We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Skipton(Skipton)(Great Value!)
$52
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$48
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$123
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Craven Arms(Giggleswick)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,069)
Filter reviews
2,069 results
Traveler rating
1,545
362
108
38
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,545
362
108
38
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclay pigeon shootingluxury roomlake viewland rover experiencefalconry centrefalconry experienceclassic roomwedding guestsyorkshire daleswedding venueafternoon tealog firesteam roomevening mealfantastic hotelrelaxing breakbirthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
1,866 - 1,871 of 2,069 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for a week, and the found the hotel to be pleasant and all the staff very helpful, bar was nice and the food in the restaurant was also good. We came as a large group, and the hotel managed not to put any costs on the wrong credit cards, which is unusual.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rupertg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on a Friday night hoping to have a relaxing night away after working a lot. We arrived around 7 and decided to have a meal, the food was nice however the service was poor. The girl serving us was chewing gum and seamed uninterested and when my soup arrived I had no spoon to eat it with and it took about 5 minutes to get someone's attention to get a spoon. After we were given the desert menu after 45 minutes someone had still not come and taken out order, we had to get up and order in the end, and it wasn't even busy.
We got back to our room about 10 and were lay awake till 11.30 by one room next to us with the tv blaring and the other room talking loudly, the walls are pretty much made of paper!! We rang reception and a nice gentleman helped us move rooms to ensure we had a quieter room however in that room the man next door was snooring like a bear and kept us awake also! Although the staff did what they could its ridiculous that the walls are so thin you can hear even quiet talking word for word. Had an aweful nights sleep and left feeling stressed rather than relaxed. Both rooms also had cobwebs all over the ceilings.
Although in a great location, wouldn't recommend this hotel if you like sleeping!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This family run hotel has all the ingredients to make for an extra special break. Fabulously comfortable, lovely locally sourced food, lots of things to do on the estate. Michael Bannister is a fantastic host who ensures that his guests are happy. The staff are superb and it is obvious that they are very loyal to their employers, they can't do enough for you. We took our dog and so did many other guests, it's no problem. They think of everything, even have a pile of Wellies at the door for guests to use. The room we had was very large, with a patio and doors opening onto the lake and very well appointed. We will return and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra for one of the new rooms facing the lake.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel staff are definitely one of the plus points of this hotel. Attentive, polite, helpful and professional. We stayed for three nights and just loved it. Our room was the most basic one, a classic, but it was comfortable, the bed huge and the shower amazing. Breakfast was one of the best I have eaten in a hotel.I was pleased that the breakfasts were cooked to order and not what is often on offer at hotels - cooked items that are kept warm under hot lamps. The grounds are superb and the hotel even provide wellies for guests to enjoy the woodland walks. The drinks were average for a hotel and the new bar room was perfect for sitting and relaxing in near to the burning fire. Our only complaint was a meal we had in the bar one evening. We discussed the meal with a member of staff who dealt with our comments efficiently and reduced our bill.
We would definitely stay in the delightful hotel again. As we were booking out I heard a member of staff say to two other guests who were checking out, "See you at Christmas." This says it all - guests return once they have discovered this gem of a family run hotel.
Thank you for a perfect few days away.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face the rear and may have a view of the lake whilst even numbered rooms face the front and the car park. Although expensive, the new luxury rooms are just that - luxury.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craftykaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for years and it never lets us down . The staff are lovely and go the extra mile to help . If you can afford to spend a bit extra book a new room as larger . Rooms overlooking the Lake are lovely in the summertime.
Great for anyone who enjoys country sports , not the Hotel for anyone who disapproves of shooting . This is a dog friendly hotel so if you do not like sharing a lounge with our four legged friends do not stay here as there can be lots of dogs. If you love the country , walking and shooting this is an ideal place.
Food is great with choice of bar and restaurant although it does get very busy with non residents and it is advisable to book your table.

Room Tip: New room and overlooking the Lake are the best ones
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyrelady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews