We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Glorious Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“A Glorious Escape”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My Wife and I needed a break after 2 years without time away due to commitments. We booked a luxury double for 2 nights on a dinner bed and breakfast tariff. Staff were superb, any request was met with a "yes of course" response. I can only mention the names I learned (Hannah, Jenny and Paul) but all staff were polite, attentive and welcoming. The choice and quality of food from the inclusive signature menu was outstanding, although courses from the A la Carte menu were available at a supplement allowing us to mix and match the two menus for a great dining experience. We were delighted with the results when on the second night we asked the restaurant manager to choose us a glass of wine to suit the food we had ordered (the 2006 chateau briand is sublime).

We booked a full day of falconry, and like the other reviewers we were more than impressed with Mark (Head Falconer), we would do his knowledge a disservice if we described it as encyclopaedic as it reaches far beyond the simple mechanics of fact recall. The information he shared with us over the day was relevant, interesting and extremely engaging giving a true insight to the fantastic creatures he quite obviously has a lifelong passion and respect for. We would highly recommend a day with Mark, it is fascinating!

It was archery on Sunday (thank you Malcolm) for an hour which was about right for first time Robin Hoods, as fatigue sets in. I don't think William Tell has much to worry about, but the experience was one we will not forget.

All in all a highly enjoyable trip made better by the wonderful staff we met. We cannot wait to return for a hunting day with the birds of prey.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms all have epic views over the lake and Dales
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,380
    327
    93
    32
    15
See reviews for
346
980
26
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
nelson
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Enjoyed the food despite the hot main being brought out minus the chips which I had to wait for. Almost eaten the main before the chips arrived "a kitchen error". Good presentation and a lovely room with marvellous views. The bill had errors on - items we had not ordered were on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buspassnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us as The Coniston Hotel and agree with you that Huntsman’s is a lovely room with marvellous views. I have taken on board all the points mentioned and I can assure you that we will continue to train our staff and maintain the high standards that we try so hard to achieve. Please be assured of my attention in these matters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

So my wife bought me a full day falconry experience for my birthday. On arriving at the hotel I was greeted by warm receptionists who showed me to a table where I had a really good bacon barm. We then set off to the falconry centre at about 10 where we were greeted by Mark, the centre manager. We spent the (very wet) morning learning about all the birds and in between showers flew some. The birds were so well trained and it was lovely to see them doing what comes naturally to them. I would also like to add how knowledgeable your falconers were. Every question I had was answered in such an engaging and enthusiastic way. What I really needed after a wet morning was a warm lunch, which, hit the spot perfectly.
In the afternoon we got to fly the awesome golden eagle, Genges. I have to say I have told all my freinds to go to the falconry centre and give it a try and will 100% be back to learn some more!!
Thanks Mark, Matt and all the hotel staff for one of the best days ever !
See you soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Booked a superior double room & asked for a quiet room & got exactly what we requested. Lovely hotel, lovely food in the bar and good service even though the hotel was busy with a large wedding taking place.

Would highly recommend even stopping off enroute to Lakes to eat here.

Room Tip: New rooms are good if you like quiet location away from bar & function areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Excellent hotel and well managed-extremely efficient. First rate and very kind caring staff. The restaurant and menu were of the highest order and service always polite and considerate.

Our room was spacious, light and extremely comfortable-we lacked for nothing.. Impeccably clean and thoroughly well serviced.
Hotel situated in most beautiful setting overlooking glorious views of Yorks Dales surrounded by acres of former farmland impressively landscaped and with its own most attractive lake. Everything at this hotel combined to ensure a most enjoyable and memorable stat, albeit too short!

Room Tip: Choose room if possible overlooking lake and views of Dales
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We are fairly local (Skipton) but used The Coniston Hotel for our daughters wedding venue.
Could not fault a thing about the venue,only my headache the next morning.The attention to detail from day one in booking the wedding had been first class.My daughter was really very happy with how the rooms where set up, especially for the wedding meal.I would recommend The Coniston Hotel to anyone.
Thank you Claire for everything on the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t11gey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We took our two children (girl 13,boy 6) on may 26th 2013 ,staying in a lovely big family room with a balcony and a view to die for, we stayed in room 56,
room clean as a whistle with a bathroom as good as any hotel I've stayed at .
Staff are fantastic ,they can't do enough for you.
We had lunch at the hotel. We only ordered omelettes and soups but was 1st class .
Booked the kids to do archery which they loved and was well worth the money.
Beautiful scenery and wild life.
Walks round the estate breath taking !
I took my own shotgun to the shooting centre ,can't recommend it highly enough. superb facilities ,both centre and the hotel have cabinets to store your gun.
Went to into dales so didn't have evening meal but if its half as good as breakfasts you'll be happy. Breakfasts are superb ,so much to offer (even for fussy 6 year olds).
I recommend the smoked haddock and poached eggs ,the best I've ever had!
Whole family went to the falconry centre.
Matt met us there( still on the estate) , what he doesn't know about birds of prey ain't worth knowing ! Birds are wonderful ,from barn owls to peregrine falcons , Harris hawks to golden eagles . Fantastic!!
Honestly can't say one bad word about any of it ,we will be back . Thanks Louise to you and all your staff .


  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bjf464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston Cold
11.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,170 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
591 reviews
6.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
339 reviews
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa

Property: The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Address: A65, Coniston Cold BD23 4EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coniston Cold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 1400 acre estate, this 4 star hotel overlooks its own stunning lake, offers excellent conference and meeting facilities as well as offering a wide range of activities including shooting, off-road driving, archery, falconry and fishing. An independent hotel owned by the Bannister family who pride themselves on the friendly and welcoming team across the hotel and the estate. Guests are at the centre of all the major developments decisions made at the hotel. The hotel hosts many weddings and specialises in both leisure breaks as well as corporate packages. A dedicated conference and events team will work with event organisers to help you combine enjoyable on-site activities such as team building. The hotel works with many of the north of England's leading companies and will prepare a proposal or quotation at any time. If it is a reward or recognition event you are planning then we have plenty of ideas to theme a room or dinner to best set the scene. The Coniston also hosts many other events, large and small from weddings, family celebrations to charity days. The hotel has 71 bedrooms and has the very popular Huntsman's lodge with its panoramic views over the lake and beyond. This restaurant serves food all day from morning coffee, traditional lunch, afternoon tea to dinner in the evening. Free WiFi throughout, makes it an ideal meeting place on the A65 between Skipton and Settle. Shooting at The Coniston Hotel; The clay pigeon shooting ground is a CPSA Premier status and is one of the best in Europe. Absolute beginners to seasoned shooters can have a day to remember. 4x4 Experience at The Coniston Hotel; Guests can get to grips with one of the latest specification brand new fleet of Land Rover Defenders, Izuzu Dmax and the L200 along with our range of RTV's for the junior drive experiences whilst tackling some of the most challenging terrain. The Coniston Hotel also offer the Falconry centre, fantastic fishing on the lake or the river Aire along with walking and cycling trials for guests to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coniston Hotel Skipton
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa Coniston Cold, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing