We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings and home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Limes Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Market Rasen
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We love these old homes so this was perfect for us. The bedroom was huge and so comfortable. Kevin was a very attentive and caring host, breakfast great, even kippers were offered! The rabbits and pheasant in the garden were great to watch while eating breakfast. A pity we only stayed one night, would definitely recommend and would return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Limes Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 59 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

The service at this hotel was fantastic. We were welcomed and provided with a whole host of information about the hotel and its surroundings. The room was very clean; however the decor is very dated and in need of some TLC in places. Our first room had all the necessary amenities but surprisingly in this age there was no shower, just a shower head and bath without a bracket for the head making showering a challenge. Our second room, the move was due to adverse weather and a bit of a leak, was similar in decor, minus the shower attachment. On request we were supplied with a push fit rubber shower hose. I must say I haven't seen one like it for many years. Breakfast on both days was excellent, so full marks there. I suspect much of this hotels returning trade is due to the nearby horse and bike racing. This hotel has so much potential set in loverly grounds and the owners try so hard yet. My dilemma is that whilst the service deserves a 5* rating, unfortunately the two rooms we had with their bowed ceilings, interesting choice of decor and lack of showers along with the poor first impression with the forlorn looking sign post with its missing sign on the main road, scores much lower.

Room Tip: If a shower is important, then ask in advance.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DMIYeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our stay was made enjoyable by our obliging hosts. The whole hotel, and particularly the bedrooms were clean and comfortable.

We enjoyed our breakfasts even though they limited the number eating at any one time so that the food could be cooked fresh. We enjoyed watching the rabbits and pheasants as we ate.

The building could do with some attention.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPR-amble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Propreitor has the right balance in being helpful, friendly, attentive, without being overbearing.
The house, which is sort of old fashioned but comfortable and roomy Edwadian type establishment, is set back off the main road but it only takes 5 minutes to walk into town.
Breakfast was delightful, and was able to watch the pheasants and rabbits in the garden from the bay window.
There are some parts which possibly require updating but this does not detract from the charm and character.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estragon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Warm and friendly hospitality, very comfortable room and a great breakfast. What more could you want. Hotel is located in lovely gardens just on the fringe of the town,
ideally located for visiting Lincoln and surrounding countryside

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlechef2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Nice old house well back off the main road so it is quiet, 5 mins walk from the centre of town. The owner was very friendly without being overbearing.

The full English breakfast I had was very nice and there was a choice of other items such as kippers if this is not to your taste. They only serve breakfast so if you want dinner you will have to take a short stroll into town.

I only paid £40 for a single room including breakfast which I think is really good value. There is also free WIFI.

For this price do not expect the Ritz, the decor is a little dated, but the my room was scrupulously clean and well presented.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karlmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

the owner was charming and we were welcomed with lots of info on the surrounding area - the room was clean & comfortable but the decor was a little dated - although some may say its becoming with a country house. my only critisism was with the shower as it was hand held and i would prefer a more modern shower.
the breakfast was lovely & cooked to order.
market rasen is a lovely place & i would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleyloolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Rasen
0.3 mi away
Advocate Arms Hotel
Advocate Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Market Rasen
273 reviews
12.1 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
17.1 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
13.5 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
14.3 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limes Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limes Country House Hotel

Address: A 631 Gainsborough Road, Market Rasen LN8 3JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Market Rasen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Market Rasen
Price Range: $70 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Limes Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limes Country House Hotel Market Rasen, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing