We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely inn with classy rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Flying Horse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The New Flying Horse
Ranked #1 of 3 Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely inn with classy rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

Fabulous inn with character rooms in the pub itself and very nice ones in converted stables. An efficient, friendly pub that has more than adequate rooms – great value. Location good for Canterbury (join the tourists), North Downs and Whitstable on the coast (excellent seafood). For you Brits: Wye is a good place to stop off on the way to the channel ferries; for everyone else: a proper English pub with classy rooms and good pub food. Staff were very helpful, couldn’t fault them. And they had fried bread with the English breakfast, a true sign of quality!

Room Tip: Rooms 9-11; 12 designed for disabled..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomsons39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    99
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
48
128
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

the service in the inn was really good staff very friendly
we were in the stables very basic,bed okay,pillows awful
couple of complaints mould in the bathroom and you can
hear people in room next door,
location good for coast and towns depending on what you want
food excellent in inn,few nice places to eat out as well.on the whole
lovely part of england to visit,

Room Tip: ask for a room in the inn not the stables
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peppapig12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

A nice pub with pleasant rooms. We stayed two nights here and all was perfectly nice. A slightly generic pub (but with lovely beer garden) but the food is pretty good and nice they give the option of kippers at breakfast. Upstairs the rooms are good with great power showers and nice bathrooms, with good provisions. Like the pub beneath, they don't capitalise on its historic place in the heart of Wye and it would have been nice if the windows could open further than an inch. Also the service, though always friendly, could have been a bit more attentive and quicker. But these are minor criticisms.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 68394944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

I booked this hotel in advance for a group of friends - 14 in all. I had to call several times with changes in numbers; the manager dealt with the booking in a helpful and efficient manner. It is a lovely old pub with rooms above and in a stable annexe. We filled all but one room, they were very stylishly decorated, comfortable and well equipped.
We did not originally intend to eat at the New Flying Horse as the menu looked a bit basic and we wanted a more fine dining experience. However, due to a problem with the nearby restaurant we had booked (Wife of Bath, who were difficult to deal with to put it mildly) the New Flying Horse accommodated our party for dinner at short notice and with very good grace. THey had just introduced a new menu, not basic at all, everything we had was really nice. The food and drink was very reasonably priced.
My main comment is the standard of service. We were a large party, noisy, boozy and on our annual multiple birthday bash. The staff were so tolerant, pleasant and helpful, we felt very welcome and intend to go back next year (if they will have us!).
There are many lovely walking routes around and about, so this is a great base for a country weekend.
The only downside was the extra bed put in the family room for a last-minute addition was a put-you-up. My friend could not sleep on it and ended up on the floor.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRandJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

My wife and I spent a week at the New Flying Horse Inn. Staff and management were efficient and friendly, and quick to respond to requests. We ate breakfast there each morning and the food was straight-forward and delicious. The pub was charming. We enjoyed drinks in front of the traditional fireplace. Our room was well insulated from the pub below which has a faithful local/regional clientele.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OahuTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

We wanted a quite evening/night in a village away from the city with good food.

The place is very nice, good clean room, plenty of parking and pleasant staff.

The owner manager took our bags as we arrived a bit too early to check in and said he'd reserve a table for dinner. Unfortunately, he didn't, the restaurant ended up being fully booked so we had to dine in the public bar.

Not pleased by this.

I'd recommend double checking any booking here as otherwise it was very nice and Wye is a beautiful village.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goron59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

For the second year running we stayed here on our way back from a holiday in France and if anything it had got even better. Lovely friendly staff, fantastic food, cosy room tastefully and compactly kitted out, attractive gardens and a genuine warm welcome for us and our dog. We stayed in the converted stable block and although the space was limited and perhaps not suited for a long stay, we felt it was all pretty much a perfect way to end a holiday. We'll be back next year...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaddieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wye
2.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford (Eureka Leisure Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
2.3 mi away
The Conningbrook Hotel
The Conningbrook Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head
The Kings Head
#2 of 3 in Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Flying Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Flying Horse

Property: The New Flying Horse
Address: Upper Bridge Street, Wye, Ashford TN25 5AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Wye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Flying Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The New Flying Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Flying Horse Hotel Wye
The New Flying Horse Wye, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing