We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely people”
Review of The White Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Swan
Ranked #2 of 18 Market Rasen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I would like to say that the staff at The White Swan were the nicest people we've ever met on our travels .The room was spotless with a comfortable bed and large modern bathroom.The breakfast was beautifully cooked and nothing was too much trouble. I would suggest that if you want an early night avoid Wednesday however the live music was enjoyable and there is plenty of warning on the website

Room Tip: room4 looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 93cecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 194 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Booking over the phone was quick and easy.
On arrival, first impression wasn't brilliant. Had to wait with my wife, amongst patrons of the pub, whose language was very colourful, whilst a single barmaid finished serving customers. Not her fault, but still not very enticing. Once served though she was very welcoming.
We were taken to our room, No.1. The room was a fair size with everything that you would need. Tea & Coffee making facilities. TV with free view and WiFi connection should you need it.
The bathroom was huge and well maintained with a power shower.
There are a couple of criticisms of the room. There was some damp showing under an outside wall in what was a well decorated room. Also the larger window wouldn't open and it looked as if it needed maintaining.
Although in the room guide it said that breakfast was between 8-10 am we were told when we arrived that we had to stipulate a time for breakfast and also what we wanted. Which is a bit hard to do 14 hours in advance. Almost as if we were putting the chef out.
We decided that breakfast for us was 8:30, duly arrived at 08:15 and wasn't served breakfast until 08:45!!
Having said that we were cheerfully greeted and offered unlimited refills of tea and fruit juice.
However when breakfast arrived it was worth waiting for. It kept us going for the rest of the day.
One final word of caution. Take cash with you as they do not have the facilities on site for card transactions. However there are plenty of cash points within 200 yards of the White Swan.
Would we use the hotel again, quite possibly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoggyPhil63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Came up to Market Rasen for a pirate party, so booked in The White Swan, could not fault the staff or the rooms(booked 2).very comfortable, clean, breakfast was excellent and service could not fault.the staff did not mind us leaving the pub as pirates, when we come back to Market Rasen will stay here again, thank you very much

Room Tip: Rooms 3 good double, room 4 excellent family room nice big bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

You simply can't fault it. Great rooms, awesome breakfast and friendly staff. What more could you want? How they keep the prices so low is beyond me, a true hidden gem. The beers not too shabby either!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheresmegoggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good place to stay if you need to get to Lincoln (like me :) ) . Great room with large modern bathroom and spotlessly clean. Staff are very friendly and serve up a plentiful breakfast. There is entertainment on some nights. It is very close to the Advocate Arms restaurant which serves excellent food and it’s not too pricey either. Everything I need.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACHALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Most friendly and helpful. Cheerful ambience. Smart en-suite room. Very good value; I paid only a single rate for a double room. Those wanting an early night should perhaps avoid room over bar on pub quiz etc nights.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here on Easter Monday. At first you have to go in through the bar. After that entrance to the accommodation is through the yard up steel staircase. Room was spotlessly clean with a fantastic bathroom suite. Was made very welcome and given fresh milk for tea without asking. Wasnt distracted by any noise either from the pub or street which our room overlooked. You had to say what time you wanted to have breakfast at and also had to choose from menu what type of breakfast you wanted. I have to say that breakfast the next morning was one of the best breakfasts I have ever eaten in any stay either in a B & B or hotel. Only criticism if you could call it that is that the room was very warm but with the very cold weather outside I would think that the White Swan were being generous with their heating. Really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Dont be put off by having to go through the bar initially.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryMacIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Rasen
0.1 mi away
Advocate Arms Hotel
Advocate Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Market Rasen
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limes Country House Hotel
Limes Country House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Market Rasen
60 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#3 of 18 in Market Rasen
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 2 in Scotter
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beechwood Guest House
Beechwood Guest House
#16 of 18 in Market Rasen
31 reviews
6.1 mi away
Glebe Farm Apartments
Glebe Farm Apartments
#3 of 8 in Market Rasen
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Address: 29 Queen Street, Market Rasen LN8 3EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Market Rasen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Market Rasen
Price Range: $80 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Market Rasen, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing