We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Ambience and Service”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swan Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Almondsbury
London
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Food, Ambience and Service”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at the Almondsbury interchange Hotel next door as it was 30% cheaper but o restaurant for evening dinner.

So we ate at the Swan and is a typical Pub with great food, friendly and efficient staff and reasonable prices.
Eat here, enjoy life.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_Jerry_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    122
    33
    20
    7
See reviews for
53
75
9
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very disappointing! Noise from nearby motorway so loud that could barely sleep: why not invest in double glazing given the location? Compounded by a window that would not close adequately and very loud maintenance/deliveries in the car park at 5am!

Only saving grace was the food is good, even if menu very limited for veggies. Hotel agreed to provide breakfast before 7.30 which was helpful. However, given that most of the clients when we were there seemed to be there on business, 7am start for breakfast would make more sense than 7.30- that is generally the latest start time you find for similar hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth J, Owner at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hi,

I'm sorry you didn't get a good nights sleep. We are situated on the A38 so unfortunately some road noise is inevitable. Those rooms near the road have secondary double glazing. However we are now investing in triple glazed windows which will hopefully eliminate most of the noise.

I'm really surprised about the noise from our car park as we don't have any deliveries or works done outside of the 9am-5pm window.

All our food is homemade using fantastic fresh local produce. We do offer a number of vegetarian options as well as being able to change some other dishes to suit your requirements.

Thanks.......

Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My son and i often stay here, we regard it as money well spent. The room is perect fo our needs and the breakfast is freshly cooked and just right. We have tried other hotels in Bristol but they have all failed our criteria. Our only hope is that The Swan does not get "to Popular" and we find our selves unable to book a room when we next visit Bristol.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth J, Owner at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the great feedback and we'll always try to make sure we can squeeze you guys in!

Thanks.......

Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

we only stayed one night for a party nearby. The room was spacious and very well presented with a large shower room and toilet area. We had a couple of drinks in the Swan and were made most welcome had it not been for the party we would definitely have dined there. our breakfast was superb, I have never tasted a flat mushroom so good, I initially thought the breakfast was sparse but in effect it was just right, I do not eat cereal but my wife does and she enjoyed that as well along with the wide choice of fruit juice. Would I stay again simple answer is yes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirelad1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Friendly staff, good food, clean comfy rooms and en suites (window frame would benefit from a little attention though) separate from the pub building - we had a happy family stay, children welcomed in the bar/dining area and a variety of board games guaranteed a fun evening on a wet stormy night. Highly recommended to break a long journey. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_b_a30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Spotlessly clean and excellent value for money at £55 room B & B compared to other alternatives in the area.Only minor gripe was the (cheap) and near useless electric power shower.Generous breakfast and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 8 has adequate 'working' desk space.Room 3,which I turned down,only has a shelf.Room 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mncrbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacup, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Spotlessly clean, comfortable, excellent food. Staff are friendly, helpful and polite.
Location, being so close to the motorway network, made the hotel an ideal place to stay.
No criticism. Completely satisfied and will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almondsbury
0.7 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lodge On The Park
Lodge On The Park
#3 of 5 in Almondsbury
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Almondsbury Interchange Hotel
7.7 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,506 reviews
3.2 mi away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: 14 Gloucester Road, Almondsbury BS32 4AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Almondsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Almondsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views across to the River Severn, this hotel is located in the village of Almondsbury and is within 2 minutes’ drive of the M4 and M5 motorways. Locally sourced, fresh produce is served on the daily changing menu in The Swan Hotel’s restaurant. Free private parking is available and Bristol city centre is just a 10-minute drive away. Bristol Airport can be reached after a 30-minute drive and Bath’s historic city centre is 35 minutes’ drive from The Swan. A flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities are included in each room, which also has a private bathroom with luxury toiletries. Food is served throughout the day in the restaurant, and guests can relax with a drink in the bar area. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing