We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The New Flying Horse
Ranked #2 of 3 Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just a short overnight stay here enroute from Bruges to Swansea.

Nice little pub with very modern pleasant rooms, in a lovely village. Good quality pub food (dinner and breakfast) and staff pleasant.

Our room (room 6) was particularly nice with a settee area. The approaching corridor was narrow, windy (not the breezy variety) and had a low beam which, despite the sign, my wife managed to hit.

Although I'd happily stay there again, just two moans

a) After 1 pint, the Spitfire was off (on a Saturday eveining!) – come on boys, this is a Shepherd Neame pub (very, very disappointed).
b) The bath design was very bad – was the bath too narrow or was I too wide? Also with taps in the middle it was impossible to add (the very ) hot water once in the bath.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Two_Fogies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 297 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night based on existing reviews when we were on our way back to Folkestone . We were not expecting a B & B attached to a pub to be so nice , however we were delighted with everything. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The food in the bar was excellent and wholesome and the breakfast was great. Our room was spacious , clean and very nicely decorated with a lovely big bathroom , we would definitely stay here again even though a small bit of the beaten track for us , the locals at the bar were great !! .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a lovely 3 day break here April 2nd--5th . Stayed in the twin room in the stable block as had our dog with us. The staff were most friendly & very helpful, room was spotless, & the food excellent. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickleightonbuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just returned from 2 night stay with my son and my dog. Everything ran smoothly and we were looked after by friendly very efficient staff. I had a pet friendly room in the stables block which was clean and welcoming. my son had room in the main building, again the room was perfect.

Meals excellent quality with plenty of choice Dog was also welcome in the dining room.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliemay100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here in the Autumn last year and on visiting friends in the area this year decided to visit for an evening meal. As before service and food excellent with good choices and reasonably priced. My friend is a vegetarian and they could not do enough to make sure she was cooked something she could eat. Also on staying here last year with my daughter we were so impressed by the accommodation, breakfast and evening meals that we would not hesitate to come again. Wonderful!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in annexe are excellent as quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

What a wonderful stay with a warm welcome from the moment i arrived until sadly i have to leave. All rooms are extremely comfortable with a cosy warm feel, the Food was excellent from the evening meal and the breakfast was so filling and tasty. I would totally recomend the this accomendation to anyone. Just one small note the WiFi does not work in the outside rooms but works really well in the bar.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wye
2.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,347 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Conningbrook Hotel
The Conningbrook Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennington
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford (Eureka Leisure Park) Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head
The Kings Head
#1 of 3 in Wye
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wife of Bath
The Wife of Bath
#3 of 3 in Wye
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Flying Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Flying Horse

Address: Upper Bridge Street, Wye, Ashford TN25 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Wye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wye
Price Range: $89 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Flying Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Flying Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Flying Horse Hotel Wye
The New Flying Horse Wye, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing