We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“web designer deserves a medal!”

Church Farm House Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Church Farm House Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The web site makes this place look really nice with comments such as "stylishly decorated rooms" we thought it would be perfect to meet up with our friends. The hosts were very friendly and when we explained we weren't doggy people they did keep the (well behaved) dog away. Breakfast was good and that's where the good things stop. to say the rooms were passed it would be an understatement, our sheets were clean but the rest of the room hadn't seen a duster for months - cobwebs everywhere and dusty. The magazines were from March 2012 - better not to have them than admit that that's the last time the room was cleaned properly! We had what we were told was a private bathroom which was down some (cobweb laden) stairs - could well have been the family bathroom we are not sure, again this was not clean - dirty towel, dirty bath and the bin unemptied - they did clean this whilst we were out having something to eat. The place was generally scruffy with "stuff" on the landings a few scented candles wouldn't go amiss once they have given the place a good clean. Keep a wide berth!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penrosemoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Church Farm House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 52 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights over a wedding weekend. The owners were very welcoming and the room comfortable and warm. There was a kettle, tea coffee and fresh milk laid out each day. The space was good, a separate bathroom next door with plenty of hot water and clean towels each day.
Breakfast was very good, fabulous scrambled eggs ...fresh from the chickens roaming the garden, good selection of cereals, yogurt and fruit. Period farmhouse rooms beautifully decorated. House set back from the road, easy parking. Good meals available at pub nearby. See entry for Kings Head.

Room Tip: The room with separate bathroom is at the back of the house and very quiet. The chickens and cockere...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rufusbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here on average 3 nights a week from June 2012 to March 2013. Nigel & Marie-Therese were warm & welcoming, nothing too much trouble. Room was comfortable & warm throughout winter. Nigel prepared whatever you wanted for breakfast (very fresh chicken eggs!) & was enjoyable company for a chat over breakfast. Comfortable & welcoming and would certainly return if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldredmerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We arrived for a three night break in very cold weather and met with a friendly helpful greeting. Our room was cosy and warm and the delightful Georgian farmhouse was just as we hoped it would be. Nigel and his wife went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and the breakfast provided high quality choices including Nigel's freshly gathered eggs. Our hosts were absolutely charming and we would certainly like to stay with them again, especially as the bed was the best we've ever slept in!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We arrived at 5.30pm ,the weather being really cold, and were shown to our twinn bedded room,where the owner then told us that she would bleed the radiator,to help warm the room.It was really cold and after a few minutes the radiator was cold again.No tea or coffee or kettle was provide and cobwebs were hanging from the light.Having closed the blinds we noticed that the wind was moving the blind so the windows were letting a draught in.We then decided that there was no way we could stay,and prompty departed.The Kings Head across the road helped us to get accomodation and I noticed that their tarriff was cheaper than Church Farm House and properly warm!Certainly not what it says on the tin.David

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank assington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The bed was comfortable but the room lacked decent size wardrobe most clothes stayed in our case as no chest of drawers. Heating in bathroom failed with blizzard conditions outside. Inadequate heating in our bedroom. thermostat in corridor kept being turned down.
Everythiing was very 1950's. Handheld hair washing attachment on bath no shower curtain.
This facility is well over priced for what is offered. The hotel opposite with a similar tarrif offers far better facilities. The location was good for visiting the Norfolk coast'

Room Tip: third bedroom has bathroom down steep flight of stairs. avoid
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easytraveller940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were in Norfolk for a wedding and this charming B&B was ideal, our room was comfortable, we had an en suite although it was a bath with handheld shower but no shower curtain which is unusual these days. The owner was delightful and helpful and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HampshireSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Church Farm House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Farm House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Great Bircham PE31 6RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Bircham
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Great Bircham
Price Range: $115 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming farmhouse B&B located in the village of Great Bircham part of The Royal Sandringham Estate. Ideally situated for the beautiful beaches on the North Norfolk coast, shopping in picturesque Burnham Market or rural walks on Peddar's Way. Local attractions include the stately homes of Houghton Hall, Royal Sandringham and Holkham Hall. Horseracing (NH) throughout the year at Fakenham Racecourse. Accommodation is cosy country farmhouse. All rooms contain Super King-size beds which can be twinned. Rates from £85 per room per night in low season and £100 per night in high season. All prices on application. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Church Farm House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing