We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A wonderfull hotel, & dog friendly. We went for Sunday lunch & stayed overnight.
The roast beef was first class, the service was faultless.
After lunch we took our dog for ' walkies ' in the lovely grounds.
This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in, everyone was so friendly & helpfull.
We will definately go back again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,879)
There are newer reviews for The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,629 - 1,635 of 1,880 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed for two nights for a wedding. Beautiful room (61), terrific staff who couldn't do enough for all the guests, a great 'can do' attitude. The food at the wedding was exemplary and our evening meal and breakfasts were superb with a brilliant choice. I have used this hotel for business meetings in one of their many conference rooms so it was a joy to return and see the hotel has expanded to become even better than before. In the evening I was fortunate to meet the owner, Tom, who gave me some interesting insights into why the hotel is doing so well; good training, a family spirit, locally sourced food and staff. A wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is well worth a visit and highly recommended.
The furnishings and finishes to the hotel are of a high standard and in my opinion befitting a 5 star accommodation. Warm open roaring log fires are welcoming, as are the comfy deep seats. The food was well cooked, tasty and extremely well presented, from the breakfasts, evening meals and sandwiches. Service was excellent with very friendly staff.
The superior room was just that, large comfy bed with a super duvet, large shower and bathroom, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, trouser press, iron and ironing board. The heating of the room could be adjusted according to your needs, so you will never be cold.
There is complimentary free WiFi available throughout the hotel, another additional bonus. The views and walks around the estate are a pleasure to behold.
All in all, there was everything at your finger tips and more. I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Governance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and one so complimentary! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Would definitely stay at this hotel the views are lovely. The food is excellent and I was very well looked after by the staff. The activities on offer are good too. I have also been to a wedding here which was also excellent. I had a taster of land rover experience, clay pigeon shooting, archery and feeding an eagle at their falconry centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EthelLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Wow what can I say, you have said it all! So pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed for two nights 13th to 15th March in a superior room on b&b basis, beautiful room and wonderful bathroom. volume capped on tv, great idea but maybe set a little too low. Huntsman lodge, great food and drink, great service and friendly staff and wonderful views of the lake. Macleods bar and restaurant, lovely log fire, deep comfy seats and again great service, the barmen keep a great pint of real ale. Good menu in the restaurant, the fish was cooked to perfection and the cheeseboard was fantastic and yet again 1st class service.This hotel offers something for everybody from fishing to falconry and the lovely walks round the estate. The owners of this estate have created a fantastic place, to which people of all ages can relax or participate in a variety of activities and the owners ( although i didn`t know who they were at the time ) took the time to say ask how you were or gave you a wave as you walked round the estate. All in all we had a fantastic two days and we will be back ( especially when the fishing season opens )

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sidingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

What a great review - THANK YOU from us all at The Coniston Hotel, waves and all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

What can I say. Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. Has recently gone through a great refurb with the new Huntsman lodge offering breathtaking views of the countryside and lake. Sadly they seem to have forgotten Winston's Barn - apparently this was the site of the tearoom / farm shop when the Coniston originally started out and doesn't look like its been decorated since - looks very tired and dated, all the more noticable in stark contrast to the remainder of the hotel.

Anyway, enough of the negative. Lovely bedroom and the food has certainly improved with the Huntsman's offering one of the best bacon butties in Yorkshire (all the more special as we relaxed overlooking the lake). Will definitely stay again and may consider for our wedding in the future but please sort out the tired Winston's as a finishing touch to this beautiful refurb. Oh, and can't wait for the rumoured spa .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thrilled to read you enjoyed your recent stay including the food and the views offered by the Huntsman's Lodge. We are committed to the continual improvement of the hotel and your comments have been noted with regards to Winston's, which is far from forgotten! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, potentially for your own special day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We attended a family wedding and stayed over on the night of the wedding to avoid having to drive home. The hotel is beautiful and situated in a stunning setting in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. The wedding was perfect, with professional yet warm and friendly staff to hand and the meal was delicious and of a very high standard. Our family room was large with a patio and views across rolling countryside and a lake. We had room for two child beds as well as a large double bed and the room was spotless with all the amenities a family needs, plus a very large bathroom with separate shower and bath. The breakfast the next morning was all cooked to order and came quickly and there were lots of options to suit all tastes. Finally the price included breakfast and was excellent value for a family of four. Every single member of staff, from the ladies who brought the extra bed to the room, to the reception staff, right up to the owner who talked to us personally in the evening, was professional, warm and friendly and couldn't do enough to take care of us. We would highly recommend the hotel for a wedding, meal or stay.

Room Tip: The ground floor family rooms have fridges and large bathrooms and patios overlooking the beautiful...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBolton, General Manager at The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

THANK YOU so much for your fantastic review, we love it when our guests take the time to tell
us how much they enjoyed their stay! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston Cold
11.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,186 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
821 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
604 reviews
6.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa

Address: A65, Coniston Cold BD23 4EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coniston Cold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Price Range: $163 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 1400 acre estate, this 4 star hotel overlooks its own stunning lake, offers excellent conference and meeting facilities as well as offering a wide range of activities including shooting, off-road driving, archery, falconry and fishing. An independent hotel owned by the Bannister family who pride themselves on the friendly and welcoming team across the hotel and the estate. Guests are at the centre of all the major developments decisions made at the hotel. The hotel hosts many weddings and specialises in both leisure breaks as well as corporate packages. A dedicated conference and events team will work with event organisers to help you combine enjoyable on-site activities such as team building. The hotel works with many of the north of England's leading companies and will prepare a proposal or quotation at any time. If it is a reward or recognition event you are planning then we have plenty of ideas to theme a room or dinner to best set the scene. The Coniston also hosts many other events, large and small from weddings, family celebrations to charity days. The hotel has 71 bedrooms and has the very popular Huntsman's lodge with its panoramic views over the lake and beyond. This restaurant serves food all day from morning coffee, traditional lunch, afternoon tea to dinner in the evening. Free WiFi throughout, makes it an ideal meeting place on the A65 between Skipton and Settle. Shooting at The Coniston Hotel; The clay pigeon shooting ground is a CPSA Premier status and is one of the best in Europe. Absolute beginners to seasoned shooters can have a day to remember. 4x4 Experience at The Coniston Hotel; Guests can get to grips with one of the latest specification brand new fleet of Land Rover Defenders, Izuzu Dmax and the L200 along with our range of RTV's for the junior drive experiences whilst tackling some of the most challenging terrain. The Coniston Hotel also offer the Falconry centre, fantastic fishing on the lake or the river Aire along with walking and cycling trials for guests to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coniston Hotel Skipton
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa Coniston Cold, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing