We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs Haithwaite”

Orillia House and Cottages
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orillia House and Cottages
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We recently stayed at Orillia guest house and enjoyed our break. Breakfasts were cooked to order, and the staff were very friendly.
Our cottage style room was light and over looked the village Church.
We parked in the car park, and used the excellent coast liner bus service into York.
Looking forward to our next visit to Orillia in the Autumn. Already booked with Gary and Claire, perfect hosts, very helpful.



Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 74 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

My partner booked this B&B as a surprise for my 50th Birthday, and when I looked at the reviews on here I thought "Oh No......"
However.........
We stayed 2 nights over the weekend whilst we visited York and all of its attractions and I have got to say we had no problems whatsoever with any cleanliness issues.
Our room was very clean (definately no spiders!) and all of the staff were very helpful and friendly.
We are going back to York at Christmas and we will be staying here again

John, Hartlepool

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 903jaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Fortunatenly no snakes!!

We stayed for two nights, and were not expecting any luxury, but were still left dissappointed..

Being in need of modernisation or a little tired, is something i can accept from a B&B, but being grubby is not.

There was dirt on the walls on the stairs and I am sure there was some sort of spider gathering in our room! The shower has no holder, because of the eaves on the roof not had any hot water when we were getting ready to go out. It was either boiling hot out of the tap, and when you transferred to shower, it went cold.

Bathroom was a bit grubby, and you could see the dirt through the transparent taps. Just not a very nice stay, and felt uncomfortable.

Breakfast was ok, but the cup of tea was pretty bad....

Wouldnt go back or reccommend to friends

Room Tip: Avoid room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howardmcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Thats how i felt after staying here. chose this B and B because of its proximity to York and the local pub- 5 min walk so their promotion said. Yes it was a 5 min walk but it was closed up and for sale. so then we had to get back in the car again to find a nice restaurant which was a 5 min drive away.
Village was isolated and nothing of interest there.
rooms were clean enough but tired. our ensuite didnt have a shower only a sloppy arrangement over a bath.
Continental breakfast was average. tinned grapefruit cereal juice tea coffee and toast. £65 for dble room with substandard ensuite in the middle of nowhere. Better choices out there

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret11-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed here over the weekend of he 2nd and 3rd of june 2012. Booked this place as the place we normally stay was fully booked. Its not the best place i've stopped in by quite a margin, i dont think its ever been updated this century. To be fair the owners were really nice as were all the staff but for the actual room it was a let down. The size of floor space is ok but as its in the loft its really easy to bump your head, even my 10 yr old daughter bumped hers and she is quite small for her age. The breakfast was reasonable and it does have its own parking so plus points for that. Would i stop here again, the honest answer would be no. Over priced for the standard of accomodation and a little further from york than i liked.

On another side, if you have booked this hotel i can recomend a couple of places to eat near by.
The bay horse is a good place with lovely food and a nice pint (large portions of home cooked food).
The other is the four alls inn, not the same quality as the bay horse but still ok if you are on a budget. The food here is more like a chain pub rather than made to order.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dosso4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

After reading some reviews, we were a little unsure about our visit. we needn't have worried
the family and staff soon made us feel at home. there is a regular bus route to york or the coast
should want to have a break from driving. the accommodation must have improved from other
reveiws read. although we only stayed 3 nights,we both agreed a return would be on our future
plans. david Repton.

Room Tip: some vary in size and also have a shower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orillia House and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orillia House and Cottages

Address: 89 The Village | Stockton on Forest, Stockton on the Forest YO32 9UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Stockton on the Forest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stockton on the Forest
Price Range: $101 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orillia House and Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orillia House and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing