We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picturesque and friendly Country Pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tickled Trout Restaurant

The Tickled Trout Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For more than 400 years, an Inn or Tavern has stood on the banks of the river Stour where the Tickled Trout now stands. The Tickled Trout is typical of the distinctive Kentish architecture of the period and greets the visitor with a welcoming and unique 'olde world' charm. We strive to maintain this charm of oak beamed bars and open fires for our customers. Our well maintained gardens alondside the river Stour, provide the ideal setting for 'Al fresco' drinks and dining, with a superb choice from selective menus for which we are renowned.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Picturesque and friendly Country Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

A beautiful setting with the Stour at the bottom of the large pub garden. Warm and cosy atmosphere inside with ample dining area overlooking the garden and river. All the staff, landlord & landlady were friendly and very helpful. Delicious food was cooked to order and decent servings of dessert rounded off a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    103
    51
    34
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Lovely setting next to the river with lots of parking. Friendly, helpful staff. Our group ordered the liver and bacon, salmon, burger and bacon wrapped chicken which was all very nicely cooked. Puddings were generous and very nice. Would recommend and will be returning very soon

Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NO food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Was not happy at all with the service i got from the pub .The staff were walking around wiv faces like a wet weekend . Opened up a bar tab orderd two drinks . Sat down looked at the menu to see what we both wanted .GO to order and was told there was only one off then lefted .So picks from menu again ask to be told that had sold out to . So picks again ,ordeds then sits down , And then the barman comes over and said there was no chicken meltes left which was the thing i had order first for the young lady .
Not happy at all and the barman didnt say would you like a drink on us to say sorry .
How can you run a business like that with no food

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Lovely setting by a river and a railway level crossing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great for lunch on a summers day, not cheap but good local produce well cooked and if you do want a few drinks easily accessible by train.

Helpful?
Thank Marshian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant setting but need to improve on the menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Had a meal here on Saturday night. Lovely setting next to the river and pleasant host and the service was good, the staff were friendly. We had the steak, cooked ok, pleasant enough but could have served better quality meat and we would have been happy to pay a little extra for that.
The menu was standard pub grub and the food is average, ok and that's all, if you want something a little more special I would not eat here, but ok for the everyday.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shrew0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tickled Trout Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Tickled Trout Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing