We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ganton Greyhound Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ganton B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Have stopped again at the Ganton Greyhound for a spring break,what can I say what was'nt said in the last review it is a wonderful place and nothing is to much trouble clean and warm and the food is to die for.A great place for a base on the east coast to visit the beaches and the moors thanks a lot Robin who is the chef/owner .Will be coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magsDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 245 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2011

My husband and i booked in to the hotel for an over night stay as we were visiting family near the East Coast, what a hidden gem this hotel/ pub is, dont drive past please stop as it is one of the most friendly, well run hotels in the area.

We were given a warm welcome with a lovely well maintained room, LCD tv, all home comforts,leather sofa, plenty of towels and tea making items, some hotels in the area dont even turn the heating on cant say that about The Greyhound it was lovely and warm and very cosy.

Highlight of our short stay was the FOOD fantastic, as good as any meal we have had in any Leeds city centre hotel, we chatted with the chef Robin and nothing was too much trouble ask for the selection of desserts they are to die for !!

All in all a lovely setting ideal for the golf course, York or the coast, dont hesitate to stay, all the reception staff are welcoming and very helpful, we will be staying again soon

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo2064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Rooms overpriced for what is in effect motel accomodation. Bedroom smelled damp. Food and wine at dinner v. good, but breakfast very average.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodLifeForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We stayed here whilst visiting family in the area. We had a great, comfortable stay. Both Robin and Julia made us feel very welcome. In fact, a home from home. The meal in the evening was delicious, beautifully presented and the waitresses polite, helpful and well turned out. The room was well appointed and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was served to suit us and couldn't be faulted. A perfect stay all in all. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElvisFan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed here over the half term holidays with two children. What a lovely surprise we had when we were shown our room spotlessly clean, spacious, all recently decorated.
We ate in the pub on several nights and you couldnt find a better menu locally both for adults and children, steaks cooked to perfection!! Nothing is too much bother for Julia and Robin and the staff at The Ganton Greyhound, they go out of their way to help and were happy to give advice on where to go for our daytrips. I couldnt recommend this Hotel any more but I wold ay that if you want to eat I would recommend making a reservation as it is proving to be a very popular restaurant

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loveaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

had doubts about booking this hotel from previous reviews on booking was told it had changed hands in the last month they seem to off worked miracles everywhere was clean or had been painted all new bedding and towels.Julia and Robin the chef and owner could'nt of made us feel more welcome even though they were quite busy with local people dining, the food was excellent and the service very good even though they were training staff.This hotel is very good value and I would recommend it in fact we are thinking off booking for New Years Eve

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magsDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

the ganton is a great place to stay, under new ownership from may2010 and they have already done alot with the place, the welcome was warm and friendly, the food was exellent and good value for money. the accomadation was modern and clean and supplyed everything needed, anything else the staff were more then happy to help. set in lovely surroundings a 5min walk from ganton golf course, close to scarbrough and other surrounding sites. would recomend to anyone all in all 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophiehelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ganton Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganton Greyhound Inn

Address: Main Road, Ganton YO12 4NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ganton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ganton
Price Range: $83 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ganton Greyhound Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the North Yorkshire countryside, just 9 miles along the A64 from Scarborough this family run hotel offers free Wi-Fi and parking, and is ideally positioned for those wishing to explore the surrounding area. Whether enjoying a relaxing drink by a roaring log fire or indulging ones culinary palette with a freshly prepared meal, guests are guaranteed a comfortable and memorable stay.Formally an 18th Century coaching inn, a great deal of care has been taken to ensure that the building still retains much of its original character and charm. Indeed, the hotel prides itself on providing a welcoming, home-from-home atmosphere, a boast made all the easier by comfortable surroundings and friendly, capable staff. With the glories of the North Yorkshire countryside right on the doorstep, this Hotel offers the unbeatable combination of convenience and accessibility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ganton Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing