We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice country pub”

The Tickled Trout Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For more than 400 years, an Inn or Tavern has stood on the banks of the river Stour where the Tickled Trout now stands. The Tickled Trout is typical of the distinctive Kentish architecture of the period and greets the visitor with a welcoming and unique 'olde world' charm. We strive to maintain this charm of oak beamed bars and open fires for our customers. Our well maintained gardens alondside the river Stour, provide the ideal setting for 'Al fresco' drinks and dining, with a superb choice from selective menus for which we are renowned.
Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice country pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We visit this pub to have something to eat when we don't fancy cooking at home as it's within walking distance from our house.

The pub is in a really nice location down by the river and does get very busy when the weather is decent. We have visited during the evening and for Sunday lunch on several occasions and we can't really fault the quality of food on offer nor the very reasonable prices.

All we could really say, is if you are going for a Sunday lunch get there early as it does get busy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    104
    55
    34
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nice name, lovely garden and view, shame about the inside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great location on river but just an average pub inside. Food very mediocre I'm afraid. OK for a summer drink.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MadelineCrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What's not to like ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Lovely 17th century pub, full of history and "ye olde English character" with the Great Stour river running through the bottom of the garden. Went for supper after work with my lady friend, the only downer being the lack of public access to the river bank outside the pub grounds as we were hoping to do a riverside walk before supper. That said, sitting in the garden with an ice cold cider, river murmuring in the background, chatting away as the sun went down was a most agreeable way to spend an evening. Food was cheap, cheerful and plentiful and good value for money. Staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurant service was quick and attentive. All in all, a most enjoyable evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, excellent customer service, real food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

First off, the Tickled Trout is very convenient next to the train station and has an awesome setting with the outdoor area and the river, so it's worth going to even for just a drink. I'd heard a lot of bad reviews about their food over the years but I thought I would try for myself, and I have pretty much nothing bad to say about it. Lovely chatty staff, the barmaid even poured me some of the new flavoured pimms to try with a bit of lemonade, for free! Which was tasty and summery! She offered tasters of the ales, and allowed us to order food even though it was 2 minutes until the kitchen was closed. The beef burger was one of the best I had in a long time, but it was the steak and ale pie that I sampled from my boyfriend that was ridiculously succulent, lush homecooked style food. Ordered a honeycomb dessert which was huge, and only £3.95! Will definitely go back for more!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miltton Keynes
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A 17thc restaurant in a beautiful setting alomgside the Great Stour river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were told about this and and it totally lived up to our expectations. A beautiful 17thc building, formally a tannery but now a restaurant oozing in character. The staff were excellent and the owner/chef found time to chat to us before and after presenting meals that were a credit to him and of the highest order. All of this in a beatuful setting alonside a trout river - the Great Stour in te village of Wye. If you make a booking - and I recommend that you do - allow time for the level crossing in the village that can delay you by 15 - 20 minutes. Believe me, it's worth the wait!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tickled Trout Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Tickled Trout Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing