We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“*** WONDERFUL STAFF***”
Review of The White Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Swan
Ranked #1 of 18 Market Rasen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“*** WONDERFUL STAFF***”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Myself and my wife have stayed at the white swan around 3 times now and Tina Tracey and Tash are the nicest staff you could met on your travels room was brilliant has always and not forgetting Tracey,s breakfast a meal in its self 100% service going back very soon.

Room Tip: Go any time you will love the hospitality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    61
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
72
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I would like to say that the staff at The White Swan were the nicest people we've ever met on our travels .The room was spotless with a comfortable bed and large modern bathroom.The breakfast was beautifully cooked and nothing was too much trouble. I would suggest that if you want an early night avoid Wednesday however the live music was enjoyable and there is plenty of warning on the website

Room Tip: room4 looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 93cecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Booking over the phone was quick and easy.
On arrival, first impression wasn't brilliant. Had to wait with my wife, amongst patrons of the pub, whose language was very colourful, whilst a single barmaid finished serving customers. Not her fault, but still not very enticing. Once served though she was very welcoming.
We were taken to our room, No.1. The room was a fair size with everything that you would need. Tea & Coffee making facilities. TV with free view and WiFi connection should you need it.
The bathroom was huge and well maintained with a power shower.
There are a couple of criticisms of the room. There was some damp showing under an outside wall in what was a well decorated room. Also the larger window wouldn't open and it looked as if it needed maintaining.
Although in the room guide it said that breakfast was between 8-10 am we were told when we arrived that we had to stipulate a time for breakfast and also what we wanted. Which is a bit hard to do 14 hours in advance. Almost as if we were putting the chef out.
We decided that breakfast for us was 8:30, duly arrived at 08:15 and wasn't served breakfast until 08:45!!
Having said that we were cheerfully greeted and offered unlimited refills of tea and fruit juice.
However when breakfast arrived it was worth waiting for. It kept us going for the rest of the day.
One final word of caution. Take cash with you as they do not have the facilities on site for card transactions. However there are plenty of cash points within 200 yards of the White Swan.
Would we use the hotel again, quite possibly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoggyPhil63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Came up to Market Rasen for a pirate party, so booked in The White Swan, could not fault the staff or the rooms(booked 2).very comfortable, clean, breakfast was excellent and service could not fault.the staff did not mind us leaving the pub as pirates, when we come back to Market Rasen will stay here again, thank you very much

Room Tip: Rooms 3 good double, room 4 excellent family room nice big bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

You simply can't fault it. Great rooms, awesome breakfast and friendly staff. What more could you want? How they keep the prices so low is beyond me, a true hidden gem. The beers not too shabby either!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheresmegoggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good place to stay if you need to get to Lincoln (like me :) ) . Great room with large modern bathroom and spotlessly clean. Staff are very friendly and serve up a plentiful breakfast. There is entertainment on some nights. It is very close to the Advocate Arms restaurant which serves excellent food and it’s not too pricey either. Everything I need.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACHALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Most friendly and helpful. Cheerful ambience. Smart en-suite room. Very good value; I paid only a single rate for a double room. Those wanting an early night should perhaps avoid room over bar on pub quiz etc nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Rasen
0.1 mi away
Advocate Arms Hotel
Advocate Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Market Rasen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limes Country House Hotel
Limes Country House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Market Rasen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
11.8 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#10 of 18 in Market Rasen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
15.6 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 2 in Scotter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
6.1 mi away
Glebe Farm Apartments
Glebe Farm Apartments
#4 of 8 in Market Rasen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Property: The White Swan
Address: 29 Queen Street, Market Rasen LN8 3EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Market Rasen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Market Rasen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The White Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Market Rasen, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing