We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming, very nice people and place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for my brothers wedding 11/11/12, on arrival we were greated by a really friendly receptionist, nothing was to much trouble we have 3 children and the staff made us all feel very very welcome, the rooms were immaculate and had all the things like iron, press, coffee n tea facilities and things like that, the grounds are beautiful as is the hotel , their are various activities to do also to keep all entertained, the food was to die for the drinks were reasonably priced and the service was second to none. The owners have really embraced customer service and this is clearly visible through their approach, the hotel is warm and very cosy, me and my wife will for definite come back again maybe to take part in one of the many activities. all in all this is a very very nice place and great value, i can't fault anything, the manager is a true gentlemen nothing is to much trouble he makes you feel very welcome, our children are 1,5 and 7 and were made to feel very welcome and were kept entertained. i would rate this place 10 out of 10 a genuine 10! Thank you for a very enjoyable stay and a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a1sparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,880)
There are newer reviews for The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,675 - 1,681 of 1,880 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

We decided to have Sunday lunch here as my mother in law was doing a Landrover driving experience. It's not a pretty hotel by any means although the restaurant is big with a very high ceiling and roaring open fire. However the really surprising thing was the food and wine - a really good menu, everything beautifully and efficiently served and every dish delicious. And here's the really interesting bit - it was better AND cheaper than Betty's in Harrogate!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonia6691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for a week, and the found the hotel to be pleasant and all the staff very helpful, bar was nice and the food in the restaurant was also good. We came as a large group, and the hotel managed not to put any costs on the wrong credit cards, which is unusual.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rupertg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on a Friday night hoping to have a relaxing night away after working a lot. We arrived around 7 and decided to have a meal, the food was nice however the service was poor. The girl serving us was chewing gum and seamed uninterested and when my soup arrived I had no spoon to eat it with and it took about 5 minutes to get someone's attention to get a spoon. After we were given the desert menu after 45 minutes someone had still not come and taken out order, we had to get up and order in the end, and it wasn't even busy.
We got back to our room about 10 and were lay awake till 11.30 by one room next to us with the tv blaring and the other room talking loudly, the walls are pretty much made of paper!! We rang reception and a nice gentleman helped us move rooms to ensure we had a quieter room however in that room the man next door was snooring like a bear and kept us awake also! Although the staff did what they could its ridiculous that the walls are so thin you can hear even quiet talking word for word. Had an aweful nights sleep and left feeling stressed rather than relaxed. Both rooms also had cobwebs all over the ceilings.
Although in a great location, wouldn't recommend this hotel if you like sleeping!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This family run hotel has all the ingredients to make for an extra special break. Fabulously comfortable, lovely locally sourced food, lots of things to do on the estate. Michael Bannister is a fantastic host who ensures that his guests are happy. The staff are superb and it is obvious that they are very loyal to their employers, they can't do enough for you. We took our dog and so did many other guests, it's no problem. They think of everything, even have a pile of Wellies at the door for guests to use. The room we had was very large, with a patio and doors opening onto the lake and very well appointed. We will return and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra for one of the new rooms facing the lake.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel staff are definitely one of the plus points of this hotel. Attentive, polite, helpful and professional. We stayed for three nights and just loved it. Our room was the most basic one, a classic, but it was comfortable, the bed huge and the shower amazing. Breakfast was one of the best I have eaten in a hotel.I was pleased that the breakfasts were cooked to order and not what is often on offer at hotels - cooked items that are kept warm under hot lamps. The grounds are superb and the hotel even provide wellies for guests to enjoy the woodland walks. The drinks were average for a hotel and the new bar room was perfect for sitting and relaxing in near to the burning fire. Our only complaint was a meal we had in the bar one evening. We discussed the meal with a member of staff who dealt with our comments efficiently and reduced our bill.
We would definitely stay in the delightful hotel again. As we were booking out I heard a member of staff say to two other guests who were checking out, "See you at Christmas." This says it all - guests return once they have discovered this gem of a family run hotel.
Thank you for a perfect few days away.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face the rear and may have a view of the lake whilst even numbered rooms face the...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craftykaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for years and it never lets us down . The staff are lovely and go the extra mile to help . If you can afford to spend a bit extra book a new room as larger . Rooms overlooking the Lake are lovely in the summertime.
Great for anyone who enjoys country sports , not the Hotel for anyone who disapproves of shooting . This is a dog friendly hotel so if you do not like sharing a lounge with our four legged friends do not stay here as there can be lots of dogs. If you love the country , walking and shooting this is an ideal place.
Food is great with choice of bar and restaurant although it does get very busy with non residents and it is advisable to book your table.

Room Tip: New room and overlooking the Lake are the best ones
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyrelady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston Cold
11.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,186 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
821 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
604 reviews
6.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa

Address: A65, Coniston Cold BD23 4EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Coniston Cold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coniston Cold
Price Range: $162 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 1400 acre estate, this 4 star hotel overlooks its own stunning lake, offers excellent conference and meeting facilities as well as offering a wide range of activities including shooting, off-road driving, archery, falconry and fishing. An independent hotel owned by the Bannister family who pride themselves on the friendly and welcoming team across the hotel and the estate. Guests are at the centre of all the major developments decisions made at the hotel. The hotel hosts many weddings and specialises in both leisure breaks as well as corporate packages. A dedicated conference and events team will work with event organisers to help you combine enjoyable on-site activities such as team building. The hotel works with many of the north of England's leading companies and will prepare a proposal or quotation at any time. If it is a reward or recognition event you are planning then we have plenty of ideas to theme a room or dinner to best set the scene. The Coniston also hosts many other events, large and small from weddings, family celebrations to charity days. The hotel has 71 bedrooms and has the very popular Huntsman's lodge with its panoramic views over the lake and beyond. This restaurant serves food all day from morning coffee, traditional lunch, afternoon tea to dinner in the evening. Free WiFi throughout, makes it an ideal meeting place on the A65 between Skipton and Settle. Shooting at The Coniston Hotel; The clay pigeon shooting ground is a CPSA Premier status and is one of the best in Europe. Absolute beginners to seasoned shooters can have a day to remember. 4x4 Experience at The Coniston Hotel; Guests can get to grips with one of the latest specification brand new fleet of Land Rover Defenders, Izuzu Dmax and the L200 along with our range of RTV's for the junior drive experiences whilst tackling some of the most challenging terrain. The Coniston Hotel also offer the Falconry centre, fantastic fishing on the lake or the river Aire along with walking and cycling trials for guests to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coniston Hotel Skipton
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa Coniston Cold, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing