We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pedigree Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ganton Greyhound Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ganton B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here whilst walking the Wolds Way. We had a family room for three adults loads of space plenty of room to spread ourselves out, bathroom spacious but the water could have been hotter. The meal we had in the evening was excellent, superior pub food. Breakfast was first class and all for a reasonable price. The management have pitched this just right.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baggy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Ganton Greyhound Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 234 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst walking the Wolds Way. Very usefully it has a bus stop right outside the door, with buses passing every hour (Sundays too,) connecting Leeds and Scarborough, and regular stops in between. All 5 of us had double rooms for 2 nights, all occupied as singles, and the cost was very reasonable considering the quality (excellent) of accommodation. We ate at the restaurant on the Saturday night, and it was very good though a bit pricey, but strangely, for a hotel, they don't do meals on a Sunday night, so after our walk on the Sunday, we all hopped on a bus into Scaborough and went to Wetherspoons instead, (very close to Scarborough station). It helped to even up the cost of meals on the 2 nights!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gos618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were looking to stay a night in a pub around this area, with better than average pub food this fitted the bill. Not a great deal to do in walking distance so it does help if you like a pub, beer and food.
Room huge, clean, warm and comfortable. Lots of car parking, mostly away from the road.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosiv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked to stay here very last minute, to stay on the Saturday of the easter weekend. We loved the idea of a log fire and nice food and using it for a base to visit the coast. The bonus being we could take our dog for £10 extra. I was told no double rooms left just twin but they could let us have a superior room for £69 making at total of £79 for one night.

The room was lovely and clean and very large. It didnt look or feel like a kingsize bed though? We were told our dog was not allowed in the restaurant (understandable) or in the bar. (There went our cosy drinks by a log fire!).

There is a very friendly pub 5 minutes down the road welcomes dogs and has a cosy fire (but it's not walkable distance.. you need the car).

Breakfast was well organised, lovely food.

We probably wouldnt stay again though. Dogs were allowed but not made to feel welcome. People working there seemed nice enough. Just felt disappointed that we paid to 'stay in our room' all night with a bottle of wine when we could of done that at home. : /

Room Tip: Cant remember what number room we had but it was in an outside building and facing the main road. Qu...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked into this hotel at the last minute the night before and pretty much booked the cheapest available place without doing any research whatsoever. Considering that we were happy with what we got, it's a nice cheap place, the room was a good size and the bar downstairs was nice. If we had done our research we wouldn't have stayed here though as it is quite a bit away from Scarborough. There is a bus stop right outside so that is handy with one to two buses an hour to take you into Scarborough. In a taxi it's about £13-£18 so you could pay that bit extra for somewhere closer. There is a golf course next door so if you like golf then that is good.
The room appeared clean at first but throughout the one night stay I kept finding long black hairs around the place and I'm a blonde! The shower was a bit dodgy too,the door was a bit stiff and hard to close and the frame looked ready to fall apart.
The breakfast room was nice and the breakfast was lovely although it was a bit on the stingy side. Breakfast hours are also fairly limited.
I think if you're looking for somewhere last minute that's cheap and most other places are booked up then I would recommend staying here but if there are other options then I would recommend going for somewhere else.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank catflynn_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Needed to stay overnight for golf at Ganton. What a find! Accommodation is clean and very adequate and meals are exceptional and the service vey good indeed. Location is great for exploring York, Scarborough and the surrounding area. I will be returning and bringing friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobNelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The room was lovely, plenty of space, clean and tidy, Unfortunately the cistern leaked but these things happen.

We arrived in the afternoon in the sunshine, so the room was reasonably warm - however by 3 it was cooling down. The radiator was cold - I rang reception about it who informed me that the heating didn't come on until 4 - it was February!!!

The main drawback was the road - traffic noise all night. Take earplugs!

Breakfast excellent. Plentiful and good quality.

We paid £45 a night which was OK, I wouldn't want to pay any more though.

Dinner in the pub was lovely though ask for a table in the main part - the conservatory is a bit chilly.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the road as possible and choose an upstairs room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TykeTraveller1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ganton
7.4 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
7.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,257 reviews
3.5 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Blue Bell Inn
Blue Bell Inn
#2 of 2 in Weaverthorpe
219 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Star Inn
The Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Weaverthorpe
151 reviews
3.8 mi away
Downe Arms Hotel
Downe Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wykeham
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganton Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganton Greyhound Inn

Address: Main Road, Ganton YO12 4NX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ganton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ganton
Price Range: $68 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ganton Greyhound Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the North Yorkshire countryside, just 9 miles along the A64 from Scarborough this family run hotel offers free Wi-Fi and parking, and is ideally positioned for those wishing to explore the surrounding area. Whether enjoying a relaxing drink by a roaring log fire or indulging ones culinary palette with a freshly prepared meal, guests are guaranteed a comfortable and memorable stay.Formally an 18th Century coaching inn, a great deal of care has been taken to ensure that the building still retains much of its original character and charm. Indeed, the hotel prides itself on providing a welcoming, home-from-home atmosphere, a boast made all the easier by comfortable surroundings and friendly, capable staff. With the glories of the North Yorkshire countryside right on the doorstep, this Hotel offers the unbeatable combination of convenience and accessibility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ganton Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing