We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive improvement!”

The Wife of Bath Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wife of Bath Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Wife of Bath in Wye, set in the heart of The Garden of England, is owned and operated by Mark Sargeant, ex-right hand man to Gordon Ramsay and owner of multi-award winning Rocksalt Restaurant, Bar and Rooms in Wye. Featuring 5 beautiful guest rooms which perfectly compliment the stunning 60 cover restaurant and adjoining bar area and serving Northern Spanish inspired menus created using the best local and seasonal produce from the surrounding area.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Massive improvement!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I went to The Wife of Bath last night for a celebratory meal and had a fantastic time. The last time we ate here was over a year ago and on that occasion we actually left the restaurant hungry having had a three course meal! The food was lovely, there just wasn't enough of it and there were in options to order extra vegetables on the side etc. This time however the portions were more filling and there was a choice of side veg available to order. The food was really delicious too. The service was friendly and the atmosphere was good. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to others and will be coming here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Briony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    40
    19
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Light my Fire!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Mid week lunch, Table O'dorte Menu, Two courses, This establishment has a long history in the village of Wye and has stood the "test of time". Back in the day, you were invited to bring your own wine, as it was not a licenced restaurant, but today you would not be disapointed if you asked for the house red, it was a very pleasent robust full red with a nice nose. We didn't have starters, although the choice was very tempting, mainly because if we did, we would not have been able to eat a desert. The days when we were able to eat and enjoy a many course sit down meal are long gone, nowadays it is quality, not quantity, that is paramount!. It is difficult to add any thing new to all the glowing reviews listed, except to say that we will be going back again when the winter kicks in, why??, well, we really want to experience the welcome sight of an open fire in the grate, (there are two fireplaces, one in each dining room) and this year they going to have a real fire in each grate. We can't wait to relive "times of your"!!! how cosy that will be!!! Make sure to prebook,as their opening times are restricted during the week.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant birthday treat”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had afternoon tea here. It is very genteel. Just like the old days when service and the customer were paramount. The staff were attentive but not intrusive. We will certainly be going again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
360 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD - COULD DO EVEN BETTER?”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant, with friendly service, and the food is undoubtedly good for this area. But I think the kitchen could do even better with just a little more attention to detail. The starter we had - cod kedgeree - was outstanding, very well balanced. Mains not quite up to the same standard - a beef duo and a lamb duo - whilst still being very enjoyable. Good wine list, nice areas for pre- and post-drinks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for special occasions”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I have had a couple of special dinners here for our respective birthdays and we are never disappointed with the quality of the food or the service, but the atmosphere can be a bit flat in the week but that's only to be expected in a small village. Overall a very special treat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KentLady2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wife of Bath Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Wife of Bath Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing