We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Skipton(Skipton)(Great Value!)
$81
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Craven Arms(Giggleswick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,044)
Filter reviews
2,044 results
Traveler rating
1,525
361
105
37
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,525
361
105
37
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclay pigeon shootingluxury roomlake viewland rover experiencefalconry centrefalconry experienceclassic roomwedding guestsyorkshire daleswedding venueafternoon tealog firesteam roomevening mealfantastic hotelrelaxing breakbirthday treat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,656 - 1,661 of 2,044 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My partner and myself stayed here for 1 night en-route to Cumbria. What a lovely setting it is, so much space. The bedroom was fine for what we had paid, clean and comfortable. You sleep really well here because it is so dark and quiet. The bar had an open fire which was welcome because it was a cold day. We had our little dog with us so couldn't eat in the main restaurant but we ate in the bar/lounge area which was perfectly fine. The menu was varied and the food was very good. There are huge glass windows in this room so it must be wonderful when the days are longer as it looks out over the estate with wonderful views and an outside seating area. WE had breakfast in the bar with our dog and it was one of the finest breakfasts I have had, we were so stuffed. We are going to come back and stay a little longer in the spring it was so nice. For those of you with dogs, this place is a real gem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joylwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a lovely meal at the coniston. The food was delicious with plenty of veg and sides.
We paid £32 for a 3 course meal.
Staff friendly and attentive and showed you to your table promptly. Will return in the future

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank polamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I were travelling down the A65, and just stopped in for a coffee, as the hotel was bright, clean and in a very picturesque location. The manager happened to see us as we came in, and not only made sure we got our coffee break, but gave us a personal tour of the hotel. The facilities are excellent; and we noted that it had everything desirable for large groups of people with differing accommodation needs. For example, for elders with mobility challenges, the halls are large, clear and accessible, with easy access to dining and recreational areas; but for active folks there were a host of activities available as well, not the least of which is a lovely trout lake. But the best part of our little visit was the way we were received and valued, though we were just passing through. Of all the hotels to which I've been in the UK, this is the one that understands customer service. Well done, Coniston. You are a business with a future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Myself and 4 friends have just returned from the hotel as a Christmas treat to ourselves! This was an opportunity for the 5 of us just to take some time out and have a couple of days chilling out, practicing on the clay ground as its getting to the end of the shoot season and enjoy good food, wine, beer and accommodation. I was a little apprehensive due to the sad loss of Tom B (the MD) in 2013 as to how the hotel would feel, I need not have worried the hotel is still as fabulous as ever and clearly still in good hands with Louise! So many hotels just can not get it right yet this place is welcoming, geared up for country sports (even has a gun safe) and a fabulous wide ranging menu. Thank you to all the staff who really looked after us!
PS when will you put a leisure centre (pool, steam room, hot tub in)?

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExplorerIIYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel is in a perfect location & my room had amazing views out towards the lake. The weather was quite good during my stay & it was lovely to watch the sun set.
Nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff. I would certainly recommend the Coniston Hotel friends & family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews