We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comfortable B&B.”
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for a few days and found this an ideal location to explore this area of Norfolk. The room was spacious and comfortable, clean, and well kept, with free wifi. The wifi is a little bit erratic and weak, but this may be due to the rural location of the Inn.
Great food, and the staff very friendly and obliging.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fxbronte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 219 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was a business trip for me and wow! What a great find. I booked due to the over priced chain hotels nearby. I stayed here one night - very friendly, great food (homemade), nice clean room with free wifi and breakfast inc. this was £30 cheaper than the Travelodge / Holiday Inn and Premier inn. So much nicer and would defiantly recommend to anybody. I will most defiantly be coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMerison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were camping not far from here and this was our 'local'. We turned up fairly late and very hungry. We were given a friendly welcome and the staff were very efficient at getting our order. The food was outstanding and plenty of it with lovely fresh vegetables! We enjoyed it so much that we ate there for breakfast too! We were treated like good friends. Would recommend this place to every one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank secretshopper_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hot dusty and tired we fell into the Plough. It ticked every box. good ale, wines and spirits, fantastic food and really nice staff. Nothing was too much trouble (and we did have several odd requests- which is a long story).
Normally we plan trips and know where and what we are doing, but on this occasion we had less than 24 hours preparation time and we nearly came unstuck.
I can recommend anyone to this fine establishment. The main menu was spectacular, but the specials board meant it took 3 drinks whilst we decided.
Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We camped nearby for a weekend when visiting relatives and ate here on both nights. Really friendly staff and fab food. Good menu and interesting specials board. I had monkfish one night and sea bass the next - both perfectly cooked. Nice rioja to drink and the husband was happy to find Adnams. Would definitely eat here again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonWoolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have stayed in a lot of hotels/inns over the last few months and I have to say that this is without doubt the best I have found. Staff friendly, room spotlessly clean with ample space and then there's the food. All I can say is that the cook should apply for Masterchef! I had the 'Roast Red Pepper Soup' followed by the special lamb dish. Absolutely perfect and exceptional value for money.
Do yourself a favour. If you're wanting a good place to stay near Norwich, look no further, you won't get better than this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was the second time we've stayed here... both times as a getaway treat...and what a treat it is. The owners Roger & Val are so attentive & welcoming, it was a pleasure to go back and be remembered. We arrived just as a busy Sunday lunch service was coming to an end but the check in was efficient and welcoming. We were shown to our room and was delighted to have been given the same room as our previous stay, room 7 at the rear, a beautiful spacious room with en suite bath & shower and an amazing mirror with lighting, (as a woman that impresses me!) A cream tea in the pretty outdoor seating area was followed by a walk around the lovely quiet village of Marsham. Dinner was excellent.... cooked to perfection...it was so relaxing... 3 courses with wine plus liqueurs and coffee went down a treat. All in all we couldn't recommend this inn highly enough....no it isn't 'cheap' but what price quality!....in our opinion you get what you pay for...anywhere!!...So thank You Roger,Val & all your staff for a wonderful stay we'll be back!.

Room Tip: room 7 is at the rear slight noise from kitchen fan if windows are open but not enough to spoil your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsham
6.4 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
940 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
962 reviews
9.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
10.9 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
785 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: Old Norwich Road, Marsham NR10 5PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Marsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marsham
Price Range: $123 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing