We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Roebuck Inn
Nearby Hotels
$96
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$106
$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$75
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Weald of Kent Golf Course & Hotel(Headcorn)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$116
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Maidstone(Maidstone)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Dering Arms(Pluckley)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
61
43
19
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
43
19
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleeds castlethe pubcoffee biscuitsfull english breakfastshower cubiclesunday carverycomfy bedcooked breakfastwould stay againsingle roomchannel tunnelensuitestopover
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 140 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Generally, the people at the pub were quite friendly and accommodating.

Our room was just below a Travelodge kind of standard.
Similar set up but it didn't feel amazingly clean. It was like it had been given a very basic once over. We were given a sticky teaspoon for the tea and coffee provided in our room. Both spoons were stained. The drawers had crumbs inside. The toilet roll was the absolute cheapest you can buy. You could feel the springs inside of the mattress so wasn't particularly comfortable. We could also hear people above us flush their toilet, close doors etc very clearly.
Pillows were really thin and low down. Did have some cushions which helped though.

I was happy to stay there just as somewhere to crash for the one night and because it was convenient but I wouldn't want to stay again or really recommend it. It's not bad but it's not nice for a 'getaway' or anything. Breakfast in the morning wasn't very nice either (food was below average and there was some very cheap tasting orange juice) but it was passable, which I think can be said for the rest of the place too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom O, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi, So sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Wish you had said something before you left, I'm sure we have checked with everyone who has stayed over the last week or so (as we were previously on Hols) and have had no such complaints. We did have a recent problem with a Cleaner but have since rectified this and can honestly say a Room inspection was carried out only this Morning and we were very pleased. It is extremely annoying for us and I'm sure other Business Operators when Guests leave without airing their views hence denying us the opportunity to rectify or compensate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I've stayed here several times in the last year or so and it's always a good experience. The staff and owners are consistently welcoming and friendly and I couldn't recommend it enough.

We normally get a room for two and breakfast for around £60 here which is exceptional value for money. We've stayed in various rooms (I think they have about 8) which have always been clean and warm. Breakfast in the mornings has always been a delight and another little thing which is essential to me is the WiFi which is free.

The breakfast is part of the deal but the pub restaurant serves food at other times as well so you don't need to go far for an evening meal either.

The pub itself is friendly (mostly locals) who make guests feel comfortable, so all in a good place to stay. It's in an ideal location being just a minute walk from a mainline station where you can get to London, Ashford, Canterbury and the south coast quickly and easily.

Thanks for another enjoyable stay, see you all again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesReckons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom O, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi There, I realise you travel allot and are very busy so thank you for taking take the time to write such a nice review, we look forward to seeing you and your Partner again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here last Thursday, check in was fast and friendly in fact nothing was too much trouble for the staff a really happy bunch. Had a lively evening meal, food is very good quality and reasonably priced. It was quiz night and very busy but were welcomed to join in. We didn't take part in the half time snacks as we'd eaten but they looked good, not your usual bowl of soggy chips and sausages. As for our room it was a cozy double first on the right upstairs, room 2, we found it to be spotless. My girlfriend even commented on how clean the shower cubicle was. Her only complaint was the absence of a full length mirror, she's quite vain! We travel to France quite often and have now found a new stopover. Breakfast was excellent and the owner was very chatty for that early, in the morning and even made us some sandwiches for the ferry. We will definitely me back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sackz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom O, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Just had notification of a new Review and I thought 'I bet Its that lovely Couple who played the Quiz last Thursday' and it was. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such nice comments we look forward to seeing you again in the future.(Absence of Full length Mirror noted !)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The first thing that struck me was the smell of cigarette smoke hanging in the porchway as you enter. On arrival booked in and shown to back stairs which led up to rooms over the pub. The stairs were filthy. I dont think they had been vacuumed in weeks. The room wasn't much better with stains on the carpet and no vallance on the bed to disguise the very old, cheap, hard bed and mattress. The windows were filthy and there was dust on all the pictures and window frames. The room was small and decorated in the style of the eighties in three shades of brown and rust red. The shower had mold on the very old mastic around the shower panel and tray. Being right above the pub the room was very noisy until the bar eventually emptied at about midnight. The trouble then was that the workmen who were staying there went noisily to bed and as the bedroom walls are paper thin you could hear every word of the raucas and crude conversation. A treat that was repeated at 6.30 am when thay woke up and got ready to go out!
On the positive side the breakfast was good and included in the price of only £49. You get what you pay for!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ess-Aitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom O, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

So sorry to hear of your experience My Wife and I are on Hols atm, no excuse, however I do hope you aired your Complaint to our Releif Manager or Staff. We rarely have to deal withn situations of this nature and can only apologise. We aim to please and take your comments very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed at the Roebuck Inn just before christmas, was a real bad evening weather wise.We entered the inn and was made most welcome.The place was nice and warm and had a nice atmosphere.We ate there in the evening and enjoyed good quality food and service.All the staff were very friendly and very helpfull.The room was comfortable and warm.In the morning we enjoyed a very nice well cooked breakfast.All in all very enjoyable and we would stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrbusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom O, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Many thanks for your kind comments and Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews