We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Tortworth Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De Vere Tortworth Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

Menu rarely changed; bland food served in a library. Dust caused me and many others to suffer with a running nose whenever in there.
Bedroom was unpleasantly hot even with heating off and windows open.
Had to queue for 15 minutes in bar to pay £7.90 for a large vodka and tonic.
They tried to overcharge me £150 by charging for evening meals when I paid for half board, and didnt even apologise.
Place looks nice from outside and breakfasts were good but otherwise ghastly.

  • Liked — Outside appearance
  • Disliked — Food Restaurant Bedroom Bar service and prices
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithHUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    782
    419
    157
    115
See reviews for
318
1,141
30
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yate
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2007

if you are having a wedding here you are in for a real treat, the place is fantatsic, we had our wedding here on the 10th of August and it was amazing, the food is superb, my partner stayed the night before and was treated exactly the same, outstanding quality. the ceasor salad is amazing all of our guests commented on the quality of the food, we had the marquee in the eveing and this in teh summer has to be the better choice, the other rooms are good but you get the benefit of the gardens and surrounding area of wich are again well maintained, the room was excellent, we had the bridal suite which is turret one as they have two, we had breakfast in the atrium which i think is a little nicer than moretons, but it is a lot smaller, so many of you will have to be moretons,

the pool is good and the spa facillities are excellent, the only bad point is the reception, when checking out they were busy and didnt seem to have enough staff or computers to cover, but other than that excellent,

p.s make sure you take a trip to the top room where between mid afternoon and the evening you can go to the top room and see the views of gloucestershire,

  • Liked — great food, gardens, accessability,
  • Disliked — slow reception.
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissy077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterlooville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2007

Dinner, bed and breakfast for £45 in a hotel like this must be a bargain. The drive up to the house is impressive, the staff on reception were quick and directed us to the appropriate car park for our room, so we did not have to carry our cases too far. The room itself was pleasant and roomy, but with a view over the car-park.

The grounds are lovely, with a view down over the lawns to a lake in the distance. The arboretum is well worth visiting, we spent a morning just wandering around the grounds. We would have liked to walk down to the lake but were told this is only allowed on the first Sunday of the month.

Our only slight reservation is with the dining room, (in our case the Moreton Library Restaurant.) The staff are willing but need to be organised, simple things, like having to wait to be taken to a table; at the buffet style breakfast , dishes not being replenished and having to wait for them to be brought from the kitchen, which from the time taken must have been some distance away. Not a great problem but one which the management should be able to sort out. The food itself was very good.

There are several rooms where you can go and sit, we enjoyed the room at the top of the house which gave views over the surrounding countryside.

We will certainly visit again

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter lock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

Just come back from a 2 night dinner bed and breakfast break at the Tortworth Court Hotel and had a lovely time.
There are some bad reviews here, and I will get the negative points out of the way first
- staff, the staff were all lovely, but mainly very young and although eager to please a couple of basic errors were made, namley at dinner serving the starter before brining the wine, this hardly spoiled the weekend however and we certainly did not experience any rudeness etc as other reviews have pointed out.
- room, the room in the main building was lovely, but very warm, and as we were in the main building if you had the window open if got quite noisy

- It was wedding season and each day there was a wedding, along with another big event on the saturday (some kind of company fun day i think?). These seemed to be very well organised however and at no point did the place seem crowded, even at breakfast when it was very busy. You do need to bear in mind however that this is an event venue and in summer there will be lots going on.

the positives
the building and grounds are quite lovely, as was our room, despite needing a bit more ventalation. The setting is really special and the library restaurant is quite unique. In the main building there are lots of "secret" rooms which you can find yourself - we really liked the drawing room on the 1st floor and had it to ourselves.

The grounds are lovely and sitting outside with a G & T looking over the gardens before dinner was a wonderful way to relax.
There is lots going on but the place seems to be very well designed and there is the appearance of lots of space

the pool was basic but very nice, especially first thing in the morning when no one else is about

the food was very nice and there is a lovely selection of reasonably priced wines.

the price was very good, the website seems to have lots of good late deals

overall would recommend

  • Liked — The venue and the grounds
  • Disliked — needs some better ventalation in main building
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendypeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2007

I went with a girl friend for a 1-night spa break, arriving on Fri. during the day. We had a fabulous time, left on the Saturday afternoon, but I have a feeling that the evening would not have been pleasant for some guests. There were 2 LARGE wedding parties in during the day. Although they had separate catering arrangements, they over-stretched the bar while we were there. We had great fun people-watching, but I was glad that we would not be there that night. Usually hotels neglect other guests when they have such big parties in. Luckily for us, we arrived before it all happened, with dinner in Moretons included in the package, 3 courses. The food was not amazing, but it was more than adequate for the price. The Orangerie menu looked better, and more expensive. We'll try that next time. We also ate lunch in the bar, and the sandwiches were enormous and very good. We had breakfast in the Orangerie, which was a good buffet, in beautiful surroundings. The spa is not impressive, but we each had a very nice massage. The pool likewise is far less luxurious than at some hotels, with nowhere really to sit and lots of small, incontinent children in it. The room was a twin with a view of a large, uninteresting area of grass. As others have said, the rooms are nothing great, but again more than adequate for the price, comfortable and clean and spacious with nice toiletries and a good bathroom. However, even with the windows open there was little ventilation. It wasn't a hot day and the room was warm, and we were on the ground floor. I would not want to stay there in very hot weather, it would be unbearable. All the service staff were very nice, friendly without being inappropriate. The grounds are very nice, beautiful trees, and we didn't even notice the prison. The building itself is stunning, like some stately home. Overall, a thoroughly good experience - if you can avoid wedding season.

  • Liked — Building and grounds, service, location, food
  • Disliked — Temperature of room, view from room, pool area, large number of wedding guests
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiredandemotional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2007

We only stayed one night but are returning next week for a further four nights stay. It is a clean, well appointed hotel. We were not able to use all the facilities on our last stay as time did not permit, but we shall be putting that right this time. The staff are efficient and friendly, the food was excellent and varied. We are very much looking forward to our next stay.

  • Liked — the general atmosphere of the hotel and the efficiency and friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestSussexHistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

The hotel is approached by a long, tree lined drive which leads to the impressive hotel. However, as you look to the left you can see the prison.
The hotels interia is beautiful and, there is a chioce of lounges with which to relax.
We stayed at the hotel on a Saturday night - BIG MISTAKE! There were two weddings and we felt like intruders.
The bedroom itself was comfortable and spacious. However there was no hot water for showers the following morning.
There were so many guests that staff had to open up the Orangery to serve breakfast. Even then we had to queue for 10 minutes.
I would not recommend this hotel to couples who want to get away with the hustle and bustle of life - it's quite busy and not very intimate - particularly at weekends when there's weddings!

  • Liked — the grounds and the impressive building
  • Disliked — too busy -too many weddings
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank claireus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
3.9 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
23.5 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
12.2 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
8.1 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Tortworth Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Estate

Property: De Vere Tortworth Estate
Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tortworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Estate offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
De Vere Tortworth Estate Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing