We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Tortworth Court
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“another great stay.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have recently revisited Tortworth Court and had a lovely stay , friendly staff, comfortable beds ,and great food .. We took some friends and they were impressed , the refurb of Moretons restaurant is lovely even if a little claustrophobic The Atrium is a fabulous space for a drink .The grounds are beautiful . we will be back .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineJune_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are pleased that this reviewer had another great stay at Tortworth Court and they have recommended the hotel to their friends. The refurbishment of Moretons restaurant and the Atrium has attracted many excellent comments from our guests and our grounds are beautiful whatever the time of year or weather. We look forward to welcoming this guest back to Tortworth Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    822
    432
    166
    128
See reviews for
343
1,210
32
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Staff fabulous, agree Gary, the Australian is hospitality incarnate on Reception... Is he a long lost cousin of the last Earl of Tortworth? I thought the food was great, I enjoyed the wine - good range, and the breakfast was a superb spread! We paid a little extra for a room in the house and were thrilled with the power shower and large bathroom, dressing area, small lounge area and a huge bed with the ceiling towering way above us. We had dinner, B & B and I'd go every weekend if I could, I'd never tire of Tortworth! Perhaps it's me who has a long lost Earl of Tortworth connection? We took our 4 month old too, he loved it and we were made to feel most welcome by staff and other guests. Yes, it can get busy at weekends, but that's because it's so good and therefore popular with locals and visitors from further afield. Also, it needs to be big to cater for the large group bookings such as wonderful weddings and corporate conferences.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
The staff and management at Tortworth Court would like to thank this guest for their review and are pleased that they feel so comfortable within the hotel and grounds. Thank you for your very kind words for Gary, who is part of our excellent reception team, our great food and wine and the superb breakfast. We are very happy that your 4 month old son enjoyed his first visit to Tortworth Court and the attention from other guests and members of our staff and hope very much it will not be his, or you’re last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just stayed for one night but will definiately go back again for more. We only had a standard double room but it was plenty big enough & very comfortable with big bathroom with a good water pressure , a pleasent change with a heated mirror which is good as it doesn't steam up even when you have had a shower, the only problem was , it has a shower curtain when I prefer a screen, but that is only a personal preference, there was plenty of tea & coffee a couple of packets of biscuits which you don't always get these days. plenty of storage space although we only stayed for one night so didn't need it all. We didn't get to use the leisure facilities simply because we didn't have time, but we glanced at the pool on the way back from breakfast & it looked nice.
We had an evening meal which was very good & even though the restraunt was busy the service was still excelent.The restraunt was in the old library which is beautiful, with loads of wood carvings, etc.
Breakfast was buffet with plenty of choice and because it was busy everything was fresh cooked & again it was good friendly service.
We will definately stay here again & will also try some of the other four pillars hotels

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue_eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for this review and we look forward to welcoming you back, not only to Tortworth Court but our other hotels within the group at Cirencester, Witney, Abingdon and Oxford. Please look on the Four Pillars web site for our 72 hour sale, which is updated every Wednesday, for any special offers. We are pleased you enjoyed dining in our Moretons restaurant, which was originally the library and found the service both excellent and friendly for both breakfast and dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This attempt at a getaway spa resort and hotel slightly misses the mark. We found this overwhelming sprawl of a hotel, underwhelming. Our room, about a mile and a half from the beautiful Victorian lodge was tired and not up to the price tag - reminded us more of the type of motel room you get off American freeways. The spa seemed less appealing with the sheer number of people sharing the facilities. We were looking forward to a dip and a steam but reconsidered when we observed the somewhat rowdy popularity.

Setting modern accommodation and health spa within the grounds of a former country pile usually makes good use of what would have been a lost treasure, though in this case I have to say their judgement was skewed by either greed or lack of planning. The developers overextended their reach, and as a consequence either ran out of money or interest in the quality of what they were constructing. What remains is a vast complex, too large to feel at home in, and crammed with what feels like a nation of people parading the halls in towelling robes.

The staff were lovely though - very helpful, courteous and kind. Shame the setting is additionally spoiled by the hum of the nearby M5 motorway, but the hotel can't help that. The library is a great place to eat breakfast - beautiful, ornately carved woodwork, imposing Victorian grandeur. Must've been a quite a looker in it's day....

But if you're looking to get away from it all.....look further...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rove_about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are sorry that Tortworth Court Hotel was not too this reviewers taste but are very pleased they enjoyed eating in our Moretons restaurant, which is the old library in the original house. Tortworth Court does cover a large area, with 190 bedroom and leisure facilities and we find the size of the hotel helps with our rooming as we can make sure guests are not effect by any noise from wedding parties or functions they are not attending. We have recently refurbished our reception, Atrium bar and restaurant and have plans for further refurbishment to our leisure and spa facilities. Our Peels spa is very busy with guests using the treatment rooms and we have a lounge for spa guests to use and they feel very comfortable wearing their towelling robes we provide. Tortworth Court is situated within 3 minutes of junction 14 on the M5 and when the wind is in the right direction you can hear very slightly the motorway traffic. We would like to think this guest will return to Tortworth Court and thank them for this review and their kind words for our lovely, kind, helpful and courteous staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Bought a Sunday night £99 stay for my girlfriend's birthday on a recommendation of a friend. Didn't really know what to expect after reading mixed reviews on here. I cannot fault any part of our stay. The reception staff were excellent, giving us a room in the main building (no.4) after I asked for an upgrade. The room was clean and everything you would require for a stay was provided. The bathroom was large and whilst some of the fittings were a bit tired it was spotlessly clean and the water was piping hot and high pressure.

After bringing our bags in, we walked back down the main staircase and marvelled at the wonderful architecture of this magnificent building. We took our seats in the atrium where after a long wait were eventually served 2delicious cream teas, the scones were warm! There were complimentary newspapers and magazines and the ambience in the atrium as dusk fell was wonderful. Next up was the pool and steam room/sauna. By 6.30pm the pool had only a few guests using it. The water was warm and we spent an hour or so swimming and sweating! We booked our 3 course evening meal for 9pm and were shown to our table in the magnificent dining room. I was half expecting Dumbledore to take our order. The fittings and fixtures in what I presume was once a library were a joy to behold. Intricate stonework and ornate wood carving was everywhere. The food was amazing, 3 courses and all perfectly cooked, we couldn't fault it at all and all included in the £99!! There was plenty of choice on the menu, something for everyone.

My girlfriend and I couldn't fault the hotel at all apart from it being very warm in every area which was a pleasant surprise when we first arrived, but we did find it rather hot to sleep in and had the window wide open all through the night...but it could have been worse it could have been cold!!

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and my girlfriend is already trying to book us in for a few months time.

Room Tip: Would definitely say ask for an upgrade on arrival and try and get a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raquelmiles68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are pleased that this reviewer and his girlfriend had an enjoyable birthday stay at Tortworth Court and are already planning their next trip in a few months’ time. Thank you for your kind comments for our excellent reception staff and the cleanliness of your bedroom. The architecture of our main staircase is wonderful and can remind our guests of Hogwarts but our stairs do not move around and our recently refurbished Atrium bar with its high walls and glass ceiling is also a fantastic place just to sit and relax with a drink. Our Moretons restaurant, where we served this reviewer their amazing and perfectly cooked food, was indeed a library, when the house was first built and still retains its intricate stonework and woodcarving ,is a magnificent setting for our guests to dine in. We would like to thank this reviewer for their comments and are pleased they will be recommending Tortworth Court Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

A real castle with corridors to get lost for hours, and a height under roof over 12 meters. All this inside a beautiful parc and jardins à la frannçaise.
It is so great that we never found the way to the gym and swimmingpool.
Food in the restaurant was good but to survive you must speak one of eastern Europe language as there are hardly any Briton on board.
Big rooms and real break to business life.

Room Tip: ask to be on the floor to have a view and avoid car lights parking below your window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TITIREB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Tortworth Court was used by the American services during World War 2 and they did call it Tortworth Castle and it is easy to see why when driving through our splendid arboretum and grounds. (Or park and gardens as the French would say). We are sorry that this guest did not find or make use of our leisure facilities, including pool, gym and steam room and very much hope they find them on a return visit. Thank you very much for this review and are pleased that this reviewer enjoyed the food and hospitality at Tortworth Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Very pretty setting, friendly staff and good food, but try and get rooms in main house rather than extension as the cleanliness was not at a good standard. Bathroom smelt of urine and cobwebs were in bedroom area. Was in need of a deep clean ! overall a pleasant stay and would stay again although would insist on staying in main building.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryonyjane96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCFP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Tortworth Court, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are disappointed that this guest’s room was not to our usual high standard when checking into the hotel. We did rectify this very quickly and are glad this did not stop them from having a pleasant stay. We are currently refurbishing most of our bedrooms and corridors throughout the hotel and feel sure this guest will see a vast improvement on their next visit to Tortworth Court. We are very pleased that this reviewer found our restaurant food to be good and our staff to be friendly and we would like to thank them very much for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
1.1 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
23.5 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
406 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
942 reviews
12.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Tortworth Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Court

Property: De Vere Tortworth Court
Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly De Vere Tortworth Estate)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Court 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Court offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
De Vere Tortworth Court Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing