We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous country inn, excellent food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ganton Greyhound Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ganton B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I visited the Ganton Greyhound with my partner. The rooms are clean and modern in the annex with other rooms of a similar standard in the actual pub. I think having read the previous reviews, it is only fair to point out that the owner Robin Bamford, took over the Greyhound in May 2010 and the standards have improved drastically.

Robin provides a pub/ restaurant experience that i can only describe as excellent. It's a warm and friendly place to visit and the food is sublime. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevo2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 243 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2011

Gave it a try despite some previous dubious reviews and very pleasantly surprised. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and freshly painted with comfortable bed and clean shower room with nice toiletries provided. Room was at back of hotel so away from road and therefore quiet although we had walked a long way so would have slept through anything! Had evening meal there, which was freshly prepared and good quality with lovely dessert. Breakfast was also very nice. Staff seem to be trying very hard to make it a success and we wish them luck,

Room Tip: Room 9 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Have stopped again at the Ganton Greyhound for a spring break,what can I say what was'nt said in the last review it is a wonderful place and nothing is to much trouble clean and warm and the food is to die for.A great place for a base on the east coast to visit the beaches and the moors thanks a lot Robin who is the chef/owner .Will be coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magsDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

My husband and i booked in to the hotel for an over night stay as we were visiting family near the East Coast, what a hidden gem this hotel/ pub is, dont drive past please stop as it is one of the most friendly, well run hotels in the area.

We were given a warm welcome with a lovely well maintained room, LCD tv, all home comforts,leather sofa, plenty of towels and tea making items, some hotels in the area dont even turn the heating on cant say that about The Greyhound it was lovely and warm and very cosy.

Highlight of our short stay was the FOOD fantastic, as good as any meal we have had in any Leeds city centre hotel, we chatted with the chef Robin and nothing was too much trouble ask for the selection of desserts they are to die for !!

All in all a lovely setting ideal for the golf course, York or the coast, dont hesitate to stay, all the reception staff are welcoming and very helpful, we will be staying again soon

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo2064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Rooms overpriced for what is in effect motel accomodation. Bedroom smelled damp. Food and wine at dinner v. good, but breakfast very average.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodLifeForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We stayed here whilst visiting family in the area. We had a great, comfortable stay. Both Robin and Julia made us feel very welcome. In fact, a home from home. The meal in the evening was delicious, beautifully presented and the waitresses polite, helpful and well turned out. The room was well appointed and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was served to suit us and couldn't be faulted. A perfect stay all in all. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElvisFan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed here over the half term holidays with two children. What a lovely surprise we had when we were shown our room spotlessly clean, spacious, all recently decorated.
We ate in the pub on several nights and you couldnt find a better menu locally both for adults and children, steaks cooked to perfection!! Nothing is too much bother for Julia and Robin and the staff at The Ganton Greyhound, they go out of their way to help and were happy to give advice on where to go for our daytrips. I couldnt recommend this Hotel any more but I wold ay that if you want to eat I would recommend making a reservation as it is proving to be a very popular restaurant

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loveaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ganton Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganton Greyhound Inn

Address: Main Road, Ganton YO12 4NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ganton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ganton
Price Range: $65 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ganton Greyhound Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the North Yorkshire countryside, just 9 miles along the A64 from Scarborough this family run hotel offers free Wi-Fi and parking, and is ideally positioned for those wishing to explore the surrounding area. Whether enjoying a relaxing drink by a roaring log fire or indulging ones culinary palette with a freshly prepared meal, guests are guaranteed a comfortable and memorable stay.Formally an 18th Century coaching inn, a great deal of care has been taken to ensure that the building still retains much of its original character and charm. Indeed, the hotel prides itself on providing a welcoming, home-from-home atmosphere, a boast made all the easier by comfortable surroundings and friendly, capable staff. With the glories of the North Yorkshire countryside right on the doorstep, this Hotel offers the unbeatable combination of convenience and accessibility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ganton Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing