We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful get-together”

Review of The Gables Retreat

The Gables Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo The master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
116 reviews
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo
The master bedroom
The master en suite
The sitting room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 en suite
Bathroom shared by bedrooms 2 & 3
Ground floor bedroom
Ground floor en suite shower room
TV/Play room
The under cover gazebo
The toy barn
Kitchen
The extensive grounds
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Market Rasen, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carrowdal...
Sussex UK
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Wonderful get-together”
Reviewed October 16, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Our annual reunion of old friends found us at The Gables. Beautiful spacious house in a peaceful rural location. Plenty of space to socialise, cook and relax with two sitting rooms, open kitchen/diner and practical utility room. Bedrooms and bathrooms spotless and comfortable. Huge grounds with ample parking, play areas, sitting areas and hot tub. The owners were friendly and helpful from initial booking to arrival information. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanEB26
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely house for a family weekend get-together”
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Beautifully furnished house, with loads of space, both inside and outdoor. The kitchen was excellently equipped, and there was a large utility room, and space to leave muddy boots by the back door. Two sitting rooms, so one could find peace and quiet, if needed! Spacious bedrooms, and good en-suite facilities. We were a party of seven adults and two children; and the kids were particularly impressed by the number of bathrooms! Hugely impressed also by the hot tub, which we all enjoyed. Well stocked with both indoor and outdoor toys and games, and a nice climbing frame and swing area.
The owners were very helpful at all stages, from initial enquires onwards. The welcome pack contained many local goodies, and was a thoughtful touch. Their directions to the property were invaluable, particularly if arriving in the dark, as the house is quite remote. A great, peaceful location, where we enjoyed a 'special birthday' get together. With family coming from both Norfolk and Yorkshire it was an ideal choice.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2017
Dear Sue, thank you very much for posting a review of your stay at The Gables Retreat. We're so pleased the property worked well for your party and you all had plenty of space to relax, and that the children enjoyed the indoor and outdoor toys. We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future. With our best wishes, Diane & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
785adams
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent family holiday”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at the Gables this summer - a party of 6 adults with 5 children aged 6 months-4 years - and had were hugely impressed with the house. Great value for such a lovely house - immaculate inside with lovely furnishings and all the things you'd need in a holiday house (inc children's toys and books) and the hot tub was a great added bonus. The owners were very helpful and just next door if we needed anything. The garden is lovely and has so much space for children to play in. Definitely worth recommending!

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2017
Dear Adam, thank you very much for taking time to post a review of your recent stay at The Gables Retreat. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you all enjoyed the large gardens and outdoor play equipment. The Gables Retreat does work well for young children with such a large outdoor space keep them busy. We hope to welcome you all back again in the future. Best wishes, Diane & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wowla
Warrington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing house, it has everything you need. We stayed for a week with the whole family aged 8-86. The grounds kept the children entertained from the play area, huge grass area for football to the hot tub! The welcome box was a lovely touch and the cake was delicious! Plenty of board games and a wii kept the kids going when it rained! Sitting in the hot tub watching the horse and its foal was a highlight too.
We had a few days out locally too, RAND farm, (20 mins) high ropes adventure ( 20 mins) and Mablethorpe coast. (1 hour) Would definitely recommend this house.
Thank you Diane and Bill

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2017
Thank you very much Sue for posting your review of your stay at The Gables Retreat. We are so pleased you enjoyed all the amenities at the property and also some of the many local attractions. We very much hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future. Best wishes, Dine & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggieboo...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So perfect in every way!”
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I cannot emphasise enough how lovely this house was. We stayed here with our children and 5 young grandchildren and had such a wonderful time. We have never stayed anywhere where we have been so well catered for in all aspects. The house itself was beautiful,spotless and very well equipped. There were even outside toys for the children to play with and a lovely playroom with TV so many toys and DVDs. Fortunately the weather was good to us so we spent all our time outside, going for walks down to the river, the children played in the play area on slides and swings and the adults just chilled in the hot tub. The location was very peaceful, well until our grandchilden arrived! Diane the owner was extremely welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan G
1 review
“Fantastic country home and base for exploring Lincoln and York”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The Gables is a beautifully refurbished country home in a farm setting in the East Midlands. Bucolic (a paddock in the rear contains a horse and her foal along with several friendly sheep). The interior is roomy with a modern kitchen and luxurious baths both up and down. The proprietor, Ms Marshall lives on an adjacent property and is friendly and helpful. A hot tub completes the picture. About a half hour from Lincoln and a little longer to York it is a perfect place to base a vacation for a family or group of friends. Pubs are close by. Could not recommend more highly!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danijack2...
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Gem of a house in pastoral Midlands”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were in Lincolnshire for a family wedding and had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful house in the country for a week. The house easily accommodated the 11 of us in style and Diane and Bill were fantastic and patient hosts. The house is situated in a picturesque part of the countryside and is close to the market town of Market Rasen for shopping and amenities. All of us remarked on how nice it was to be able to relax, eat, and socialize with each other in such a great location. Diane was incredibly helpful and responsive throughout the stay - from ensuring the wifi worked, to showing how the jacuzzi worked, and even helping with the laundry! When you arrive, the house is stocked with food - a yummy chocolate cake to the BEST eggs we have ever tasted. At the end of the trip I didn't want to leave! We traveled from the US and would definitely stay again. This is beautiful gem of a place and hosts to match.

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing