We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Head Country Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We enjoyed a 2 night stay in January 2014 in honour of my husband's birthday and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was excellent; the staff lovely and we were both very impressed by their gin and whisky collection in the bar!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lachbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kings H, Owner at The Kings Head Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear lachbc

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your experience at The Kings Head Hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 2 night break with us, in particular that you enjoyed the food and found the staff to be lovely.

Feedback of any kind, especially positive, helps both myself and the rest of the staff in improving what we do and gives us motivation to keep up the hard work.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings Head Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Craig Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 454 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our anniversary weekend away and have had a fantastic time. The room was lovely, food cooked to perfection and staff all very friendly. We will come back and will most definitely recommend to our friends and family.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank CJEA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kings H, Owner at The Kings Head Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Jo Smith

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your experience at The Kings Head Hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much with us, in particular that you found the room to be lovely and the food cooked to perfection. I am also please you found the staff to be friendly, something which I believe to be of huge importance.

Feedback is essential in helping us to improve and a positive review like this helps motivate us to keep up the hard work.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings Head Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Craig Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I've known the King's Head for years and it simply gets better. After extensive renovation it' a great hotel in an attractive village, offering a comfortable and well stocked bar and very good restaurant. All of this combined with excellent service makes it well worth a visit and it is a great base to explore north and west Norfolk.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kings H, Owner at The Kings Head Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Dorothy

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your experience at The Kings Head Hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us, in particular that you found the restaurant and the service to be excellent.

Feedback of any kind, especially positive, helps both myself and the rest of the staff in improving what we do and gives us motivation to keep up the hard work.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings Head Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Craig Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Kings Head Hotel in January 2014 and, being part of a 12 people group, also enjoyed a party here on the first night.

The hotel is very cosy, the staff is lovely and trying really hard to please everybody and we also met the owner and his parents who are equally lovely people.

Rooms, food and service were impecable! We all felt very well looked after even during busy times like Friday evening. Everyone had a really lovely time and we will undoubtedly return!

Many thanks to everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kings H, Owner at The Kings Head Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Nick

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your experience at The Kings Head Hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much with us, in particular that you found the hotel so cosy and that you found the staff to be so lovely and everything to be up to your standard.

Feedback of any kind, especially positive, helps both myself and the rest of the staff in improving what we do and gives us motivation to keep up the hard work.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings Head Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Craig Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent two nights at the Kings Head Hotel whilst visiting family in the area. To find the hotel we had to drive down lovely quiet country roads to find the hotel in Great Bircham. We arrived at the hotel in darkness (6pm) and we were greeted by a beautiful shining white country house that immediately brought a smile to our faces.

The bar and lounge (with fire) downstairs was a welcome space for us at the end of a busy day of sightseeing. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. We especially enjoyed the dinner menu that showcased the local produce. The kids menu and activity sheet were well received by our young daughter. On our last morning at the hotel we indulged in the breakfast in bed option - what a feast! Such a lovely way to start the day.

We would (and have) definitely recommend the Kings Head Hotel as a wonderful country getaway. It was very peaceful, the hotel decor was beautifully styled and the staff were friendly and obliging. We will definitely be back.

Oh and Norfolk - what a beautiful part of the country you are. We loved exploring the coast, castle ruins and great estates.

Room Tip: Our room upstairs was very spacious with beautiful Edwardian-inspired decor (room 1). It contained a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeeganJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kings H, Owner at The Kings Head Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear MeeganJG

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your experience at The Kings Head Hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much with us, in particular that you enjoyed your meals with us and you found the bar and lounge so welcoming with the fire.

Feedback of any kind, especially positive, helps both myself and the rest of the staff in improving what we do and gives us motivation to keep up the hard work.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings Head Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Craig Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I have been regular visitors to this hotel for a number of years (even before Hollie and Charlie took over!) and have always been absolutely satisfied with the accomodation/food and service, hence returning so many times.
Following a very hectic Christmas at home, we decided to visit for one night on Saturday 28th Dec. We only booked it the day before and were somewhat suprised but delighted to get a room at all. We had a lovely one night stay which helped us to have a bit of 'us' time before returning to work on Monday. We were in room 2. The last time we visited in September time we had a different room along the corridor (looking out to the car park entrance side). I noticed then and even more so this time that the rooms, staircase and landing were in need of some TLC. The walls are getting very scuffed and wallpaper peeling off around the entrance area to room 2.
Inside the room the decor also needs to work, including the fact that a cupboard under the television was now empty and filthy with wires and plugs on display which quite frankly didn't look that safe! I think there used to be a fridge there and this has been removed. Thats fine - I'm not bothered about a fridge but the space should have been cleaned and tidied or locked.
The bath has a large chip in it which clearly someone has tried to fill recently - and all the debris filler was still in the bath which I had to take out before I used it. When I used the bath the rest of the filler came out anyway. The grouting in the tiles near the shower head and behind the shower screen is very discloloured and looks awful. Having said all of that the room was clean, warm and comfortable although why the lightbulbs in the bedside lamps have been replaced with red ones I do not know - couldn't see to read by them at all and I do not have poor sight!
We ate in on saturday and the menu was varied and the food was good as was the breakfast the following day.
When we checked out I did point out very discreetly to the new manager, my observations re the rooms needing a refurb and he did acknowledge this and said that he was working his way around the hotel refurbing as and when he could. He was rather dismissive of the comments but the public areas all seemed fine and up to standard so I must assume that this is true.
My advice is get the rooms done asap even if this means refusing bookings to do so- we have been many times and know that it can be better than it was this time, but if it had been our first time, I 'm not so sure I would rush back. The room rate is not inexpensive so standards must be maintained. There's plenty of competition in the area so buck up and I hope to see an improvement next time we visit!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I wish to say, having read the previous review, that our experience of our stay at the Kings Head in Novemebr was nothing but brilliant. Food, service and rooms all excellent. There were four in our group, and we all agree that we will return in the new year.
Kate & Rick Clements
Suffolk

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kings H, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Head Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Kings Head. If you do happen to pop back, please get in contact with us and we will be happy to arrange a stay.

Kind Regards, Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Bircham
7.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,351 reviews
6.8 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
897 reviews
7.1 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
927 reviews
6.8 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
843 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Country Hotel

Address: Lynn Road | Norfolk, Great Bircham PE31 6RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Bircham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Great Bircham
Price Range: $124 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Head Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Kings Head Country Hotel, a very warm welcome to the family-run Kings Head Hotel. Built in the Edwardian era, the hotel combines all the traditional warmth and comfort of a long established country house hotel with sleek contemporary facilities. The hotel is located on the great estate of Royal Sandringham and close to the Houghton estate, also offering easy access to the North Norfolk Coast the Kings Head is very well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Kings Head Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Lynn
Hotel Kings Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing