We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favourite eatery!”
Review of The Fox & Hounds

The Fox & Hounds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: For enquiries and bookings please call
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Our new favourite eatery!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

this pub is only 4 miles down the road but over the years although it has had a few makeovers they have never managed to get it quite right. However, we popped in last Sunday and were seriously impressed with what they've done with the place. Bar staff extremely cheeful and helpful and the place was packed. Food was awesome and the best value roast we've ever had. Hubby had the pork and it came with so much that even he had to leave a bit (which is unheard of!!!). I had the Suffolk Smokies which is smoked haddock and white fish in creamy sauce served in shells with a fantastic salad. Delicious and loads of it. We were so impressed that we went back for a weekday lunch the next week and Sunday roast again and were just as pleased with service/food/cost. We are now working our way through the menu!

Oh and puddings are to die for.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynnRoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    54
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Excellent service and really good bottles of wine to choose from for £10 each. Pub has had a very stylish makeover. We were made very welcome. Couldn't fault it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bristolmollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great family meal”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Visit to The fox and hounds inn on November 24th and I was very impressed with the menu and the general ambience. Great value for money, excellent £10 bottles of wine on offer, Service was top class - This was followed by an over generous portion of chocolate baileys cheesecake which was to die for! A definite recommendation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francesca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday supper”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My partner decided to pop out for a meal with my daughter whilst I was working as we had been out all day.
What a good decision it was as they had a great meal of roast lamb & pork which was cooked to perfection all served with a great selection of veg & lashings of tasty gravy.
Although they were full they shared a delicious portion of baileys cheesecake.
A tasty meal good value with staff that welcomed you warmly & nothing was too much trouble, it was service with a smile all the way!!! Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Awful Sunday Roast-Tough lamb gristle”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Went there Sunday 24th November and pub was very busy but that's no excuse for the lousy Sunday roast we had. The last time we visited we sent the pork back because it was fat and gristle. This time we had starters of whitebait which could be best describes as luke warm. The lamb was gristle and tough and we left it and complained to the waitress who just smiled and swept away the plates. No apology. The vegetables were nearly cold. Never to be repeated. A complete waste of a lot of money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank skibereencork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox & Hounds also viewed

Yatton Keynell, Chippenham
Castle Combe, Cotswolds
 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
Tormarton, Gloucestershire
 
Old Sodbury, Gloucestershire
 

Been to The Fox & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing