decorated, with an enormously high ceiling!
The gym facilities were small, but as expected for a hotel and the 'wet' facilities such as pool, hot tub, steam room and sauna all working.
Evening meal in the main restaurant was very well presented by attentive staff. The liver on the menu was very tender and well worth the extra cost.
The following morning, breakfast was a wide choice of the usual: continental and or full English.
All in all a very pleasant one night break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjfox1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are very pleased that you and your wife enjoyed celebrating her birthday at Tortworth Court. Located a few minutes off junction 14 on the M5 the driveway is certainly visually impressive. Thank you for the kind comments for our quick and efficient reception team and that you were pleased with your room in the main house. Our leisure facilities are complimentary to all our adult guests and include the swimming pool, gym, steam room and sauna. Spa treatments are also available, booking is advisable and cover a wide selection of treatments. Moretons restaurant is an ideal location for dinner and breakfast and we are pleased that you enjoyed both, especially the liver in the evening. Thank you for this review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Tortworth Court, hopefully for a longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just back from a 2 night leisure break which we really enjoyed, despite the grey February weather. We were looking for a country house hotel with a pool that was not silly prices. This was spot on. We paid extra for a better room, not something we would normally do, but was a good move as we were just off the amazing entrance hall, with two griffons on the balcony outside the window, two wing back armchairs etc - a treat.The main building is a recently restored Victorian gothic mansion, dining room in the old library. We enjoyed the pool and the Atrium bar as well. The arboretum in the grounds would be impressive at a better time of year. Food was good, probably best described as "superior corporate" - this is a business meeting venue as well, though we were barely aware of that during our stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 directly over entrance - huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topsoundguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We would very much hope that the,’ Would like to return’, becomes a ‘Will definitely return to Tortworth Court’ after your enjoyable two night stay recently at our hotel. We are a country house hotel, the house is a Victorian mansion built in 1853, with 190 bedrooms, spa, swimming pool, gym and the restaurant is in the old library, which still retains many of the original fixtures. Set within 30 acres of formal garden and arboretum the grounds are a pleasure to walk around in all seasons. Thank you for this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We've just celebrated my father in-law's 70th birthday by renting the Orangery for his surprise aprty and got a good deal for bed & brekafast for those who wished to stayu. For our family we booked one double and one twin room for the noght. Our room was clean, comfortable warm and perfectly servicable for our one night stay. The twin room was equally suitable. The service we received while setting up the Orangery was excellent; nothing was too much trouble which all lead to a stress free evening party for all the guests. The buffet food was innovative, very tasty and delightfully served. The only sligh gripe we had was the floor boards, in the room above us, creaked but as we were exhausted by the end of the evening we didn't notice. Sunday morning and breakfast was extremely busy but flowed well. Self service buffet style you could fill up ready for the day without any hassle at all. The waiting staff were effecient and pleasent to everyone. Nice hotel excellent surroundings and an arboretum in the grounds as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are extremely pleased that your father in-law enjoyed his surprise 80th birthday party in the Orangery. Thank you for your comments regarding the excellent service provided by our staff and the innovative buffet prepared by our chefs, which allowed you to organise a stress free evening for you and all your guests. The Orangery was built in 1899 with its glass construction it is a wonderful venue for private parties, conferences and weddings. The main house was built in 1853 and still retains many original features including creaky floorboards but feel this adds to the atmosphere at Tortworth Court. Thank you for this review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to celebrate many more special occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
1.1 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
10.2 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
426 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
955 reviews
23.5 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Tortworth Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Court

Property: De Vere Tortworth Court
Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly De Vere Tortworth Estate)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Court 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Court offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
De Vere Tortworth Court Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing