We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kings Head Country Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, nice staff, awful customers. Mid week, full if young people swearing and being sick ....
Won't be staying here again. . Such a shame .
Parked in muddy field . Tried to have a quiet drink but I and other guests were intimidated by the roudy crowd

Stayed: February 2014
7  Thank Robthurkettle6480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kings H, Owner at The Kings Head Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Mr Thurkettle

I am absolutely devastated to think that this type of behaviour was allowed to carry on. It appears someones birthday celebration got completely out of hand. I would like to assure you that this is not usual or acceptable behaviour that anyone should expect at The Kings Head. I am genuinely appalled to learn of this happening and those involved have been dealt with appropriately.

In addition the staff will undergo training in the next couple of weeks to remind them of how to deal with a situation like this and to prevent a situation like this again in the future. I can only apologise for the distress caused to you.

I am glad however that you did like the hotel and found the staff to be nice.

Having been in contact with you, I understand that you are considering returning and allowing us to redeem our reputation.

Kind Regards and I look forward to meeting you

Craig Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 467 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

My wife and I have just returned after spending two nights here with a Travelzoo deal. The Hotel is in a nice location close to many places of interest. Our room No.3. was very large and the bed comfy we think it was wider than it was long. Our first evening meal was a taster which we found very much to our liking, the choice of breakfast also good cereals, full English, eggs benedict and more. We can not fault the food served at any meal.
The staff are mostly young but very easy to talk to and more than helpful which is so nice to see in youngsters these days they are a credit to the Kings Head.
This Hotel is as others have said one you can recommend to friends and family with out a worry

Room Tip: Room 3 very large but floor boards do creak in places, big bathroom and at the front traffic not a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kings H, Owner at The Kings Head Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Allan T

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your experience at The Kings Head Hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much with us, in particular that you enjoyed your meals and you found the staff helpful.

Feedback of any kind, especially positive, helps both myself and the rest of the staff in improving what we do and gives us motivation to keep up the hard work.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings Head Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Craig Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We enjoyed a 2 night stay in January 2014 in honour of my husband's birthday and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was excellent; the staff lovely and we were both very impressed by their gin and whisky collection in the bar!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lachbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kings H, Owner at The Kings Head Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear lachbc

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your experience at The Kings Head Hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 2 night break with us, in particular that you enjoyed the food and found the staff to be lovely.

Feedback of any kind, especially positive, helps both myself and the rest of the staff in improving what we do and gives us motivation to keep up the hard work.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings Head Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Craig Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our anniversary weekend away and have had a fantastic time. The room was lovely, food cooked to perfection and staff all very friendly. We will come back and will most definitely recommend to our friends and family.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank CJEA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kings H, Owner at The Kings Head Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Jo Smith

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your experience at The Kings Head Hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much with us, in particular that you found the room to be lovely and the food cooked to perfection. I am also please you found the staff to be friendly, something which I believe to be of huge importance.

Feedback is essential in helping us to improve and a positive review like this helps motivate us to keep up the hard work.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings Head Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Craig Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I've known the King's Head for years and it simply gets better. After extensive renovation it' a great hotel in an attractive village, offering a comfortable and well stocked bar and very good restaurant. All of this combined with excellent service makes it well worth a visit and it is a great base to explore north and west Norfolk.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kings H, Owner at The Kings Head Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Dorothy

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your experience at The Kings Head Hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us, in particular that you found the restaurant and the service to be excellent.

Feedback of any kind, especially positive, helps both myself and the rest of the staff in improving what we do and gives us motivation to keep up the hard work.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings Head Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Craig Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Kings Head Hotel in January 2014 and, being part of a 12 people group, also enjoyed a party here on the first night.

The hotel is very cosy, the staff is lovely and trying really hard to please everybody and we also met the owner and his parents who are equally lovely people.

Rooms, food and service were impecable! We all felt very well looked after even during busy times like Friday evening. Everyone had a really lovely time and we will undoubtedly return!

Many thanks to everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kings H, Owner at The Kings Head Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Nick

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your experience at The Kings Head Hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much with us, in particular that you found the hotel so cosy and that you found the staff to be so lovely and everything to be up to your standard.

Feedback of any kind, especially positive, helps both myself and the rest of the staff in improving what we do and gives us motivation to keep up the hard work.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings Head Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Craig Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent two nights at the Kings Head Hotel whilst visiting family in the area. To find the hotel we had to drive down lovely quiet country roads to find the hotel in Great Bircham. We arrived at the hotel in darkness (6pm) and we were greeted by a beautiful shining white country house that immediately brought a smile to our faces.

The bar and lounge (with fire) downstairs was a welcome space for us at the end of a busy day of sightseeing. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. We especially enjoyed the dinner menu that showcased the local produce. The kids menu and activity sheet were well received by our young daughter. On our last morning at the hotel we indulged in the breakfast in bed option - what a feast! Such a lovely way to start the day.

We would (and have) definitely recommend the Kings Head Hotel as a wonderful country getaway. It was very peaceful, the hotel decor was beautifully styled and the staff were friendly and obliging. We will definitely be back.

Oh and Norfolk - what a beautiful part of the country you are. We loved exploring the coast, castle ruins and great estates.

Room Tip: Our room upstairs was very spacious with beautiful Edwardian-inspired decor (room 1). It contained a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeeganJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kings H, Owner at The Kings Head Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear MeeganJG

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your experience at The Kings Head Hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much with us, in particular that you enjoyed your meals with us and you found the bar and lounge so welcoming with the fire.

Feedback of any kind, especially positive, helps both myself and the rest of the staff in improving what we do and gives us motivation to keep up the hard work.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings Head Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Craig Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Bircham
7.1 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
909 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Ffolkes Hotel
The Ffolkes Hotel
#11 of 15 in King's Lynn
59 reviews
8.3 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
962 reviews
6.8 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
931 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Country Hotel

Address: Lynn Road | Norfolk, Great Bircham PE31 6RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Bircham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Great Bircham
Price Range: $128 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Head Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Kings Head Country Hotel, a very warm welcome to the family-run Kings Head Hotel. Built in the Edwardian era, the hotel combines all the traditional warmth and comfort of a long established country house hotel with sleek contemporary facilities. The hotel is located on the great estate of Royal Sandringham and close to the Houghton estate, also offering easy access to the North Norfolk Coast the Kings Head is very well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Kings Head Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Lynn
Hotel Kings Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing