We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick Visit - Well Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quick Visit - Well Happy”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stopped for two nights at a great rate via Booking,com. Staff were very friendly and helped find a secure location for the bikes, Room was spotless and view over lakes.grounds splendid. Only had breakfast as out and about but it was lovely. Great location from which to explore the Dales

Room Tip: Odd numbers upstairs 31 and above from memory face towards the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgc837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,318
    315
    89
    28
    14
See reviews for
329
933
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We celebrated our wedding at The Coniston Hotel back in June and really can't recommend the hotel highly enough.
We looked at a number of venues for our wedding, deciding The Coniston Hotel was for us as soon as we saw the view out the back. Since we booked the venue it has undergone a refurbishment and now has the wonderful Huntsman's Lodge (a spa & swimming pool being planned in the next couple of years). The hotel is spotless, rooms spacious with the most comfortable beds and fantastic views. From the minute we walked into the hotel what seems like years ago nothing has been too much for the staff. Everyone has put themselves out and done everything possible to make our special day perfect. Throughout the whole experience the hotel's wedding co-ordinators (Claire & Sarah) have been amazing, advising and guiding where needed, with Sarah being available throughout the Big Day and keeping everything on track (we would have been lost without her).
Mrs B was kind enough to let us use the Hall for our drinks reception and was even on hand to welcome guests to her home and mingled throughout the reception, helping to keep guests entertained and drinks filled. Many guests have commented on how welcome she made them feel in her home.
The food was delicious. Having an intimate family wedding we were lucky enough to provide guests with a choice of menu and can highly recommend the Slow Cooked Lamb & Roast Sirloin of Beef which we had ourselves. The Yorkshire Breakfast is also not to be missed!
We have already booked our anniversary weekend next year and plan to make the visit annually.
THANK YOU soo much for everything you did to help make our wedding the most amazing and memorable day of our lives.

Room Tip: Definitely worth requesting a lakeview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKellyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Wonderful location which the hotel makes the very best of. I imagine what ever time of year you visit the views will be breathtaking. Every member of staff (apart from 2 male waiters in restaurant overlooking terrace) were professional , helpful, courteous and friendly. The bed was one of the best I have ever slept in. The room and hotel is absolutely spotless and very comfortable. Unfortunately if we could have eaten elsewhere we would have. Undercooked or over cooked, greasy or dry the kitchen could not get it right. Very unpleasant food. Breakfast was the best meal but even then the eggs were not that good.
The two dishevelled male waiters were obviously recruited from macdonalds or Frankie and bennies. Food served and asked 'are you set' as if we were in a fast food race. They had missed the training the rest of the staff had received and were unsmilingly hurried and not very smart.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glencora65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write a review following your experience.

I was pleased to read that you felt the Hotel was in a wonderful location and can assure you that it has an impressive view whatever the weather!! It was pleasing to read that Breakfast was the best meal during your stay. It was lovely that you felt the majority of our staff were very polite and couldn’t do enough for you.

I was surprised/sorry to read your review suggesting that the food/service did not meet your expectation and I can assure you that this is not a description of our staff and what we do. Our team are passionate about customer service and constantly praised on exceeding our customers’ expectations and can only apologise and if only you had mentioned these issues whilst you were staying with us and we would have rectified them immediately.
Should you wish to return please contact me directly so I can personally oversee your reservation and reassure you that your unfortunate experience was a one off.

Once again thank you for your review.

Kindest regards

Louise Bolton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just returned from a great two night stay at Coniston Hotel. I booked it as a birthday surprise for my husband. I got a special deal through booking.com so it was great value. the views are fantastic and the lakeside walk is lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in both The Huntsman and Macleods and had good food in each. Would definitely return - it was such a relaxing couple of days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sooty58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We are delighted you had a relaxing couple of days with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Louise Bolton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owslebury, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Staff here seem so proud to be working at this hotel and interested in giving fantastic service. They make this a great place to stay. The rooms are lovely, spacious, well designed, with lovely views over the lake and country estate. There is lots to do (although we didn't use any of the activities). It's a great base for touring, walking, cycling. And we ate here the first night and decided to come back to the restaurant for the second night and then arranged to stay for a third night as we were enjoying it so much. Lovely to watch the wedding guests coming and going and having a great time, even though we weren't part of it. All in all - brilliant.
(I think I might ask if I can hold my 60th birthday ceilidh here).

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a view over the lake. And stay here for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarloGilmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We love this hotel having stayed here before. We availed of the offer for kids to go free and have to admit the room was a good size as a family room (we could have had a bigger room for an extra £40 but the standard was very spacious for a family room so this wasn't needed). However there was a wedding on the day and this meant that we had people going to bed at all hours which kept waking up the kids!! We woke up to find wedding cake outside our bedroom door!!!

I think that this hotel is amazing and my husband and I treat ourselves to come up, have lunch and do the clay pigeon shooting. It is a bit pricier than most for the food, but the quality is good and it's just great to relax in resplendent surroundings. However I wouldn't bring the children back to stay as we weren't told that a wedding was taking place when we booked and the other residents were really noisy, so not conducive to a good nights sleep for them or us.

I duly completed the feedback form and handed it into reception expecting the staff member to read my comments about the noise etc but she put it aside and didn't respond to it. When I told her the issues, she said that was unfortunate, and that was it.

So again, we will visit to shoot here and maybe stay again but won't bring the kids again. It may be gorgeous but my kids need a good nights sleep and they may not get it on a night here.

Room Tip: The family room that we had was Cygnet which is a really good size but seems to be a route for all c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connorb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your views with Trip Advisor. Delighted that you think our Hotel and food is amazing.

I am however sorry that you were disturbed by noise during the night. The noise was certainly made by wedding guests who were staying in rooms close to yours. We have a dedicated night team that are always on hand to deal with any problems and had they known you were being disturbed they would have dealt with this immediately with the guests making the noise. Please accept my sincere apologies for the delayed response in replying to your comment card and only wish Reception had brought this to my attention when you checked out.

To redeem ourselves in your estimation please contact me directly to arrange your next stay so that I can personally oversee your reservation and upgrade you to one of our luxury rooms.

Thank you once again and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards

Louise Bolton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed for a few nights in July. The walk through the woods and around the lake was magical. The view from the terrace sipping a glass of bubbly was delightful. Wi-fi worked well. The owner approached us himself and asked if we were enjoying our stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long walk from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston Cold
11.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
24.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa

Property: The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Address: A65, Coniston Cold BD23 4EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coniston Cold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 1400 acre estate, this 4 star hotel overlooks its own stunning lake, offers excellent conference and meeting facilities as well as offering a wide range of activities including shooting, Land Rover off-road driving, archery, falconry and fishing. An independent hotel owned by the Bannister family who pride themselves on the friendly and welcoming team across the hotel and the estate. Guests are at the centre of all the major developments decisions made at the hotel. The hotel hosts many weddings and specialises in both leisure breaks as well as corporate packages. A dedicated conference and events manager will work with event organisers to help you combine enjoyable on-site activities such as team building. The hotel works with many of the north of England's leading companies and will prepare a proposal or quotation at any time. If it is a reward or recognition event you are planning then we have plenty of ideas to theme a room or dinner to best set the scene. The Coniston also hosts many other events, large and small from weddings, family celebrations to charity days. The hotel has 71 bedrooms and has the very popular Huntsman's lodge with its panoramic views over the lake and beyond. This restaurant serves food all day from morning coffee, traditional lunch, afternoon tea to dinner in the evening. Free WiFi throughout, makes it an ideal meeting place on the A65 between Skipton and Settle. Shooting at The Coniston Hotel -The clay pigeon shooting ground is a CPSA Premier status and is one of the best in Europe. Absolute beginners to seasoned shooters can have a day to remember. The Land Rover Experience offers a truly exhilarating experience; guests can get to grips with one of the latest specification brand new fleet and tackle some of the most challenging terrain. We also have the Falconry centre and fantastic fishing on the lake or the river Aire. It also has walking and cycling trials for guests to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coniston Hotel Skipton
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa Coniston Cold, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing