We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A house you never want to leave.”

Review of The Gables Retreat

The Gables Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo The master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo
The master bedroom
The master en suite
The sitting room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 en suite
Bathroom shared by bedrooms 2 & 3
Ground floor bedroom
Ground floor en suite shower room
TV/Play room
The under cover gazebo
The toy barn
Kitchen
The extensive grounds
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Market Rasen, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharonluc...
1 review
“A house you never want to leave.”
Reviewed November 30, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Oh my goodness, there are not enough words to describe how wonderful this house is. Celebrated my 40th birthday with my best friends and we had an amazing time.
The owner Diane is wonderful and so friendly. On arriving at the house i had goosebumps with how beautiful the house looked but when we walked through the door our jaws dropped. It is amazing. Every room is superb. Each room has its own style and not one dissapointed. We will definately return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legge67
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house”
Reviewed November 23, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed for a week at half term with the extended family to celebrate grandma's 70th birthday. What an amazing house ! Beautifully decorated and furnished, lovely garden and hot tub, excellent welcome hamper and very friendly host. What more can I say. We will definitely be returning. Highly recommend it.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosiemidd...
South Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTE LUXURY”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

a group of 11 girlfriends stayed in this beautiful house for a long weekend. The hamper left for us was amazing in itself, let alone the rest of the facilities provided for our comfort. The rooms were gorgeous and the views from the bedrooms including the sunset on Sunday night well they are just unforgettable. We loved the hot tub and made good use of it, the horses and sheep in "our garden" were a joy. Nothing I can say in this review can do full justice to how wonderful The Gables Retreat actually is, you have to visit it to believe it. I and all my friends who shared the time there with me would definitely recommend you book a stay here, you will not be disappointed I can assure you. Thank you Diane and your family for making us so welcome and for all your kindness

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the comfort of the place - just everything
Liked least: nothing at all
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane K
Worksop, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place to get away from it all”
Reviewed October 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A group of 9 of us including 3 children had a fabulous long weekend at this property. The house was spacious, very clean, well maintained and beautifully furnished. The welcome hamper far exceeded our expectations and the robes and slippers were a lovely touch. Everything we needed seemed to have been thought of and provided. The hot tub was well used and the outdoor games and animals in the paddock kept both children and adults entertained. Wifi was easy to access and very reliable. Very peaceful location. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeighleyS...
keighley
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is the second time that my family and I have stayed at this property. There is no other word to describe it other than perfect. A large welcoming hamper and well prepared rooms. The location is extremely quiet and ideal for the 'chilling out'. The grandchildren loved inter-action with the animals in the paddock at the side of the house. The hot tub was clean and well maintained. Overall, we could not find anything to complain about. WE WILL BE BACK.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin_Jan...
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Memorable weekend”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Gables Retreat with our grown up children & their families to celebrate our Ruby Wedding. Everything about the house & gardens was perfect for us, we had children from 10 yrs to 8 months, all enjoyed the house & freedom of the enclosed garden with the toys & friendly animals. The hot tub was used & loved by alll of us. On the Sunday we had arranged for a blessing at the local church, with more friends & family coming to join us afterwards at the house for a party. It was amazing the sun shone & we had a ball. Many thanks for the thoughtful extras provided by our hosts, Diane & Bill, who put flowers in the church, and left champagne in our welcome hamper. As I said a memorable weekend, we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keir21
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant holiday amazing accommodation!!!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We traveled with a large group of family for our Honeymoon, including 4 children. The welcome to the house was excellent with brilliant welcome basket. The house has everything you need.
It's brilliantly clean and homely.
Hot tub was fantastic.
We arranged for a Tesco delivery to arrive at the house as we did that was a excellent idea and saved traveling with all our provisions from home. We enjoyed a BBQ whilst away.
Loved the ponies and sheep.
A really relaxing holiday very pleased....

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing