We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe a series of unfortunate events”
Review of Hadlow Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hadlow Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hadlow
Reviewed July 1, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hadlow Manor Hotel as we were attending a birthday in a nearby town and all B&Bs nearby had no double rooms left. Upon arrival check-in went smoothly and they were kind enough to call us a taxi for 30 mins later. We were advised the restaurant was closed because of the wedding, something I would have liked to be told beforehand, but as I did not book directly with the hotel (but at eurobookings.com), it is hardly their fault.
When we came into our room, however, we found that it had not been cleaned. (Duvet and towels on floors, half a bottle of wine on the table, etc). We called reception to make sure this was the right room. They apologised but said housekeeping leaves every day at 3pm and we could only have a twin room. 5 minutes later they called saying they had found someone to clean the room, as they were aware our cab was due in 15 minutes. The two staff arrived 2 minutes later and started tyding rightaway.

When we returned that night, the room was indeed cleaned and we had fresh linen and towels. The next morning we found that the TV was working, but had no reception no matter how you arranged the aereal. The water pressure for both toilet flush and shower was almost non-existent and the net curtains on the windows were stained.

At breakfast, 10 people were queuing for the hot English buffet, which was not very well laid out so only 2 people could fill their plate at the same time. Several members of staff passed our table until we called out to one to order some coffee or tea. As we saw a lot of people with fried eggs, we asked them where they were, and were told that the staff offered to cook them if they liked. Since we were almost done with the breakfast (I did have better, and at a price of £9.50 per person it seemed well overpriced) we did not bother to order any.
To check-out, we waited with other people at the reception desk. A member of staff walked past, looked at us and vanished in the room behind the desk without a word. A second member of staff did the same thing and we had to wait for a third person to acknowledge us and check us out.

As my title suggests, it could have been a series of unfortunate events, but at £75 for the room plus £19 for breakfast for two I deeply regretted booking this hotel and wish I had found the Premier Inn in Hildenborough via google. I hope that the wedding party or any other guest has had or will have different experiences.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ame812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for Hadlow Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 279 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2009

We had our wedding party here and from start to finish the staff could not do enough for us. There were 17 of us staying in the hotel and we all had lovely rooms. They are very spacious & clean. We ate in their restaurant and the food was very good. Location was good for us. The grounds are very pleasant and plenty of parking available.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loll1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

We booked in for a Wedding Night nearly a year in advance. Then four days before our Wedding they phone us up to say that they cannot provide us with a hot meal (cold food service to our room instead) and that there will be loud music til the early hours.
They think this is good enough for a newly married couples Wedding Night! What a way to be treated!
Why could they not of told us sooner? Now we will have to find somewhere else, which will be a struggle.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank himandherLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

The gardens to this hotel are really impressive. I paid £50 through Late Rooms but breakfast came extra at a cost of £7-50.
The room was nice but the plain white bathroom looked rather austere.
The double bed was as hard as a wooden floor and the pillows little better. They do leave you lots of drink sachets though, and the breakfast was fine apart from no fried eggs.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2006

We fancied a night away in Kent (near Family)

and we came upon the Hadlow Manor ... what amazing staff
the Receptionist greeted us warmly and we were made to feel at home immediately... the food was delightfull simple but beautifully cooked and presented
10 out of 10 for the accommodation standards and 11 out of 10 for location

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hair01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2006

my family stayed in this hotel for a family wedding and it was absolutley lovely
lovely atmosphere. staff there very helpful and always on hand to any inquires that you may have.
the hotel is set in a quiet place near tonbridge in kent and lovely views.
we had a family bedroom and it was huge and lovely interior and very clean and well kept great price for the room too!!
The only crisiun that i have is that the hotel drink prices was a bit over the top especially it was a wedding party and most of the family booked rooms there they could of been cheaper and the wedding food was not all that good but i would recommend this lovely hotel to everyone and also your weddings too as its is very beautiful surroundings

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pinkfairy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank salicornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 17, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadlow
4.3 mi away
Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge
6.3 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
701 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
875 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadlow Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadlow Manor Hotel

Address: Maidstone Road | Maidstone Road, Hadlow, Tonbridge TN11 0JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tonbridge > Hadlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hadlow
Price Range: $74 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hadlow Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hadlow Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing