We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed,friendly and really well-managed with an impressive attention to detail all in a great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Inn at Hawnby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Hawnby
Ranked #1 of 3 Hawnby B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxed,friendly and really well-managed with an impressive attention to detail all in a great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

Our second visit . Using the Inn as a base from which to walk it was a delight to return to great food and an unfussy welcome of an evening.
My son (21) and partner found the accommadation clean, warm and wanting for nothing-
everthing worked and we undoubtedly will return for more of the same.

Thank you to all concerned.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soren55patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    114
    40
    20
    14
See reviews for
34
261
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

Beautiful spot to relax and enjoy the tranquillity of this Peaceful Valley. Food and service in the Hotel was very good. Menue and choice of food, different and of high quality, All helped by the fact, at least one of the Owners being Front of House during "service" (of meals).

We did not have a room in the Hotel,our room was in the anex close by, our "double room" was rather small but had all we needed for one overnight, but was in need of a good dust and "hoover" perhaps these rooms are not in regular use! This would not put us off from returning to The Inn, which we most certainly will!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_and_Elizabeth48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

We visited the inn to celebrate my parents anniversary, and we were not disapointed, the food was beautiful from the black pudding starter right though to the scrummy puddings. The staff made us so welcome it was as if we had been going there for years, it made a special ocasion even more so. Thank you so much, we will definently be back very soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolFoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed in the stable block , so I can't comment on the decor or cleanliness of the main rooms. Our room and en suite were certainly clean enough, but the tired decor (rusty grouting around the bath, for example) and problems with fixtures (toilet handle broken, rendering toilet largely unflushable) need attention. Like another reviewer, I noticed the fag ends littering the terrace below the restaurant windows, which were quite offputting. When I managed to avert my gaze, the evening meals were lovely, although I didn't appreciate the manager's efforts to flog tiny bottles of water (home purified, apparently) at $4.50 a shot. The breakfast is fine for carnivores, but for those preferring a healthier option, the 'home made' muesli came as a bit of a disappointment, being largely nut and dry fruit free! I agree with other reviewers that this could be a lovely place, with just a little tlc. Start with the grouting, move onto the fag ends, attend to the breakfast (better quality toast, more butter, pots of coffee on table rather than on request from waiter) and bob's more than half-way to being your uncle.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deezee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

I have visited the Inn at Hawnby for a number of years and I never fail to be impressed at what is on offer. There is plenty of atmosphere around the bar area, and it is clearly well used by the locals. The chefs ability to source the finest local ingredients allowed me to enjoy a delicious red grouse and well as my favourite steak dish. I have heard a lot about the lamb shanks which I understand is one of the chefs signature dishes. Regrettably this was not available during my stay but the languistines made up for this disappointment. The cooked breakfast was excelled and the perfect way for meto start my day. Kath's recent award as landlady of the year is well deserved. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

If you need a break from the hustle and bustle of the town then look no further than this cozy venue as it provides a great base for all you need to access the North York moors and surrounding areas. It has a great atmosphere (locals clearly enjoy this place being on their doorstep) with the landlords being very friendly and helpful and this is conveyed through to their bar and restaurant staff who were always willing to help out. The bedrooms are all that you would expect from the price and there is oodles of hot water to use post tramping about on the moors. I always struggle with beds away from home but these ones are easily moveable if you are into your feng shui or you room partner snores!! In the bar the guest ales are very drinkeable indeed and the food that is served is punching well above its weight (try the Grouse and Shank of Lamb when on the menu). Overall the best recommendation that i can give this place is that I will certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben_stirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

You will not find a more welcoming Inn in the whole of the UK. Dave and Kath are quite unbelievable and as a result the Hawnby has become a uniquely special place and its well worth heading to if you are around the North York moors. The food is fantastic, expect far more than pub food but at reasonble prices. The rooms are very comfortable and the free sherry is a pleasant surprise! As another reviewer said, the lamb shanks are utterly delicious. They are Dave's favourite too so even if they aren't on the menu, do ask him as he always has several in the fridge and will happily cook them for you if you give advance notice! Try the grouse as well as they are in season now and will be very local!
Heading back in 3 weeks as am getting married v close by and all the ushers will be being looked after by Dave and Kath.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungaryBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawnby
5.7 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
11.8 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laskill Country House
Laskill Country House
#2 of 3 in Hawnby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Hawnby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Hawnby

Property: The Inn at Hawnby
Address: | Nr. Helmsley, Hawnby, Helmsley YO62 5QS, England (Formerly The Hawnby Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley > Hawnby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hawnby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Hawnby 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a nine bed roomed country INN situated at the top of a hill in the peaceful hamlet of Hawnby. Panoramic views surround us.We have a cosy bar with real ales and a good selection of wines. The restaurant is elegant with crisp white linen dressing the tables. The INN holds the taste of Yorkshire award as well as one rosette for its high quality locally sourced food.Our ethos is for you to come and stay with us, relax and unwind from the stresses of everyday life while we look after you in a laid back professional manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Hawnby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Hawnby Hotel Helmsley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing