We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
56
52
24
21
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
52
24
21
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews under new management would stay again four poster bed wedding venue jacuzzi bath honeymoon suite bar and restaurant piping hot single room good nights sleep drink choices hotel guests a lovely stay full english food was lovely changed hands great night
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 172 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2018

We stayed for three nights at the Shurland as we were visiting friends in Eastchurch.
It is having a major overhaul and under new management the new management team were excellent and full of new ideas for its future.We wish them every success in this venture!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2018

We were very impressed with the staff at the Shurland. They are under new management and it shows. Nothing was too much trouble. As soon as they realised I was disabled our room was changed so I was nearer the lift. The food is lovely and not expensive. We had a sharing platter that was more than enough for 2. Breakfast was great with extras like Danish pastry and yogurts. Downstairs has been refurbished to a very high standard and has a lovely atmosphere. The rooms are a bit tired but apparently they are next. I can't wait to see how they turn out. We enjoyed our stay. We didn't try the gym facility but it seemed very popular.

Room tip: Just ask for quiet room
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank V480HUsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2018

Hotel just been taken over with new management. Reception, bar and restaurant was lovely modern and very clean. Room we stayed in was a little dated but clean. Rooms are next to be referbed. I'm sure they will match the standard downstairs. Breakfast excellent value for money and piping hot. Every single member of staff was friendly and very helpful. Could not fault a single thing. Definitely stay there again if in the area.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank JanG1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2018

This hotel provided a visiting group with a lunch time buffet. It was excellent value for money and of a very high standards and professionally presented. Lovely friendly staff, I would high recommend using this hotel if you are in the area.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018

We stayed in a family room as we attended a wedding nearby.
The room had a massive damp patch in the ceiling. It was very dated. We kept the window open to dispel the smell of damp.
The bathroom radiator had been left on full whack so it was v hot and smelly in there. The seal on the shower screen needs attending to. The skirting board is mouldy and disgusting. The toiletries were random and not matching. Everything was just very dated damp and disappointing.
My husband advised at checkout to be told that the owners have only taken over 6 weeks ago. I would have expected at this stage a discount to be offered either on this stay or an offer on a return Stay, but nothing.
Wish we had stayed in a soulless chain.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank lottem32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews