We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent short break - a return visit in the near future” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent short break - a return visit in the near future”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Booked via external booking site, read reviews, and booked two nights with breakfast. Arrived early evening and we had booked 2nd night evening meal, after telephone confirmation by hotel. Excellent friendly welcome, offers of assistance, food / meal, and found a very clean well furnished room, lovely view of lake and grounds. Paper arrived early next morning, good hot shower. Down for breakfast, again very friendly welcome, coffee, tea, toast arrived, and a full Yorksire breakfast arrived, hot, good quality and portions, set up for days walking. The reception gave us a copy of the walks on the estate, and made us aware of other activities available. After a good days walk, and a visit to nearby Skipton, & Settle, arrived back, greeted by reception, and a cracking pot of tea for two in the lodge area. Refreshed we went on the Lakeland walk, well signed, and beautiful. Evening meal was excellent, there was a coach party staying, but that did not affect our meal, we enjoyed a 3 course meal, from the signature menu, and some wine, followed by coffee in the bar area. Never slept better, and having endured another excellent breakfast, we reluctantly had to leave. Will certainly visit again, all staff were polite, attentive, and very friendly. Even the cleaners were friendly. Excellent value for money, and probably the best hotel stay we have had in a long time. Good location, quiet. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Branston9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,285
    303
    88
    26
    15
See reviews for
315
914
24
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Can not fault this hotel. The service, food, and location are second to none. We've just spent two nights there celebrating our wedding and can't wait for our first anniversary to book in again.
Wondering why it always seems that the 'posh' places seem to have staff for whom nothing is too much trouble while more mediocre places think they're doing you a favour just doing their job.
A very special place indeed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayesha666
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just had two night at this Hotel, its a nice Hotel with clean rooms and nice interior. One morning I had a beetle crawl over me in bed ,I did report it but I was told its not the normal and never actually had an apology. The second nights sleep was marred by noisy Wedding guests, other people complained but it went on until the early hours.
The food in the lounge was nice although £12.99 for fish and chips was a little pricey I did enjoy it. The Hotel is in stunning grounds and an early morning walk around the lake is recommended, The breakfast roof is well presented as is the full English , The Hotel is not as old as its advertised but its very clean. Its perfectly located for walks and excursions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ando7961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

From the moment I booked I knew we were going to enjoy our stay - friendly and efficient service right from the initial phone enquiry. I was staying with an extended family group and each and every one of us enjoyed our stay tremendously. The hotel setting is beautiful, the view from the terrace down to the lake and beyond is spectacular. The rooms we stayed in were clean and comfortable, all the usual facilities were present and correct... What really stays with me after our stay was the quality (and quantity!) of the food, and the staff - from the cleaners right up to the owner himself everyone was the epitome of friendliness and professionalism. I'm sure we will be returning to this lovely place and would recommend unreservedly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keffers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Having a couple of days in North Yorkshire we had no accommodation booked. We came across the hotel via a web search. We rang and they had one room available which could accommodate our family of 2 plus an 11 year old. We arrived and were immediately impressed by the setting and the fantastic views. We were allocated room 54 which was not one of the newest rooms and did not really match those rooms on the web page, but was quite large, well furnished, very clean and had all the facilities you needed. It overlooked the front car park but there was noise at all at night. We ate in the hunstmans lodge restaurant and have to say that the setting, the staff and the food exceeded any expectations. Staff were knowledgable about the food and the quality was really first class. I opted for the beef and ale casserole served with fresh vegetables cooked to perfection. A really good nights sleep followed with no noise whatsoever. A hearty Yorkshire breakfast was had the the following morning. Before we checked out we took a brief look at the grounds and views.....truly exceptional. We will definitely return for a longer visit and would highly recommend. The newer rooms loom absolutely fantastic with balconies overlooking those views.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PandDJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were staying at peel Hellifield Castle and had booked to do the activities during our stay. All we can say is that we had the most amazing time and Nigel was a fantastic instructor, was patient with us and also was a good laugh. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to try something new and if we lived nearer, would be doing again as I especially loved the shooting it was ace!

Did not use the hotel just the activity centre but it was lovely, thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Family trip of 6 of us aged 7 to 88 was huge success. The hotel treated each of us with consideration and care. The children were welcomed and, with the space and beautiful grounds, were free to run wild whilst we had evening drinks overlooking the lake. Children's portions were offered so they had the same choice and standard of delicious food as us. Breakfast choice best had for a long time. Suppers great- sauces very more-ish and a Summer pud that is talked about. Disabled granny was treated with warmth and respect: they spoke us much to her as the rest of us (you have no idea how unusual that is) and staff would pick up details like the chair being too low for her, and swop it around without us mentioning. The pleasure was in the detail - wellies to borrow, conversation from reception, owner welcoming us to supper in the evening, kind looks even if kids got a bit springy.

The rooms were clean and enormous bed. bathrooms a bit tired, but treated so well that didn't seem relevant.

We felt welcome. We didn't want to go.

Room Tip: Hotel surrounded by beauty on all sides but some even numbered rooms overlook car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston Cold
11.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
24.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
11.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa

Property: The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Address: A65, Coniston Cold BD23 4EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coniston Cold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 1400 acre estate, this 4 star hotel overlooks its own stunning lake, offers excellent conference and meeting facilities as well as offering a wide range of activities including shooting, Land Rover off-road driving, archery, falconry and fishing. An independent hotel owned by the Bannister family who pride themselves on the friendly and welcoming team across the hotel and the estate. Guests are at the centre of all the major developments decisions made at the hotel. The hotel hosts many weddings and specialises in both leisure breaks as well as corporate packages. A dedicated conference and events manager will work with event organisers to help you combine enjoyable on-site activities such as team building. The hotel works with many of the north of England's leading companies and will prepare a proposal or quotation at any time. If it is a reward or recognition event you are planning then we have plenty of ideas to theme a room or dinner to best set the scene. The Coniston also hosts many other events, large and small from weddings, family celebrations to charity days. The hotel has 71 bedrooms and has the very popular Huntsman's lodge with its panoramic views over the lake and beyond. This restaurant serves food all day from morning coffee, traditional lunch, afternoon tea to dinner in the evening. Free WiFi throughout, makes it an ideal meeting place on the A65 between Skipton and Settle. Shooting at The Coniston Hotel -The clay pigeon shooting ground is a CPSA Premier status and is one of the best in Europe. Absolute beginners to seasoned shooters can have a day to remember. The Land Rover Experience offers a truly exhilarating experience; guests can get to grips with one of the latest specification brand new fleet and tackle some of the most challenging terrain. We also have the Falconry centre and fantastic fishing on the lake or the river Aire. It also has walking and cycling trials for guests to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coniston Hotel Skipton
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa Coniston Cold, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing