We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of The Roebuck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Roebuck Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Harrietsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Another quick overnight on buisness.A great choice the room was good size a comfable bed and clean.The staff were all friendly.The food had a really good choice and excellent value.Will definetly return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186459And123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom O, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you so much, hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    40
    20
    10
    6
See reviews for
16
65
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We used the Roebuck for an overnight stay enroute to the Tunnel. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was spacious, clean and well decorated and the food quality was excellent. We enjoyed a drink in the bar later in the evening and breakfast lived up to the previous nights offering. Exceptional value, good quality and great staff. Will gladly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom O, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We aim to please, so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We arrived quite late and the owner had called to check we were on our way and knew how to find the place. All staff continued to be incredibly helpful, friendly and generous. I don't think there are many places left like this in England. Our room was spacious with everything we needed. The bathroom had a window which was a bonus as it was a HOT day. The shower was fantastically powerful with all being clean and well presented. The full english breakfast was good and the whole stay was good value in a convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElmojitoElmojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom O, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.Guests like you make the Job all the more enjoyable.Jacqui myself and the Team hope to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tournai, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Back in Belgium now. Have just had a 3-day trip in England and spent the two nights in The Roebuck Inn.
We’ve had a marvellous stay and all my friends were really satisfied with The Roebuck.
We particularly appreciated the friendly helpfulness of each member of the staff. But also the warm atmosphere emerging out of your Inn. And I’m not telling you this just because of the high temperatures of Sunday.
Sorry Tom that I couldn’t say goodbye but time was a precious element in the general organization of the trip.
The only disappointment was that we didn’t meet you, Jacqui. So, let me tell you again how much your emails made my task easier in organizing the visit to Leeds Castle and London.
You say The Roebuck is the House of Hospitality. You are absolutely right. We’ve experienced it.
Thank you very much.
Dominique Orbie and friends

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom O, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hi Dominique, Its Jacqui here, yes I am so sorry that after all our communication we didn't meet, I have been recovering from a Foot Operation, I popped in to do Admin and other bits and bobs but kept missing you as you were at The Castle and then up in London for the Day.Really hope we can accommodate you again in the future, Guests like you and your Friends make our Job all the more enjoyable.
Jacqui & Tom OConnor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO DURHAM
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Have just spent a night B&B at the Roebuck inn Location for all sights round Maidstone/London perfect. Food Excellent Staff could not be ant more accomodating. Price at £73 B&B FOR 3 ADULTS amazing and the best chips all 3 of us have ever tasted . Would recommend to anyone the beers not bad either not that im a drinker !

Room Tip: we had one of the 3 bed rooms in the court yard. slept like a log
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAWS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom O, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, Cumbria
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Delightful Inn set in a lovely village. The bedroom was compact but had all mod cons plus flatscreen TV which was nice. The bed was very good quality and beautifully sprung too, I slept like a log which says a lot for the bed as it was very hot weather at the time! The staff were all happy and friendly implying a good working environment. The chef was first class and did beautiful steaks, very sensibly priced using locally sourced produce. Thought we would visit the Park Gate restaurant as we know it well, but ate at the Roebuck which was excellent and very reasonably priced. I will definitely use the Inn again as will need to travel to Kent sometime again as I have some ongoing business with an elderly relative.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Straker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom O, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice comments, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We booked The Roebuck Inn because we were invited to a wedding at Leeds Castle. Anxious to keep costs down, it turned out the venue was the closest to the castle and the cheapest. We booked the family room (situated at the side of the pub with it's own door onto the carpark.). I rang and spoke to the owner who was very accommodating, we needed to have somewhere to change prior to the wedding that afternoon and was told that that would not be a problem. True to her word the room was ready for us at lunchtime. The lady owner was nice and very friendly. We were shown into our room. It was average. The carpets needed a good stain remover used on them and the decor was a little tired. My side of the bed was lumpy, which wasn't great as I'm pregnant and found it difficulty to get comfy. The shower worked but was a nightmare to get the exact temp as its connected to and controlled by the bath taps, and wasn't very powerful. The blind that should have been against the door was in the wardrobe broken.
However, we found the room quiet and heard no noise from other guests There were enough towels for the three of us and enough tea and coffee. There's no luxuries, but hey, that's how they keep the costs down. Breakfast was LOVELY!! Couldn't fault it at all. I'm told Tom does the breakfast in the morning. Credit where it's due, there was plenty of it I asked for scrambled instead of fried eggs and that wasn't an issue. Really nice.
On the whole a great budget hotel. Just a few changes in the room bed walls, shower, carpet and this would have been a brilliant room. Would I stay again? probably not, but that's really because I don't go to many weddings at Leeds Castle, rather than the hotel itself.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas O, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Its always nice to receive a good constructive Review.We do have a maintenance programme which has recently started, as Rooms become tired so quickly, unfortunatley the Decorating Carpet & Fabric cleaning has started upstairs in the Hotel, the 2 outside Rooms, one being the Family and the other being a Disabled Room are left until last as we only have one of each its always difficult to close them off during busy periods.Not had any complaints about the Bed before and we were unaware of the Door Blind being down, so thank you for bringing this to our attention.Even though we are a low budget Hotel we do strive to maintain high standards and offer a personal touch.Many thanks for your comment on Breakfast.Wishing you and your Family best wishes for the Birth of your Baby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrietsham
2.2 mi away
Dog & Bear Hotel
Dog & Bear Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.5 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#14 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roebuck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roebuck Inn

Property: The Roebuck Inn
Address: West Street, Harrietsham ME17 1HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Harrietsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Harrietsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roebuck Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn short distance from leeds castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Roebuck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roebuck Hotel Harrietsham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing