We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Tortworth Court
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the country”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just come back from a one night stay with my other half to celebrate her birthday. Hotel wasn't too far off the motorway and is visually impressive on driving up the drive. reception booking in was quick and efficient and we were given a room in the main hotel, which was small, but tastefully decorated, with an enormously high ceiling!
The gym facilities were small, but as expected for a hotel and the 'wet' facilities such as pool, hot tub, steam room and sauna all working.
Evening meal in the main restaurant was very well presented by attentive staff. The liver on the menu was very tender and well worth the extra cost.
The following morning, breakfast was a wide choice of the usual: continental and or full English.
All in all a very pleasant one night break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjfox1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are very pleased that you and your wife enjoyed celebrating her birthday at Tortworth Court. Located a few minutes off junction 14 on the M5 the driveway is certainly visually impressive. Thank you for the kind comments for our quick and efficient reception team and that you were pleased with your room in the main house. Our leisure facilities are complimentary to all our adult guests and include the swimming pool, gym, steam room and sauna. Spa treatments are also available, booking is advisable and cover a wide selection of treatments. Moretons restaurant is an ideal location for dinner and breakfast and we are pleased that you enjoyed both, especially the liver in the evening. Thank you for this review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Tortworth Court, hopefully for a longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    822
    432
    166
    128
See reviews for
343
1,210
32
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just back from a 2 night leisure break which we really enjoyed, despite the grey February weather. We were looking for a country house hotel with a pool that was not silly prices. This was spot on. We paid extra for a better room, not something we would normally do, but was a good move as we were just off the amazing entrance hall, with two griffons on the balcony outside the window, two wing back armchairs etc - a treat.The main building is a recently restored Victorian gothic mansion, dining room in the old library. We enjoyed the pool and the Atrium bar as well. The arboretum in the grounds would be impressive at a better time of year. Food was good, probably best described as "superior corporate" - this is a business meeting venue as well, though we were barely aware of that during our stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 directly over entrance - huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topsoundguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We would very much hope that the,’ Would like to return’, becomes a ‘Will definitely return to Tortworth Court’ after your enjoyable two night stay recently at our hotel. We are a country house hotel, the house is a Victorian mansion built in 1853, with 190 bedrooms, spa, swimming pool, gym and the restaurant is in the old library, which still retains many of the original fixtures. Set within 30 acres of formal garden and arboretum the grounds are a pleasure to walk around in all seasons. Thank you for this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We've just celebrated my father in-law's 70th birthday by renting the Orangery for his surprise aprty and got a good deal for bed & brekafast for those who wished to stayu. For our family we booked one double and one twin room for the noght. Our room was clean, comfortable warm and perfectly servicable for our one night stay. The twin room was equally suitable. The service we received while setting up the Orangery was excellent; nothing was too much trouble which all lead to a stress free evening party for all the guests. The buffet food was innovative, very tasty and delightfully served. The only sligh gripe we had was the floor boards, in the room above us, creaked but as we were exhausted by the end of the evening we didn't notice. Sunday morning and breakfast was extremely busy but flowed well. Self service buffet style you could fill up ready for the day without any hassle at all. The waiting staff were effecient and pleasent to everyone. Nice hotel excellent surroundings and an arboretum in the grounds as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are extremely pleased that your father in-law enjoyed his surprise 80th birthday party in the Orangery. Thank you for your comments regarding the excellent service provided by our staff and the innovative buffet prepared by our chefs, which allowed you to organise a stress free evening for you and all your guests. The Orangery was built in 1899 with its glass construction it is a wonderful venue for private parties, conferences and weddings. The main house was built in 1853 and still retains many original features including creaky floorboards but feel this adds to the atmosphere at Tortworth Court. Thank you for this review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to celebrate many more special occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here with my partner after a wedding at Berkeley Castle nearby. The staff were welcoming and very accomodationg. Taking our bags to our room as we dashed off to the wedding.

The room was really smart, clean and had everything we need. More than one night there and we may have been a tad bored of it as it is "generic clean hotel room" standard.

The building is amazing, the breakfast plentifuly but at times a tad crowded I can imagine. I would come back if I was passing through the area again! We had a room in the main building which sounded to be much better than some of the other guests in the other annexs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for this review and your comments, that you had a ‘brilliant stay’ at Tortworth Court. We are very pleased that our welcoming staff were able to place your bags in your room when you dashed off and on your return you found the room to be really smart and clean. Tortworth Court is an amazing building and enjoying the plentiful breakfast in our restaurant, which used to be the library when the house was first built, is another great experience. We hope you will be passing through the area again soon and look forward to welcoming you back to Tortworth Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This old house has been put to good use as a hotel - and on the face of it, Four Pillars do a fair job...but there's just something 'lacking':

The service is fine - but not brilliant.
The room was ok, but not outstanding (a bit drab, uncomfortable bed and tired old bathroom with no sparkle).
The evening meal we had was, to be fair, very good - especially as there was a large party of us to feed.
Breakfast however was disappointing - self service buffet does not suit this type of hotel if they are aspiring to be job of their game.
The bar prices are very high - most hotels charge a bit more but the prices here are unjustifiably more akin to 4 and 5 star central London hotels.

Overall it was 'ok'. We aren't about to rush back as there isn't anything special enough and, although we wouldn't advise against staying here, we're not likely to recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukscubatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
The old Victorian house has had a long and interesting history and is now the Four Pillars Hotel Tortworth Court and we are constantly striving to enhance the guest experience we have to offer. Recently the reception area, Moretons restaurant and both the Brunels and Atrium bars have been refurbished. We are currently upgrading and refurbishing most of our 190 bedrooms and feel sure this guest will see a vast difference on a return visit. Breakfast is severed buffet style and this allows our guests to have the opportunity to decide what they would like to eat in the morning. We are very pleased that this guest enjoyed their evening meal, especially as they were in a large party and would like to thank them for this review and would like to see them return to Tortworth Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I took advantage of a Travel Zoo offer and stayed to celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary. The deal included a one night stay including bed and breakfast and a three course evening meal. The room was excellent, situated on the ground floor but the windows did not close properly which constituted a security hazard. The room was a long walk from reception but we didn't mind as we had a good deal and we only stayed for one night. The evening meal was excellent and the service was also very good. The hotel staff overall are excellent, very and extremely friendly and courteous. We enjoyed coffee and spirits in the Atrium Bistro Bar. This hotel is the flagship of The Four Pillars Hotel Group and includes a Spar and a fascinating history. Guests can walk through 30 acres of grounds and there is plenty of car parking. We loved our stay and would like to visit this fabulous venue again.

Room Tip: If staying for more than one night request a room near to reception unless you like a route march.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
The Four Pillars web site is also a great place to look for offers at any of our hotels. We are pleased that this reviewer enjoyed celebrating their 42nd wedding anniversary at Tortworth Court and found their room, evening meal and our staff to be excellent. As this reviewer has stated Tortworth Court is a Victorian building with a fascinating history, set within 30 acres of formal gardens and woodland. We very much hope this reviewer returns to Tortworth Court to celebrate many other special occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have had a lovely few days at Tortworth Court.Beautiful hotel,lovely spa ,professional and polite staff,newly decorated rooms,nice breakfast and wonderful evening meal.All for a fantastic price of £99 per night DB&B.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Tortworth Court management and staff would like to thank this guest for their review of our hotel: Beautiful hotel, lovely spa, professional and polite staff, nice breakfast, wonderful evening meal and great value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
1.1 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
23.5 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
406 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
942 reviews
12.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Tortworth Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Court

Property: De Vere Tortworth Court
Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly De Vere Tortworth Estate)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Court 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Court offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
De Vere Tortworth Court Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing