We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise!”
Review of The Inn at Hawnby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Hawnby
Ranked #1 of 3 Hawnby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leek, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pleasant Surprise!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

On reviewing the weather forecast at the beginning of March, we booked the Travel Zoo offer for the evening of 12 March. When telephoning to make the booking we were advised that the inn was fully booked but we could be accommodated in a Stable annex. We accepted this, but on arrival were shown by a pleasant yourg lady to a lovely spacious room - king size bed - large bathroom - outlook over the garden and surrounding countryside - and, in the main building. This was a really pleasant surpise, especially as it was my birthday! We had a drink before our meal in a very pleasant bar and then had a lovely 2 course meal chosen from quite a comprehensive menu and afterwards spent more time with other visitors in the bar.
There was a very varied choice on the breakfast menu - and althoug "full English" was available it was good to have quite a number of available options.
We really enjoyed our brief vist to the Inn at Hawnby and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it - staff, food and location all great!!
Brian and Liz - Staffs Moorlands

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    115
    43
    20
    14
See reviews for
34
266
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Higham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

A travelzoo offer taken up by wife and me led to no disappointment at all. Arriving at 3pm we were made welcome from the off. Shown to our room (Heather) we were instantly taken with the quaintness,brightness and cleanliness. A very comfortable room for our needs with adequate space to hang clothes,cupboards etc etc. A very comfortable bed, complementary sherry, plenty of tea/coffee facilities was most impressive. The ensuite was very clean with a decent sized bath and shower combination, lashings of hot water and a wonderful view of the valley. The bar area was just up our street, a lovely fire, nice furniture,real chill place if you know what I mean. The evening menu was varied and although there was additional cost to some items,I really didn't mind. I paid extra for a 5 scallop starter and was not disappointed. The standard of food was very good and the fish main excellent. Enjoyed the cheese board too, extra again but hey ho! The staff were very friendly and attentive also. After a fantastic nights sleep we both decided on a full English and again were impressed with the quality. We have promised ourselves that we will come back here and stay for longer. The Inn is in a beautiful tranquil location and we want to explore the surrounding area more extensively together with experiencing the hospitality of the establishment again. A lovely place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed on a Travel Zoo offer in February for two nights with one night's dinner included. Stayed in Sky room overlooking the garden, but above the kitchen, so was a bit noisy with the extractor fan, but not too annoying. TV remote wouldnt work for us either, but not a problem. Ate at the inn on the first night, all delicious - lamb and venison shank for main courses were both spot on. Nice touch also - sound like a fuddy duddy - but there are tablecloths on the tables which you dont see much of nowadays, made the restaurant feel a bit more special. Ate in Helmsley on the second night. Breakfast on both mornings was fine, full english one morning and poached egg & yorkshire ham on another. All staff are lovely and friendly. Rooms and bar are a little dated, but suit the surroundings. Bar could do with a bit of a cosier atmosphere. Loved the little framed phrases in the ladies loo. Only a ten minute drive into helmsley which is a lovely market town. The drive from Hawnby over to Osmotherly is great - some fantastic views - and lots of pheasants!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacup, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had an overnight stay courtesy of an offer on Travelzoo, evening meal bed and breakfast.

An old, quaint, pub/restaurant. Set in fantastic English Countryside. We spent four or five hours in Scarborough before arriving at Hawnby, its only an hour and a quarter away.

The side of the bar has a very comfortable lounge area sporting a welcoming open fire at the side. A couple of real ales,and the usual beers available.

Our room (Sky) was nicely furnished and has adequate room for two. A small TV mounted on the wall refused to respond to the remote, but happily changed channels etc., when I pushed its buttons. Remember the place is old and 'rambling'. Our en suite, up a couple of steps from the bedroom, was clean, and had an over bath power shower, with plenty of hot water.

The room has Tea and Coffee making facilities.

The evening meal menu has good choice and will suite most people though we were puzzled by the extra cost of one or two items on top of the Travelzoo inclusive price. Mathematically they did not add up. As an example scallops as a starter were a couple of pounds dearer on the menu than other starters, but Travelzoo guests had to pay a surcharge of around £5-£6 to chose them.

The wine I found expensive for what was on offer, a bog standard Merlot by the glass (large admittedly) £6.75. I think small was £5.50. Similarly I found the bottles to be a bit on the expensive side for what they were (Yes I do buy and drink a lot of wine both at home and in Restaurants).

The Breakfast menu was perhaps more extensive than most with kippers, and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on the menu in addition to the usual.

I went for full English, my wife for mushroom omelet.

My plate of the usual fried egg (overcooked, no runny yolk) on fried bread, bacon. grilled tomato, and fried mushrooms looked good but when I started to eat I discovered the mushrooms cold.

My wife's omelet was over salted (too many TV chefs these days sprinkle salt too liberally on food as well).

A plate of toast was provided, a couple of rounds of brown on top and a couple of rounds of white below - perfect I like white toast my wife likes brown toast. HOWEVER, when my wife took a slice of brown she noticed the white toast had green mold around the edges, We brought this to the attention of the waitress who immediately took all the toast away to replace it. She returned with only brown toast muttering something about their baker/supplier having made a mistake. I would have thought this should have been noticed in the kitchen.

Overall good value, as I said let down by attention to detail with the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbrittania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn Y, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments - All taken on board - I wished you had said something at breakfast we would have happily changed your food or order. unfortunately when you only let us know through trip advisor its difficult to do anything about it. As you will recall at your breakfast everyone came down at once so I am sorry there was an oversight with the toast. I believe that the waitress was working at speed and unfortunately made a mistake by not noticing that we had been sent out of date bread, but yes I agree it should have been noticed before it was served - human error I am afraid and for that we are sorry. As for the wine we watch our competitors closely and are very much in line with wine pricing in the area.
Overall I am glad you had a nice stay with us
Regards
Kath Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Had an overnight stay courtesy of a Travelzoo cheapy - comfortable bed room (lots of hot water and nice quality toiletries; there was evidence of water having leaked in but we had no problems), clean, great food with lots of choice, friendly hosts and fab location. It's an old Inn and not a boutique hotel so don't expect ultra modern decor etc - enjoy it for what it is; lovely!

Room Tip: 'Sky' has a nice view over the rear gardens and hills and only one room next door, so it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue1562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn Y, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thanks for your review. I am pleased that you had a comfortable break in our lovely old worlde country INN
Regards
Kath Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Away from it all location for a peaceful break. Great for walkers but still within reach of some Yorkshire towns if shopping is your thing.
The bar welcoming with open fire.
Our room bright with lovely view over the village.
Had B&B and evening meal. The food was excellent especially the evening meal. The young staff 'waiting on' in the evening very friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn Y, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thankyou for your comments really appreciated.
Regards
Kath Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My partner and I had a very enjoyable mid-week two night stay at the Inn. As we enjoy a walk we were delighted with the location and could not ask for better surroundings. The inn stocks a wide selection of walks available, plus a photocopying service at the bar so that you can take a copy of the map with you. There is a convenient shop at the bottom of the village where you can pickup drinks and snacks for the walk ahead.

The Inn provide a wide breakfast menu including fresh juices, preserves, home made muesli, plus the choice of various dishes from the menu including a very tasty Full English, Smoked Salmon and Scrambled Eggs and Poached Egg on Toast to name a few. Fresh hot Coffee is also provided as well as Tea.

We stayed in the Sky, the room was very clean, there were Tea and Coffee making facilities, plus the kettle was spotless, something we find can sometimes be overlooked. The shower was great, a real power shower, just what is needed after a day out in the fresh air. All the provided towels were clean and folded on our bed for us,the bed was comfy too.

We ate at the Inn both nights, the first night we both had Belly Pork which was absolutely delicious with the mash and greens. For desert we had Lemon Possit and Chocolate Brownie which were equality tasty. On the second night we had Sirloin Steaks which were cooked perfectly to our liking, these were served with home made chunky chips and broccoli. We thoroughly recommend the food at the Inn, a truly good dining experience.

The staff at the Inn are very polite and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We found it particularly pleasing that when we were served our evening meals and had said Thank You to the staff, they returned the Thanks with, Its a pleasure, something we believe they truly meant, as it is evident that they are proud of the Inn and enjoy working there.

Overall a very enjoyable stay that will come highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanRhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn Y, Owner at The Inn at Hawnby, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
You were both a delight to look after - thanks for all the lovely things you have said about us it is so appreciated.
Kindest Regards
Kath Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawnby
5.7 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
711 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,563 reviews
5.6 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
376 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laskill Country House
Laskill Country House
#2 of 3 in Hawnby
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Hawnby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Hawnby

Property: The Inn at Hawnby
Address: | Nr. Helmsley, Hawnby, Helmsley YO62 5QS, England (Formerly The Hawnby Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley > Hawnby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hawnby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Hawnby 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a nine bed roomed country INN situated at the top of a hill in the peaceful hamlet of Hawnby. Panoramic views surround us.We have a cosy bar with real ales and a good selection of wines. The restaurant is elegant with crisp white linen dressing the tables. The INN holds the taste of Yorkshire award as well as one rosette for its high quality locally sourced food.Our ethos is for you to come and stay with us, relax and unwind from the stresses of everyday life while we look after you in a laid back professional manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Hawnby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Hawnby Hotel Helmsley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing