We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“even better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

have stayed at this hotel before and after the extension and it still offers excellent facilities for both business and pleasure. The food and hospitality is as always fabulous. My room had a small terrace that over looked the lake. would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosieno9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,879)
There are newer reviews for The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,529 - 1,535 of 1,880 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I have just spent a happy couple of days in the Yorkshire dales at this lovely hotel. It's her home country and we were there visiting family. We have been going to this hotel on and off since it opened about 14 years ago and watched it go from strength to strength.

We took Stanley our Scottie with us and he enjoyed it too, chasing pheasants by the lake before breakfast and later lying quietly under the table while we had supper in the Huntsman's Lodge.
In the hall is a selection of wellies of all sizes in case you've forgotten yours.

Our room was in the new extension with patio doors opening onto a lawn overlooking the lake . The bathroom (with shower and bath) was of international standard; the room was quiet and the bed was comfortable.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, but there are tapas in the bar also a sort of brasserie ( the Huntsman's Lodge) with a long bar and tables dotted about. Food was good - I had a delicious grilled lemon sole with a glass of New Zealand sauvignon blanc.

The service was cheerful and relaxed.

My lasting memory is of drawing the curtain back on our last morning to see the sun rising through the mist over trees across the lake.

Room Tip: Don't book it on the internet, phone the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for just one night with a group of fellow board members.
The hotel is really good and the facilities well thought out.
Enjoyed breakfast, snacks lunch and dinner and all the food and service was exceptional.
The room that I had was room 70 and was a long long way from reception. The room however was lovely with a big comfy bed.
I measure the quality of hotels by a number of indicators and big clean fluffy towels that wrap right round you are one of these. The hotel did not disappoint in that area.
The business facilities are good and I would imagine that this is a lovely place for a wedding.
I know that the hotel offers other activities but i cannot comment on these as i did not use them.
There are lots of nice walks around.
Two minor things the milk in the room was off. I did not get my alarm call. I did mention this at reception and they could not have been more apologetic. They wrote the problems down which makes you think that they have taken them seriously. This however could not detract from an excellent stay. credit to the staff they deserve it.

Room Tip: If you are upstairs it can be a drag if you have mobility problems
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

i stayed here on 4th October 2013 for a training course followed by archery and falconry. The hotel is beautiful and lovely and clean but the best part of this hotel is the staff!!! From the minute I arrived they just couldnt do enough for you nothing was too much trouble. Archery...... I wasnt too keen on this to start with, something I have never done before but the trainers were great and put me at my ease and made the experience very enjoyable I was disappointed that it came to an end, then we went on to the falconry, the bird were beautiful and the instructor (sorry I dont know his name) but he was so knowledge able and again put the nervous ones amongst us at our ease, it was great. Then back to the hotel for a couple of drinks and a fantastic meal where again the staff couldnt do enough. It isnt cheap but worth every penny, would definitely recommend and hope to go back again sometime soon :-)

Room Tip: for a real treat ask for a superior room with a balcony
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chan1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a very nice 2 day stay the room was nice and clean and large the staff very helpful and friendly we had a go at the archery very good fun and we did owl flying to it was very good and very enjoyable thank you for a very nice weekend away we will be back hopefully soon

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the lake
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A brilliant hotel and I have stayed here on many occasions, the service is excellent and the food is superb. The amenities on offer is a good choice of pursuits including shooting, fishing and of course the Land Rover experience, well worth a visit especially if you intend a walking/cycling holiday break, give it a try.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnboyM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very nice hotel! Briliant service, and great eggs benedict for breakfast. Rooms are big and luxurious. Hotel is clean. The restaurant is excellent and the surrounding is very nice.
No complaints on this stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fransdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston Cold
11.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,186 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
821 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
604 reviews
6.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa

Address: A65, Coniston Cold BD23 4EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coniston Cold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Price Range: $163 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 1400 acre estate, this 4 star hotel overlooks its own stunning lake, offers excellent conference and meeting facilities as well as offering a wide range of activities including shooting, off-road driving, archery, falconry and fishing. An independent hotel owned by the Bannister family who pride themselves on the friendly and welcoming team across the hotel and the estate. Guests are at the centre of all the major developments decisions made at the hotel. The hotel hosts many weddings and specialises in both leisure breaks as well as corporate packages. A dedicated conference and events team will work with event organisers to help you combine enjoyable on-site activities such as team building. The hotel works with many of the north of England's leading companies and will prepare a proposal or quotation at any time. If it is a reward or recognition event you are planning then we have plenty of ideas to theme a room or dinner to best set the scene. The Coniston also hosts many other events, large and small from weddings, family celebrations to charity days. The hotel has 71 bedrooms and has the very popular Huntsman's lodge with its panoramic views over the lake and beyond. This restaurant serves food all day from morning coffee, traditional lunch, afternoon tea to dinner in the evening. Free WiFi throughout, makes it an ideal meeting place on the A65 between Skipton and Settle. Shooting at The Coniston Hotel; The clay pigeon shooting ground is a CPSA Premier status and is one of the best in Europe. Absolute beginners to seasoned shooters can have a day to remember. 4x4 Experience at The Coniston Hotel; Guests can get to grips with one of the latest specification brand new fleet of Land Rover Defenders, Izuzu Dmax and the L200 along with our range of RTV's for the junior drive experiences whilst tackling some of the most challenging terrain. The Coniston Hotel also offer the Falconry centre, fantastic fishing on the lake or the river Aire along with walking and cycling trials for guests to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coniston Hotel Skipton
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa Coniston Cold, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing