We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glebe Farm House

Glebe Farm House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Market Rasen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glebe Farm House
Ranked #15 of 18 Market Rasen B&B and Inns
Birch Essex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have been staying at Glebe Farm for the past 6 years. We always use this excellent B and B as our base for visiting the Waddington air show or for a long weekend break. Ian and Sally are two of the best hosts you could wish to have. The rooms are of a very high standard and the breakfast is brilliant and keeps you going all day. Nothing is to much trouble. On one occasion we got soaked in a thunderstorm at the air show, on arrival back at the b and b we change in to dry clothes and went to a local pub for a meal, on our return our damp clothes had been washed, dried and ironed for us at no charge. That's the calibre of hosts Ian and Sally are. We will be returning to Glebe Farm at the start of July for our 7th stay. Tea and cakes will be waiting as always.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have been going to the Airshow for several years and always stayed at Glebe Farm House.
Although it is about 15 miles to the Airshow, it is well worth the journey as Ian and Sally are so friendly and just like family towards me. I always stay in a very comfortable bedroom in the Farm House with ensuite facilities. As for the breakfast, well, it fills me up for the day! I can fully recommend staying at Glebe Farm House.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I have just had a fantastic two week holiday staying at the converted Barn on Glebe Farm. The building itself was lovely and a real home from home. You couldn't need anything else in a self catering accomodation, every possible need was catered for. As for the owners, Ian and Sally Selby; they couldn't have made us more welcome if we were family. Ian even went out of his way to let us know about local special events that he thought may be of interest to us to visit. We enjoyed ourselves so much we have booked to go back in September and can't wait!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotty6972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

I booked myself into this Farmhouse B&B weeks in advance and had warned the proprietors (Ian and Sally as I know them now!) that I'd be arriving very late on the first night of six. This was never an issue and I was greeted warmly at around 10.30pm upon my arrival. After being shown a lovely twin bedded room with all the facilities anyone could require, I retired for the evening, not knowing just how gorgeous a setting and how absolutely delightful both hosts would turn out to be. In the light of day, the farm proved to be an idillic setting, a wonderful breakfast greeted me every morning of my stay, but what made my stay, was the kindness and caring approach of Ian and Sally. They simply could not do enough for me, providing me with an Atlas for the duration of my stay, an Easter card and egg on my last day and even extending to a couple of phonecalls after I left to make sure I had arrived safely home! Location is good, with the Wolds and Lincoln near-by, however unless you like seaside towns such as Skegness, the coastal area is best avoided in my opinion. In summary, I highly recommend this Farmhouse, the rooms, the breakfast and in particular the hosts are just perfect!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gustavo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

I booked a twin room over the phone, several weeks in advance of our trip. We were asked to post a deposit by cheque, which we did and which was cashed.
On the day we were due to arrive - and early in the evening - I received an inbound call from the proprietor at about 18:00. He asked what time we were due to arrive in a somewhat petulant tone. I said late that same evening. The proprietor became flustered. He stated this was not possible as it was too inconvenient for his staff to handle. I politely expressed my surprise, given the absence of such timing constraints from their website and during the booking. The proprietor then stated the reservation was cancelled and that he would refund our deposit.
This left us late on the day of our trip with no accommodation.
The proprietor was unapologetic and curt, with no apology proffered. Our cheque deposit was returned.
I formed the clear impression that the (elderly) proprietors were more concerned with maintaining their own comfortable routine than offering basic service and hospitality to their paying guests - in stark contrast to the many other B&Bs I have used in the past. Avoid.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank james_xxxxx_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glebefarmbenniworth, Owner at Glebe Farm House, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam.
I respond to the comments of the gentleman. I rang him at approx. 6.45pm for his ETA. He informed me he had not left his Manchester area home. I estimated he would not be able to check in until 11-30pm - midnight. Most fair minded people would agree that it is reasonable not to expect a family run B & B to keep such hours.
We have many repeat bookings and word of mouth customers; many have become firm friends. We always send and receive about 180 Christmas cards a year.
Yours Sincerely
Ian & Sally Selby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Market Rasen hotels
0.0 mi away
Advocate Arms Hotel
Advocate Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Market Rasen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glebe Farm Apartments
Glebe Farm Apartments
#5 of 8 in Market Rasen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Beechwood Guest House
#14 of 18 in Market Rasen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
East Farm B&B
East Farm B&B
#8 of 18 in Market Rasen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
The March Hare
The March Hare
#5 of 18 in Market Rasen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Stables
The Old Stables
#3 of 8 in Market Rasen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glebe Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe Farm House

Property: Glebe Farm House
Address: Glebe Farm Church Lane | Benniworth, Market Rasen LN8 6JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Market Rasen
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Market Rasen
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Glebe Farm House Market Rasen, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing