We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food a friendly atmosphere”
Review of The Kings Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Head
Ranked #1 of 3 Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed in Wye for a weekend to meet some friends. The Kings Head is very well situated on the High Street (although there is no parking you can park for free on the road or round teh corner in a free public car park). The rooms are small but bright, ours was on the top floor over looking the street on one side and the downs on the other. Although it was a Saturday we were not disturbed by any noise late at night.

The restraunt is small but good selection of food, very warm service and reasonably priced wine. They late us stay at our table untill 1am no problem. Good thing about breakfast is that they serve untill 11am so no early getting up.

All in all a great experience

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 283 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

I am lucky enough to live in the next village to this great pub with rooms. I have often had lunch there after the new owners completely updated this old local. The food has always been super, whether it be a leisurely lunch or a cosy dinner. The produce is fresh and locally sourced (Literally in the same street! We are lucky to live in an area where excellent local meat, fish, fruit and veg and bread and decent farm shops are easy to find) and the service is super friendly and efficient. However, this week, I had cause to use their rooms. These are simply but beautifully furnished, comfortable and quiet. You also get an excellent breakfast thrown in with the very reasonable price. A great stopping point if you want to visit the beautiful Wye valley and go walking or just for a wonderful meal or a romantic weekend break. They won't let you down.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandycp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Kings Head is a perfect weekend retreat in charming Wye with tastefully decorated rooms and restaurant. The menu is a fantastic selection of local produce. We had the pleasure of meeting the proprietor who has shown a clear passion for the business. It is certainly worth a visit!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank IanBotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

as belgian couple we were glad to stay at this cosy but modern hotel, staff was very helpfull and friendly, also we were recommended to visit Chilham, it came as a wonderful surprise... we would like to come back when the weather is fine!

Karine en Robin from little belgium

Room Tip: we were staying on the side of the road but it was quiet, except for the wind and rain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Witwief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here for two nights as a valentines day treat. The location is excellent, staff lovely and room awesome! Really spacious, comfy bed and beautiful bathroom. Had a meal in the restaurant which was delicious and the staff were great at accomodating us with a fully booked restaurant. 10/10!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Don't get me wrong, I liked the Kings Head, it was perfectly adequate. However nothing stood out as deserving of a Very Good or Excellent rating.

We stayed there as it was convenient for a party. We would stay again for the same reason, but wouldn't go back just for the sake of another stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonjeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsHeadWye, Owner at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear bonjeroo,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Kings Head. I appreciate your honesty that you would stay again, but not make a special visit. It would be really useful if you could let us know where we failed to meet your expectations at a very good, or excellent score; we are always looking constructively at ways to improve so your feedback is invaluable to us.

I do hope we can welcome you back another time, and meet your high expectations.

With best regards,
Mark Lightford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Thought I would invest the normal taxi fare in staying over at the Kings Head. Not living far away and passing by on several occasions it was a pleasure staying over and discovering it's charms. Met a friend for a catch up and enjoyed some good wine (including English sparkling) bar snack and a great atmosphere to chill out and catch up. The simplistic style worked for me and the design theme was carried out throughout. The hosts were very welcoming, friendly and engaging. The room was more than adequate for one and to use another reviewers term - quirky, loved the use of wooden crates for bedside table and the DAB radio. Very clean and well stocked bedroom with en-suite bath and shower. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The free wi-fi came in handy for those last minute business tasks. Breakfast wasn't until 8:00am but worth the wait for one of the best poached eggs on toast I had eaten for a long time. I shall be catching up more often.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Les J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsHeadWye, Owner at The Kings Head, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Les,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at the Kings Head, even though as we discussed you only live a short distance away. And you're right about the sparking wine, from the Gusbourne Estate in Appledore, it's a superb local wine. Let's hope we have a chance to show you our hospitality again soon.

Best regards,
Mark Lightford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wye
2.3 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,291 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
0.1 mi away
The New Flying Horse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head

Address: Church Street, Wye, Ashford TN25 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wye
Price Range: $88 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your The Kings Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Wye, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing