We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All together an OK place to stay but suffers from road noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ganton Greyhound Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ganton B&B and Inns
shipley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All together an OK place to stay but suffers from road noise”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Welcomed at the bar but not shown to our rooms so had to grope my way along unlit corridor, trailing suitcase, to find light switch. Room allocated was next to road so asked to change, which was accomodated, but still, there is plenty of noise from the busy duel carriageway where I was (room 8). Good rooms well decorated small tv high up, comfy but soft mattress. Good public rooms with pool table. Breakfast fine and we enjoyed the evening meal. We stayed one night whilst walking the Wolds Way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nabwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    70
    39
    10
    14
See reviews for
47
109
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Caldbeck, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

we stayed 3 nights, after reading other reviews I asked for a quiet room away from the road and that is what we got ( room 9 ) shame about the squeaky floorboard right under the bed leg other than that we had no complaints at all, room was very clean, and cleaned everyday, new towels , bin emptied etc, Breakfast was excellent, we never ate in the restaurant at night as we were always out and about all day, but the restaurant was always pretty full, so I would take that as a good sign, the staff were very helpful and obliging.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caldbecklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We only stayed one night thank goodness because it was the worst mattress ever slept on. It actually gave you a bad back and stiff legs, terrible!

This was a great shame because the food was delicious and well worth the visit for that. The room was good, stayed in the annexe. Was clean, nice settee with footrest in front of a tv on the wall, so could sit and relax.

The bar area bit shabby but for what we paid for it was ok. It was the food that saved the day, it was great but would not return only because of the terrible mattress, which is crazy really. If we could return for the food alone we would but not to stay.

Would not recommend to friends because of this. I would think this inn appeals to the older person or business trip, not for family so a good night sleep is essential and unfortunately this inn does not give you this, shame.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindylozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north of England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed at the Ganton Greyhound for four nights recently.I was with my elderly Mother and wanted somewhere near the East coast,where we could easily visit different places.
We had a really nice room overlooking the garden ,the only slight problem for us was the tiny tv.This was placed high up on the wall and it proved hard for my Mother to see and hear.
The breakfast was freshly prepared and plentiful and the staff really friendly and helpful.
Its proximity to the coast makes it an ideal place to stay,although we didn't choose to eat our evening meal in the restaurant as the prices were not really competitive.
Although I have seen reviews commenting on the nearness of the main road,we had no noise or trouble with this.

Room Tip: Obviously try to get a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetcampbell2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in a family room when visiting Yorkshire recently.
The hotel was reasonably priced, booked through an online company and a good deal for 3 nights B&B for 2 adults/2 children.
The room was clean and very spacious. Very warm too, but soon sorted when we dealt with the radiators, which had been left full on! Well equipped, but wi-fi very unreliable in the room.
Adjoining rooms in the family suite and bathroom.
Breakfast was great, very tasty, nice choice, but slightly limited times especially at the weekend.
The big down side for me was the road noise. We were in a room at the front, in the annexe on the ground floor and I think we felt and heard every vehicle that passed by on the A64 outside! Very noisy. Walls are thin too, so the noise from other occupants is hard to ignore too!
All in all a good value stay and if you are able to request a room away from the road then I recommend it!
Restaurant food ok but very hefty prices. We dined in Scarborough the second night for much better value.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the road if you can!! Definitely bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katekitty n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I normally have the honour of writing good reviews as I've normally selected places which have been recommeded by others. Bit alas, on this occassion, I chose a laterooms deal as it was just about the only place with rooms left.
Booked a superior room and paid £65, superior means big, it doesn't mean better. Worn, old, slightly tatty and whilst some may think that's a description of me, that's the room. On the positive side, breakfast was OK, served in the conservatory, it was prompt, hot and acceptable quality and the location is good for car drivers and stay over.
Our room looked onto the main road so we couldn't open a window without much noise!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnetby le Wold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The public rooms and the bedrooms are of a good standard, the staff are friendly and efficient, the food was well cooked and presented,, overall we thought it was very good until it got to bed time, when we became aware of the traffic on the main road outside our bedroom window, we had little sleep unfortunately.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ganton
13.2 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
12.8 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#2 of 4 in Malton
495 reviews
4.5 mi away
Blue Bell Inn
Blue Bell Inn
#2 of 2 in Weaverthorpe
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
24 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Wentworth Arms
The Wentworth Arms
#5 of 14 in Malton
123 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Mayfield
The Mayfield
#72 of 183 in Scarborough
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganton Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganton Greyhound Inn

Property: Ganton Greyhound Inn
Address: Main Road, Ganton YO12 4NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ganton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ganton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ganton Greyhound Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the North Yorkshire countryside, just 9 miles along the A64 from Scarborough this family run hotel offers free Wi-Fi and parking, and is ideally positioned for those wishing to explore the surrounding area. Whether enjoying a relaxing drink by a roaring log fire or indulging ones culinary palette with a freshly prepared meal, guests are guaranteed a comfortable and memorable stay.Formally an 18th Century coaching inn, a great deal of care has been taken to ensure that the building still retains much of its original character and charm. Indeed, the hotel prides itself on providing a welcoming, home-from-home atmosphere, a boast made all the easier by comfortable surroundings and friendly, capable staff. With the glories of the North Yorkshire countryside right on the doorstep, this Hotel offers the unbeatable combination of convenience and accessibility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Ganton Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing