We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must-Do Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Head
Ranked #2 of 3 Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must-Do Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights (20-22 July). We knew the hotel had been recently renovated but we didn't expect the first class experience that we received. The room was simply furnished but exquisite in its attention to detail with glorious soft bathrobes to make bathing delightful. But that was just the room. Downstairs, the pub has been converted and decorated using a very sympathetic layout with plenty of space for eating or just having a drink if preferred - the antler chandeliers are a sight to behold. But who wouldn't partake of the most gorgeous food? From breakfast (which would last you all day) through to lunch and then dinner, the menus provide you with a delight of options, with chef's specials allowing the chef to be creative - and believe me, it's well worth trying out. The final thing to remark on is the wonderful approach by the new tenants to their customers. Nothing is too much trouble for them. You must try this place out. It's a little gem!

Room Tip: We had a standard double. It was excellent - minimalist, simple but exquisitely done. Lovely bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julespim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    56
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
115
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hothfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Last week (late June) we spent a superb evening and a night's stay at the KINGS HEAD in Wye, Kent.

The Host did all they could to make us feel welcome and comfortable in their newly furnished accommodation.

The room with en suite facilities are clean and freshly decorated, with a cosy feeling.
They are delightfully furnished in a simple but elegant style befitting this traditional Kent Village. Television was not available in the room but we were told they are to be installed within a few days.

The restaurant serves superb food which really surpassed our expectations. The menu caters for all tastes with a varied selection to choose from. Everything was prepared to order and nicely presented.

The chairs would benefit from some cushions and the main dining area is small but there is an open fireplace for the winter.

We can thoroughly recommend a stay here while exploring the beautiful Kent countryside or conducting business in the area. There are many fine walks and the well kept village of Wye to explore. There are a few other restaurants and pubs within the village.

Wye is within easy driving distance of the port of Dover, there is also a local railway station at Wye.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Everything was spot on!!! My husband and i stayed for a night and I really wish we could have stayed longer. Our room was lovely and clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom, well, luxury!! Lovely free standing roll top bath being the focal point, always a winner there!!

Breakfast was nice and relaxed. The food was fresh and of good quality and defiantly plenty of it too setting you up nicely for the day.

But, most of all I have to say, the thing that topped it all off for me was the management and staff!! So very friendly, made you feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much bother.

The Kings Head is a must !! They really do have everything down to a tee and no words I can say will do it justice, it has to be experienced!! We will defiantly be going back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

A group of 4 of us stayed in Wye for 2 days. Our first meal at this lovely establishment was so delicious we went back the second night for an encore and we were not disappointed. The staff are all friendly and provide very efficient service. Sharon the manager was extremely accommodating and went out of her way to make us welcome. All meals were delicious. I will definitely return when next back in the UK.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are still in process of being renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canuck_in_Oz_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerphilly
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

very friendly welcome.a nice pint of real ale after a long drive from oxford.landord booked us a taxi to go to a wedding 3.5 miles away,ASHFORD TAXIS,charged us £19.00 to go it was not on the meter and i should have queried it.not the landlords fault, he always uses the same one but no one had told him what they charged before,he will now use a different one.the room was adequate for what we needed and the breakfast was great.be warned dont use ASHFORD TAXIS if you do find the price first.good idea of dvd player and tv if you have kids and a large selection of films fo them to watch. dave h

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We arrived late afternoon only to find we couldn't get in until 6pm, we hadn't been informed of this at time of booking. When we went to book in our booking wasn't in their diary so it was a bit awkward, a room was quickly found for us, the room was ok, if a little tired. The restaurant is closed on Mondays but they did offer to cook a basic meal but we went elsewhere. We had a cooked breakfast but the owner hadn't mentioned that this was extra which gave us a shock as it was somewhat overpriced. Out of the three hotels in this small village this one needs a lot of attention if it is to survive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baggy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

A fantastic place to base yourself in the foot hills of the north downs. A great location with stunning views. Rooms are extremely clean, comfortable and bright. The hosts are brilliant at making you feel very welcome in the quaint village of Wye, with their friendly manner they are ever so helpful. They can also recommend places to go and special events for all ages, so it really is worth asking. Breakfast is delicious and very generous. After our most recent visit with my wife and two daughters we were made to feel most welcome - we all can’t wait to go back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wye
2.3 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Conningbrook Hotel
The Conningbrook Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford (Eureka Leisure Park) Hotel
0.1 mi away
The New Flying Horse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head

Property: The Kings Head
Address: Church Street, Wye, Ashford TN25 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Wye, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing