We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent property, beautifully furnished and...”

Review of The Gables Retreat

The Gables Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo The master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
117 reviews
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo
The master bedroom
The master en suite
The sitting room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 en suite
Bathroom shared by bedrooms 2 & 3
Ground floor bedroom
Ground floor en suite shower room
TV/Play room
The under cover gazebo
The toy barn
Kitchen
The extensive grounds
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Market Rasen, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 117 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Judith W
Blackthorn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent property, beautifully furnished and equipped”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The Gables Retreat is a beautiful place to go. There were 10 of us and we had plenty of space to relax in comfort. The owners were very welcoming and went the extra mile to ensure that our stay was perfect! Thank you very much for the attention to detail which made our week there so enjoyable.

Date of stay: October 2013
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warnesygi...
west yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We booked this family get together as a very last minute due to family illness. Booking was very strate forward and stress free. We all absoulute loved the house and its location and ideal for the 3 day double birthday celebration break. We were all sad to leave. The bedrooms are lovely and the hot tub was the main attraction for us as I wanted something a little different for the occasion. Of course we had good weather which just helped make this a fantastic birthday break.
The kitchen has everything you need including a food warmer although the two under the counter fridges didnt fit all our food in so a large upright fridge for the beer maybe stored in the utility room would have been very useful. The owner accomodated some late arrivals too which was much appricated. The house even had some toys for my neice and wii fi for the ipads for the bigger 'kids'. We did venture out on one of the days to Lincoln which only took 40 mins by car. We took two dogs with us too as the area was surrounded by quite lanes for dog walking. There was nothing 'on the door step' but market rasen only a 20 min drive. We had food delivered before we all arrived from Tesco and two of the fellas found a great farm shop for our BBQ meat. All recomendation by Diane with a useful map along with a welcome basket of goodies which the plum bread went down well.
Overall we would definitly book again.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peacfulness and hot tub
Liked least: not enough room in the two larder fridges for all our food and beers
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
541janep
Shardlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect venue for a family celebration”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed at The Gables Retreat with extended family to celebrate a 70th birthday. The house was absolutely beautiful and very flexible in terms of bed arrangements. The welcome pack was very comprehensive even including a cake with candle. We had 2 children with us who loved the climbing frame/swings and the range of toys in the property. Despite visiting in October we were very lucky to get good weather and be able to spend time outside in the beautiful garden. The hot tub was lovely in the evening with a nice glass of chilled wine. Diane was so helpful in assisting us with organising a catered meal on one evening and everything went so smoothly from my very first initial enquiry. I would have no hesitation in recommending this property to anyone.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorrybus5...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great house”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were a group of 3 families with children from ages 2-14 and the house had everything we could need to make our stay just right . The house is so well equipped in all areas, make sure you find the games cupboard in the kitchen. The hot tub was great fun and maintained to a very high standard which is consistent with everything else in the house. The bedrooms are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms are beautiful. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone.
The owners Diane and Bill were on hand if we needed them and ensured everything was perfect for us. Thank you.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience and comfort of the house
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn T
Essex, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“An amazing experience from initial enquiry to departure”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

From my initial enquiry, which was responded to quickly and friendly to arriving to one of the most beautiful places I have stayed in. My last fabulous holiday was 6* Dubai, so you get the picture. The homemade cake and local butter and wine and ale to relax following our journey and the chats with Diane and Bill (the owners) made our holiday. It really is a beautiful location and the house has all the mod cons, a giant dining table and hot tub to watching the sheep from the window. I couldn't recommend this place enough. Well definitely be back.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeighleyS...
keighley
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to stay”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This is an ideal location to stay. Away from everything and just the perfect setting. The house and grounds are stunning and everything is provided. The welcome pack is the best I've ever had anywhere. I can't speak highly enough about this accommodation.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility of the place.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucinda38...
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“SIMPLY PUT.... AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

From the moment we arrived we were blown away, this house is one of the most beautiful self-catering properties we have ever stayed in.
Each room is beautifully decorated and the house itself was so spacious that despite having four young children with us, they were never getting under anyone's feet. Not that they spent much time inside... the garden, or gardens to be more accurate; are simply superb! There was so much room for them to run around and they adored the animals. We all had a fantastic time attempting to play tennis and the hot tub was a fantastic way to unwind, especially once the kids were in bed!
Bill and Diane are truly lovely hosts who have literally thought of everything you could need to make a holiday as special as it should be. From the awesome welcome basket to the cupboard stacked full of games and toys. I can honestly say we were never bored and we all had the time of our lives. I would highly recommend Gables Retreat and we would definitely consider booking this property again.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like a home from home!
Liked least: I can't fault it!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing